We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 50: English reviews
Redlands, California
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

I have read through the reviews below and can add little. Maureen is helpful but quiet. Her breakfast is superb and the charm of an old house is everywhere, but at some costs. Folks who abide in B & Bs know the trade offs. Our breakfast conversations around Maureen's table reminded us why we elect so often old world charm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenDillow
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 August 2015

My flight was delayed coming in and Maureen (the innkeeper) stayed in direct communication with me. She serves breakfast until 10, which was nice since I didn't arrive until very late. The room is what you'd expect at a historic B&B and hotels.com had informed me that it was a shared bathroom so that wasn't an issue for me. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stardarjohnson
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We were lucky enough to find this nicely priced and delightfully elegant - and the only advertised - B&B in St. J. After driving up from Washington, DC the peace and quiet offered by this retreat was wonderful. The accommodations were excellent and the morning breakfast was a gourmand's delight. The four nights we stayed there are still a pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kris G
Reviewed 18 July 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night on our way to Lake Willoughby and absolutely loved it. We never saw the innkeeper during our stay, but she made sure to let let us know where the key was when we arrived and made us a nice breakfast in the morning. The house itself was very clean, too. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ktm87
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on road trip through Quebec and Vermont. Lovely old home tastefully decorated. Very clean. Nice breakfast including muffins, yogurt parfait with fruit and granola and mini breakfast casserole with hash browns, eggs, etc. Maurine was very kind with local recommendations. Bathroom has nice touches such as liquid hand soap, nice bath products, etc. Only warning is only one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suie0515
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Ventured into Vermont whilst touring New England. Booked the Estabrook before we arrived and weren't disappointed when we arrived. Charming historic house not far from the town centre. Not a huge amount going on in the town, but there was a celebration going on to celebrate the end of roadworks. Estabrook has the feel of a family house and is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 December 2014

The Estabrook has no sign in and if you arrive before you are expected there may be no one there to let you in. We left early to avoid a major storm and forgot to call them to explain we would be very early. If you are going to be early phone ahead. Locals did could not tell us where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nhdrjon
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 November 2014

Pros: The hostess/owner was willing to share her knowledge of architecture with us. Cons: Some of the interior decoration appears to be a work in progress, could be a 'turn-off' to some guests. Location: St. Johnsbury offers interesting history as an old Vermont mill town-- lots of antique stores, book stores, organic markets. A real find in American architecture of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We were allocated the "Sunrise" room, and were shocked on arrival to find that there was only a basin in the room, and the nearby bathroom was shared. This room was the same rate as the ensuite rooms, so suggest you enquire in advance. Fortunately, there was nobody else staying, but the bath took 15 minutes to fill and I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peterjlondon1
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback after your recent stay at Estabrook House. Feedback from our guests is one way we use to appropriately improve our rooms and services. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. Reservations for specific rooms are made by guests, they are not allocated on arrival or at the time we are notified...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on a tour around New England. I'm glad it was only for 1 night. After reading favourable reviews I booked the "Juliet" room because it had an en-suite (not all do) On arrival the owner was not there to meet us and our room keys were taped to the front door. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank daiCardiff
Maurine H, Owner at Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback following your stay at Estabrook House. I'm sorry you did not find your visit as pleasant as it could have been. Your feedback helps us to appropriately improve our rooms and our services. Thanks to recent feedback we did identify some issues in the housekeeping routines and with the vacuum in...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
24.3 km away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
129 reviews
30.5 km away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Johnsbury
208 reviews
10.6 km away
Colonnade Inn
Colonnade Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyndonville
30 reviews
11.7 km away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1596 Main St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-1845
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Price Range: $136 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Juliet room has ensuite bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles MYvert, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Juliet room has a private bath”
 of 5 bubbles LifeAsISeeIt, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Only one of the six rooms has a private bath. The other rooms share a common bath”
 of 5 bubbles krisg361, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No bad rooms so far as I know. The place is well off busy routes.”
 of 5 bubbles nhdrjon, 3 Dec 2014 | Read review
“We were just doing an overnight on way to Canada, so chose Sunrise Room with Queen bed which had sink in-room (19th C. style). Full bathroom across the hall, well equipped with modern shower stall in one corner as well as claw-foot tub with shower. Extra towels, shampoo, etc. The full bath was shared with one other room, but no other guests that night so was not a problem "to share". A comfy sitting room available on 2nd floor complete with cable TV, WiFi, lots of books and magazines, couches ... All bedrooms are on the 2nd floor. Other two bedrooms are larger, on the front of the house, one with bath ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles T2128OSsusanw, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay