We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Village Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Village Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 318: English reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

Bathroom tub was molded in grout and brown ring of soap scum in tub otherwise it was clean just next time I will bring my bleach and tub cleaner I wanted to Take a bath but not in that. The restaurant was good closed a little early for a weekend night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
Texas
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We just booked our third stay in three months--once in November, once over New Years, and now February. I know this place must be mobbed in summertime, but it's pretty quiet and affordable in the wintertime. What a beautiful beach, and what sunsets! The room is clean and very comfortable, with a private covered balcony overlooking the beach and duck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelmomtexas
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to your next stay!

Monroe, Louisiana
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

This place is horrible. The head maid comes into my room and my friends room and steals things. Not only did they steal they complained that I didn't keep my room tidy whenever I left the room. The do have access to the beach which is great but our kids accidentally brought sand into the room when the took their...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Dawnvck
OVHotel, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

While we always try to exceed our guests’ expectations, some things are out of our control. Unfortunately there are always a small minority of people that will wreak havoc by a) smoking in their rooms b) threatening and endangering staff and/or other guests and c) causing damage to the room. While it is unfortunate, we had to contact the local...

east coast, florida
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. It was a very nice room with two comfortable queen beds, it was off season, so the beach was great, not crowded. The little restaurant was open, so we had dinner and breakfast there. It was quite good! The room was great, the only problem was the water. While showering and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilyEastCoast
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We were very excited to be staying at this beach front hotel. This is a very nice hotel. We stayed 12/27-1/1. The room is very nicely furnished. We stayed in a King Executive Suite, complete with mini fridge, microwave, table with four chairs, desk, and ocean front deck with more chairs and a bench...TV and alarm clock included, but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening and checked in at the office. (Yes, we made reservations) I went up to our room and immediately noticed that there was NO SHEETS ON THE BED and the comforter was balled up on the table. So I walked outside and told my husband to tell the front desk that we needed BEDDING so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeggWindham
OVHotel, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to speak with me on the phone. Your issues have been discussed with the appropriate staff as to prevent any future issues. Your boots were found (not stolen as stated here) and shipped to you by me personally. I look toward...

Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

The beach is nice and pretty quiet during the week. The restaurant is decent but pricey for the quality. My biggest concern about staying here is the water quality. Surfside Beach doesn't have drinkable water and the hotel staff doesn't tell you that. They offer bottled water but never said don't drink the tap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing your concern regarding the water. I will tell you that our water system here is well-water provided by the City of Surfside and is monitored and tested constantly by the TCEQ (Texas Commission on Environmental Quality). I can assure you that the water is safe to consume. We simply provide bottled water as a courtesy to...

Decatur, Texas
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I have stayed here twice and would not hesitate to go back. I don't think you can get much closer to the ocean than this place. The beds are comfortable. There is a nice little coffee maker so you can drink coffee on your private balcony. It is just a short walk to the beach that has lots of nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ATexasNative
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear you had a great time. We hope to see you soon!

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 4 November 2015

The wife and I have stayed here prior. To ever having our worst stay ever, at any hotel/motel/lodge. Previously this year, after selling our beach house of 14 years. We stayed here for 3 nights. And had 3 other couples book here. Everything was fine. We enjoyed our 3 nights with friends. This stay, we had an event in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MarkTUlrich
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

The visit was ok - just not what you expect from the pictures or from the title Resort. There are small, wet and smelling wood bungalows. If you are used to camp normally or are looking for a type of Camping vacation it is probably good. If you look for a nice and clean hotel I would not recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Su H

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
13.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
42 reviews
14.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
14.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
15.1 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 6 in Lake Jackson
90 reviews
0.0 km away
Best Western PLUS Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Price Range: $186 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Village Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor rooms have queen size beds. The lower floor rooms have king size beds. The outer rooms on either side have more windows.”
Jopper, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Call directly - do not trust the online ads”
musgrovemark, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 101 and 102 are suites.”
badflamingo, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms have more shade on the private decks than the second floor rooms”
alanz32, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet rooms wash their laundry separate from other rooms”
chrislQ8574FS, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5