We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Marshfield Inn and Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Marshfield Inn and Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Marshfield Inn and Motel
 Click to rate
Albany, New York
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

3rd time staying at the Marshfield Inn, and have no complaints. Delicious farm fresh breakfast, free wifi, and lots of nearby trails to take a walk. Also, the innkeepers are nice and accommodating, and keep the rooms and grounds very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coonj
Vermont
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I found the Marshfield Inn and Motel to be a great place to stay while attending an art workshop. Being by myself, I felt safe even though "in the middle of nowhere" thanks to the welcoming spirit of the owner. The room was quiet, clean and the bed comfortable. Being that it is winter, I was amazed that the heat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nlanoue
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a good experience here and at your art workshop! The weather has been a real rollercoaster so it's nice to know you were warm and cozy. I'm sorry we didn't make a point of telling you that the hair dryer is in the top dresser drawer. We keep them there to maximize counter space in the...

Saint John, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Quiet, vintage motel with a lovely view out in the middle of "nowhere". This was a rest stop for us on our way to somewhere else, just one night, but it is my second visit. I was glad to have the chance to come back to this gem. Clean, simple rooms. Fantastic breakfast available in the morning. Don't miss it!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 899tef64
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Wasn't ready to stop for the night, but as I passed this place it was so appealing that I cut my day short. A classic, older motel that has been well maintained and updated with being cookie-cutter modern. Comfortable rooms, great view, charming hosts, and a good breakfast available to get you rolling again. You won't find a place like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dub1955
Marble Falls, Texas
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Made it to check in by 9 pm, but just by minuets. Nice people. Clean room. Good inexpensive breakfast. No Air Conditioning. Fans in rooms. I would stay there again but not in the summer. Good restaurant nearby, Maple Valley Cafe and Gift Shop. Some road noise but not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OWL78654
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The front view is a classic Vermont panorama, the room was spacious with windows front and back (with a view of the sweeping garden), the bed was comfortable, and the room traditionally decorated. Breakfast was cooked to order, delicious, and very reasonably priced, as was the room itself. Marshfield Motel is everything a traveler hopes for!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank car0linem44
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We've been lucky with great weather this summer which makes the view all the better. Hope to see you again sometime!

Alton Bay, New Hampshire
Reviewed 27 July 2016

If you enjoy stepping back in time, here's the place. Safe, clean and a real motel still in operation. The price is right, breakfast available (though not included with the room) in the owner's house. Beautiful Vermont views and gardens. We enjoyed a hike to a nearby cemetery before leaving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bettymeulenbroek
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The walk to the cemetery is a favorite of ours as well and this time of year is a great time to enjoy our gardens. Maybe we'll see you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us!

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Return visit to Marshfield Inn. When we knew we'd be in the area to snowshoe, there was no doubt where we'd stay again. Owned and operated by same two lovely young women. Small inn/motel that's meticulously clean. Beds still comfy. Larger than average room w/fridge and microwave on request. TV/wifi/no phone service though (it's rural mountain country after all). And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkwoman
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review

So glad you had a good time, even though the snow was kind of thin. We always enjoy seeing our return guests, as well as new ones!

Elizabethville
Reviewed 4 February 2016

On a last minute trip, I didn't have rooms set up. I found this place as it was getting dark. It was great, clean, warm and very friendly. When I travel through the area again, I will be sure to look this place up. Restaurant and café just down the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra112
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad we were there for you, and happy that you will visit us again should you be back in the area. Maybe you'll try our own breakfast next time. Thank you!

North Port, Florida
Reviewed 30 December 2015

rooms outdated with a very musty smell that gets in your clothes and belongings. wifi never worked and inn keepers were not receptive to finding a solution. toenail clippings and dirty q-tips in room.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SARAH T
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay. We clean each room ourselves and try to do it well, but it sounds like we surely fell short this time. Thank you for the feed back so that we can improve our efforts in the future. We did make adjustments to the WIFi router after you mentioned the difficulty on your first...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
15.6 km away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
15.2 km away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
364 reviews
17.5 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
14.7 km away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
101 reviews
3.7 km away
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer quiet country accommodations on 37 acres convenient to both Montpelier and St. Johnsbury. It’s the perfect relaxing stop-over after a busy day of travel, or a comfortable place to settle for a few days while exploring Central Vermont or the Northeast Kingdom. Get a good night's sleep in the 8-room motel, then enjoy our homemade breakfast in the Main House in the morning. We have a couple rooms that are pet-friendly--just let us know when you reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marshfield Inn and Motel

Address: 5630 US Route 2, Marshfield, VT 05658
Region: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Price Range: $91 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Marshfield Inn and Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All motel rooms are on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles car0linem44, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All are just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles walkwoman, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are just great.”
 of 5 bubbles sfjfolks9, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Two rooms available if you are traveling with a pet.”
 of 5 bubbles 744brendar, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“They ALL face to the east. Enjoy the sunrises.”
 of 5 bubbles Trainmaster78, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5