We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Brighton
Reviewed 18 October 2016

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I booked a two night stay at the Stamford motel, as part of our road trip through New England. We were given room 7, which we found to be absolutely lovely and welcoming, and spotlessly clean. It had a coffee making machine and a small fridge. A hairdryer was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBrighton
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

It is unfortunate you didn't enjoy your meal. The meal was cooked as per how we prepare it we cooked 4 other orders of ravioli that evening you were the only one to have an issue and the only one since it has been on the menu. You also received a free dinner roll at the start of your meal...

Raymond, New Hampshire
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We had booked a room here, but our plans changed. We called them A WEEK AHEAD OF TIME and cancelled the reservation. At that time, the woman who took the call said it was OK, the reservation was cancelled, and she said NOTHING ELSE. Then, the night of our stay in another hotel, we discovered that she had gone ahead...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HarrisonBergeron13
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

OMG your story just changed from what really happened - as I laugh reading it. So when did your plans change ?????? Your wife booked a room on booking.com she called me shortly after to inquire if the room was pet friendly I told her the room was not pet friendly. I also told her that I could switch her...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I found this gem by asking a few locals in town where they would suggest since we had a horrible experience at our last motel in Wilmington. Within minutes of our arrival and meeting Karen, the owner, we knew this would be a great place. Karen was so kind and attentive to our needs from the time we checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank car277
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words I look forward to your return trip.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Motel is well located just outside of Manchester town. We requested one of the rooms that takes dogs. The room itself was smallish but okay, but the carpet seemed old and the room had a horrible musty smell. I got used to it but when we left and came back it was very noticeable. The bathroom seemed to have been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scarletb
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Unfortunate you weren't happy with your stay.

ny
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Driving up you think it's one of those old small motels. Who knew- updated bathroom in tile, large shower that I wish we had at home. Only complaint is the contractor having bathroom door that doesn't close, and hits the toilet. It was such a warm evening, they had seating outside for dinner. Didn't eat there that night, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iml8a1
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We hope that you are able to return. Thanks so much!!!

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The motel is ideally situated on the edge of Manchester, although the town is just a couple of minutes drive away. The owners were friendly and keen to make our stay in the area the best they could. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We ate twice at the motel's restaurant of an evening and the food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alun1998
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Awesome - so thrilled we lived up to your expectations.

Newfane, Vermont
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My third overnight stay at Stamford in three years (base camp for nearby day hike in Lye Brook Wilderness with buddies) and the best stay yet by far. I had seen the beginnings of the outdoor patio area last year but did not expect a top notch huge stone patio complex with walls and fire pit. It's Hollywood in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted4Pats
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Much appreciated that you took the time to write us a killer review.

Reviewed 15 September 2016

We have stayed at the Stamford for many years, the accommodations are great and always getting upgraded. The owner is excellent to deal with. The food for dinner is the best in Manchester if you like a great steak as well as many other things on the menu. Have stayed many places in Manchester and this is always my first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Miss Kristen thanks a bunch for choosing to stay with us and many thanks for your wonderful words. I look forward to servicing you again next year.

Chappaqua, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed in upgraded large room with my daughter for horse show in Vermont. Karen, the owner was exceptional..gave my daughter and I places to see while we were there..Comfortable beds !! We were attending the Vermont Horse show and she was so accommodating.. Great outdoor fireplace at night.. Highly recommend. Great morning breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweber7305
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you. So happy you enjoyed the fireplace it truly is the best part of the motel :) Many thanks !!! Hope to see you next year.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Thanks for a great stay at Stamford Motel. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable but it was the restaurant and cafe that was the real difference. Great, local food and supern breakfast. Karen was the most friendly and hospitable host and shared the wonderful Vermont Country Store at Weston. What a place! And the Stamford was great too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

So glad you chose to stay with us and so happy we lived up to your expectations if you come back again next year we hope that you will chose to stay with us. Karen

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
541 reviews
4.0 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
234 reviews
1.2 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 15 in Manchester
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#8 of 15 in Manchester
225 reviews
4.2 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.7 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Price Range: $120 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stamford Motel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It appeared to me that all rooms had the same great view”
 of 5 bubbles car277, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for the larger suites on second floor”
 of 5 bubbles Ted4Pats, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best room was upstairs with double beds..”
 of 5 bubbles sweber7305, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in room one, on the end, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles taylorlynn58, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 is closest to Nipper's Cafe”
 of 5 bubbles KellyfromKY, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5