We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Stowe Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stowe Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 347: English reviews
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Really enjoyed my stay at the Stowe Inn this past weekend (non-stop snowfall didn't hurt). I was initially upgraded to a room in the main building, which was unexpected and a very nice room. Unfortunately I had my hound in tow and didn't feel comfortable making everyone in the hotel listen to him all day while i was out skiing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahryb22
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Comfy and Cozy Inn!! We plan to stay here after hiking from Mount Manfiled the mountain near downtown Stowe. So only one nice to stay there. So we don't expect the room we would stay only one nice. Lovely staff Thank you so much for upgrade the room. More comfy for us after long hiking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Js S
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay we were happy to have you with us here at the Stowe Inn we hope to see you again soon.

Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a little nervous when I booked my reservation with the Stowe Inn. I had read a lot of reviews where people had very poor experiences, but the person I was traveling with said that he typically stays here when in Stowe. Thus, I took a chance. Prices were very affordable for our one-night stay in October, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison E
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you have a good stay with us hope to see you again soon. Also if you could go to our Ad visor Trip and put in a good review for us that would be grateful.

Reviewed 26 October 2016

Be very careful: your reservation can be canceled without notification. We booked the hotel over the phone, four days before our trip. Everywhere else was booked, and I feel extremely lucky that they still have a room for us (although it's expensive, $219+tax per night). However, when I arrived, they told me I don't have any reservation, and they're booked...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Xiaodong W
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Xiadong W. We are sorry about your recent visit to our hotel. We did not have your reservation in our system when you arrived as we did not have a reservation with your name in our system at all. We did not charge your card as we were not able to find your name or reservation and suggested that...

california
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Stowe Inn. We stayed in a large room on the ground floor in the main hotel. Not necessarily the fault of housekeeping due to lack of time to clean each room, but our room was absolutely covered with dust. The lampshades and lamps were absolutely filthy. I have asthma so was...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank sweetpea100
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay and if you could give us some feed back on what we could do differently for your next stay that would be really helpful. Also if you could please go to our adviser trip and put in a good review that would be really grateful. Thank you and hope to see...

Reviewed 18 October 2016

we arrived at the Inn after a long motorcycle riding day. 4 people behind the desk and no one acknowledged our presence, not a hello we'll be with you or just hello. Absolutely no acknowledgement. After a wait, we were directed to our room. There were 2 working electrical outlets and both were in use for the alarm clock and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dmman150
TheStoweInn, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest. We are not sure why no one said hello to you. Our staff is always very friendly. We are sorry you did not like your salad. We did take off one of your salads that evening off of your bill as you are aware. $12 is an average price for a entree salad. Our shirley temple drinks do...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Rude staff! Did not feel welcome at all! Got one set of towels the whole weekend. No turndown service. Their bar was closed at 8pm on a Sunday. Our air conditioner was so loud and barely worked. Aviod

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank tanktatum
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay if you could let us know what we could or can do differently that would be really helpful for the next time that you come and stay with us. Also if you could go to our ad visor trip and give us a good review that would be grateful. Thank you...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Don't ever go to this place. This place is a scam. Your reservation doesn't mean anything. You paid for your stay here? Doesn't mean anything. You paid for your stay and all the taxes right here at the hotel? Doesn't mean anything. Me and my wife paid for our stay and paid the state taxes here at the counter and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Greg N
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel and that we were over booked so you had to go to another hotel hopefully the next time that you come it will be a lot different and also if could think of anything that we could of done better please let us know. Also if you could...

Bayfield, Canada
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We booked this Inn because it was recommended by AAA –and I have to believe that they assigned their rating based on the rooms in the Inn proper and not in the Carriage House Building behind which was where our room was. First of all, don’t book based on pictures because really, the images on the website bear no resemblance...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JLSBHC
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you stay was not a good experience and you could let us know what we could of done differently please do so we can fix it and make it a better experience for the next time for you. Also if you could go to our trip ad visor and put a good review...

Kirkland , wa
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

It started at check-in - the person clearly did not know what she was doing - we asked her if covered bridge were around - her response was a covered bridge was - it turned out to be a covered walkway. The "superior" suite was rundown, did not have a lock on the door, had gauges in the room, the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Chester4709
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chester. We are sorry you felt the covered bridge across the street was only a walkway. The Town of Stowe rebuilt the covered bridge which has a charming river flowing underneath it. This is the first time I have heard that it was not beautiful. We did refund some funds on your 2 room main inn suite when you...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.5 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 25 in Stowe
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 25 in Stowe
405 reviews
0.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 25 in Stowe
1,710 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#6 of 24 in Stowe
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $97 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stowe Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
lancaster
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Stowe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in main building very charming, perfect for couples. Carriage house comfortable, perfect for ski crowd or those with 4 legged friends.”
 of 5 bubbles ahryb22, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fireplace room is very large with its own deck, but make sure to bring/buy your own firewood and lighter.”
 of 5 bubbles allisone805, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the second floor rooms towards the back of the property, views ample and easy parking and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NEKTraveler2016, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suites are large, updated and have fireplaces! Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 445JenniferR445, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from this unit.”
 of 5 bubbles davidsW6402ZT, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay