We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Green Mountain Inn

Show Prices
#2 of 25 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Green Mountain Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,711 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Green Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,679: English reviews
Troy, New York
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Just returned from spending an amazing weekend at the Gree Mountain Inn. While booking this trip I had mentioned that we were coming to celebrate out 35th wedding anniversary. We were happily greeted while checking in with a warm "Happy Anniversary". We stayed in a luxary suite equipped with Fire Place,Jacuzzi Tub and King 4 poster bed. The room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gracielufb
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We couldn't be happier to know you had an amazing anniversary getaway with us. There is so much to do here at the Inn, and we're so glad you could enjoy it all! Thank you for sharing your experience, it certainly sounds like you made some lasting memories here. All of us at the Green Mountain Inn look forward to...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

From the website and view from Main Street it looks like a quaint old hotel, but it is a large facility with various expansions and extensions on the back. As part of a group, we were assigned a room in a newer (70's?) part, right by the swimming pool (still open in early October). There is also a outdoor hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Forever_Fifty
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Green Mountain Inn, and we're delighted you enjoyed your visit. As you shared, our heated outdoor pool is open year-round, and many of our guests find it quite relaxing especially in the colder months. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would love to welcome you back for another...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great central location, clean, welcoming and cosy to arrive to on the middle of a snow shower in October! Loved the hot apple cider and cookies at afternoon tea and all ofbthe old photos and history on the walls -the hotel has an olde-worlde charm all of its own. We used gym and the pool and hot tub (bracing in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulaja_25
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your Stowe getaway! Many of our guests do love our complimentary tea and cookies, and we're glad it was a perfect pick-me-up for you too! Thank you for the feedback, we hope you visit us again soon at the Green Mountain Inn! Patti Clark General Manager

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We visited the Green Mountain Inn as part of our Silver Wedding celebrations. We rented a deluxe townhouse and thought it was superb, a real home from home. The hotel is located very centrally and you can walk to many shops and restaurants easily. We ate in the Whip Bar on our first night which was excellent and attached to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterWR28
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Fabulous dining, comfortable accommodations, and a relaxing massage sound like a perfect getaway! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to the Green Mountain Inn! Patti Clark General Manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Very comfortable beds, nice room, great amenities (hot tub/pool/ gym). It was a little noisy over the parking lot and the lights from the gas station were bright. I would get a room in back or overlooking back parking lot where it is quiet. Once we turned the fan on it was better. Location is right in the center of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mindy g
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We're delighted you enjoyed the comfort of our guest room and appreciated the amenities that we offer to enhance our guest's experience, we do, however, wish that every aspect of your stay was perfect. I am grateful you have shared your feedback as we are always looking to improve the experience for our guests. We hope that you'll visit us...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights on our leaf-peeping tour of New England in Oct 2016, and were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Great location, and a very nice comfortable room, giving me the best night's sleep I'd had in a while. The 'instant' log fire in the room was a bit hit with the wife! Breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed your lovely review, and we thank you for sharing your experience. Hearing that you had the best night's sleep and that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest room has made our day! It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back to the Green Mountain Inn! Patti Clark General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were only staying in their classic room , so I assume their basic but this was by far and away the smallest room we've had. The hotel is nice and well situated bang in the middle of town and has a nice feel. The room wasn't ready on arrival but they rang later when available . The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, and while it was nice to know you had a comfortable stay, I wished that we impressed you at every turn. I'm sorry that you didn't have a favorable shower experience. Please know that we are a designated Vermont Green Hotel and one of our initiatives to reduce waste includes low flow shower...

Vermont
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We try to come to Stowe every year and when we do, we always stay at the Green Mountain Inn. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We've been here in the winter and stayed in rooms with a fireplace (very nice!!) In the summer, we stayed in a room down by the pool area which was really convenient . The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VermontSmiles
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Green Mountain Inn, we love welcoming you back each season! From our well-appointed guest room with a cozy fireplace to delicious dining it sounds like you enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled you have such wonderful memories each time you visit, and we can't wait to welcome you back...

Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

My children and I had a room together, two double beds. Fireplace. We watched a movie they had at the desk, it was artsy. We loved the hot eggs for breakfast. Made to order. Ask to pay a rate that includes breakfast. Loved roasting marshmallows outside, used jacuzzi and sauna. Hiked to two local waterfalls, took your if sound of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank absentmindedowl
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad to have offered you such a great stay at the Green Mountain Inn as well as the evening treat of relaxing by our outdoor fire pit! Thank you so much for sharing all the highlights of your stay that you loved. It would be a pleasure to welcome your family back for another Stowe getaway! Patti...

Belvidere, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We have been staying at this particular hotel for the last 5 trips to Stowe and absolutely love the charm and pleasant staff. They completely make you feel welcomed. They have a heated pool, Gas Fire Pit and the best breakfast at the Whip Restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbandit4u
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It's exciting for us to see our guests return and we couldn't be happier to welcome you each time you visit Stowe. We're thrilled you loved staying with us and knowing that our staff provided a warm welcome has made us proud. Thank you for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Green Mountain...

1,582 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (407)
Viewed
Room/Suite (140)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (1141)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Classic Double Bed Room (37)
Viewed
Classic Room (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bed Room (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (52)
Viewed
Liftline Loft Apartment (118)
Viewed
Luxury Room (42)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (54)
Viewed
Pinnacle Suite (105)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Starr Loft Apartment (95)
Viewed
Sterling Suite (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (96)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Townhouse (162)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Townhouse (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.4 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 25 in Stowe
1,158 reviews
6.3 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 25 in Stowe
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 25 in Stowe
115 reviews
5.2 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#6 of 25 in Stowe
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Whip Bar & Grill
Whip Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $194 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Green Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
East Brunswick
3 months ago
Lincoln, Nebraska
7 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Green Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from Main street if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles MauraOld, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They are all pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles dianek210, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the Star Room. More like an apartment than a hotel room.”
 of 5 bubbles 611StephenH, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to ask for a room away from Main Street. The truck noise is loud and often.”
 of 5 bubbles JudithW705, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pool-side area with rec facilities is a bit of a walk from Lobby with a few stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Forever_Fifty, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay