We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Middlebury Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Middlebury Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Middlebury Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 449: English reviews
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Staff are friendly and helpful. The Inn is in a beautiful position in town right on the green. We have stayed many times here and have tried the rooms in the main building which are lovely and decorated in keeping with the Inn. We have also stayed in the Annex rooms in the back, which are also fine too and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Euroguy66
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you to a good customer. We appreciate your loyalty and I also appreciate your noting the difference between the Main Inn and Annex in such a fair manner. We love having our visitors from up north visit - this seems to be a growing market for Middlebury and central Vermont. We know you have many choices within a days... More 

New York
Level Contributor
205 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We were looking to get away for a few days and found a deal at the Middlebury Inn. It looked charming and the price was good. We arrived just in time (3-5pm I think) for tea in the large lobby. There were scones, little cookies and all types of tea choices. We took our tea onto the porch and sat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky B
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that one thing marred an otherwise good stay with us. There is no excuse for us not catching that and I appreciate your understanding. We would love to see you back again. Thanks for taking the time to go on Trip Advisor and comment. Geoff Conrad General Manager More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We booked a two night stay in the Annex, situated next to the parking lot and behind the main Inn. The front desk staff were very polite and efficient. There is complimentary afternoon tea - a very nice touch. Sadly, the Annex room decor was quite outdated and the bathroom was grim. The room smelled musty, even after running the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_Kirsti
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

There is a difference between staying in the Annex rooms and the Main Inn, however, not necessarily for the reasons you gave. I'm sorry your experience didn't get off on the right foot, but happy that we could salvage it with a move into our historic Inn. We get a lot of requests for a room in the Annex, but... More 

Medway, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Beautiful old inn in downtown Middlebury. The best staff I have ever encountered. We stayed in the back in a handicapped room in the mansion. Private. Quiet, lovely room. Gorgeous bathroom. Lovely bedspreads. You must eat in the inns restaurant. By far one of the best dinners I have ever had. Have a chocolate martini for dessert. Yummy. Tranquil porch... More 

Helpful?
Thank charlotte k
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Fall is lovely - we're at peak color right now on the 8th of October, so you should visit us again this time of year. Sounds like we hit all of the high points and did them well. It must have been that chocolate Martini. I'll make sure the chef knows how much you enjoyed dinner. Thanks for taking the... More 

Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2015

The desk clerk was efficient and courteous but not particularly outgoing. This was fine, but not particularly welcoming. Also, the website touts many nice little perks.. "While staying at the Middlebury Inn, you'll enjoy"... but we were not told about or offered the coffee in the morning in the lobby or access to the fitness center available down the road... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandra o
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry your visit was marred by a poor reception. This is not typically the case and I can only assume that the front desk attendant was preoccupied. We should always let you know all the little things we offer as part of your stay, after all, it's those little touches that can make your visit special. Thanks for taking... More 

Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We spent two nights here and had a very nice stay. The room was good, the breakfast buffet was large, but not gourmet, and the location was great because it was a very short walk to downtown Middlebury. I submitted a separate review of Morgan's Tavern, so please check that, too.

Helpful?
1 Thank jeffah
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Why thank you - very nice comments. I'm not sure we strive for a gourmet breakfast, but we do want you to enjoy the experience, which it sounds like you did. I also appreciate the time you took to review our restaurant, Morgan's Tavern. Thanks again. Geoff Conrad General Manager More 

Amherst, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
534 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Our daughter has just relocated to Middlebury, and lives just down the street from the Middlebury Inn, We stopped in on our way to the Montreal Jazz Festival, with the intention to check it out for a future visit. in the 1940's my Uncle lived here while he taught Chemistry at the local College. We really were attracted to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michaelr630
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

By all means, come back when you can spend the night. You have a very good reason to return to Middlebury and we make family visits much more enjoyable by giving everybody a little space. We look forward to seeing you soon. Geoff Conrad General Manager More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This is a historic landmark hotel and its unpretentious and friendly atmosphere reflects that of the small New England community. Rooms in the main building are clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was very accommodating and know the area well so could give us insights in the history of the town and tips on what to do. A complimentary afternoon... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Auslaenderin
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

The Middlebury Inn has absorbed and assimilated the character of this quiet Vermont town for over 185 years. It's hard to imagine us being any different than we, are and unpretentious is a perfect way to describe us. Our staff is comfortable talking about the town and the college and I think that shows. Thank you for gracing us with... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Updated dowager that will not disappoint. Rooms are clean and spacious, bathrooms nicely modernized, staff friendly. Breakfast could be better. Great location within walking distance to everything, including Middlebury College. We would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank jet122949
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'm not sure 'dowager' is an official historic term, but I think we got the idea of what you are saying. I refer to our Inn often as a 'great lady' so I think we're on the same page. I wish you had been more specific about your breakfast and how we could do better, but I appreciate the other... More 

Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2015

It was magical and the planning was perfect. Some minor attention needed, dry the chairs on the porch after a rain, provide coffee throughout the day, extend tea time. But otherwise awesome. Ask to see your room or look at photos closely, the rooms are all very different, I got to see many of them. It is in the perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliette1953
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you and your family here for the big event. My staff takes great pride in both the planning and execution of these very important affairs. You did point out a couple things we can do better and i appreciate that. We are very proud of the Middlebury Natural Foods Coop and we should do a better job... More 

719 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (645)
Viewed
Annex Deluxe King Room (43)
Viewed
Annex Two Double Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Double Room (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Room (38)
Viewed
King Suite (55)
Viewed
Luxury One King Room (45)
Viewed
Luxury Two Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Luxury King Room (34)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Luxury Queen Room (36)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Queen Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Two Queen Suite (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.6 km away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
206 reviews
27.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
184 reviews
3.3 km away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
25.7 km away
Basin Harbor Club
Basin Harbor Club
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Price Range: $164 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury
Middlebury Inn Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middlebury Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Middlebury Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front of the inn can be loud. I would ask for a higher room with a courtyard view.”
 of 5 bubbles CJean12, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and find a room where the sun doesn't shine in early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles kimmie92592, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room in the newer section in the back was somewhat noisy”
 of 5 bubbles xxrrttyy, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It is a nice sall town. Not much noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get away from the street rooms if you are a light sleeper (Look Out for Mack Trucks)”
 of 5 bubbles MCP2006, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay