We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

WindWater Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
WindWater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for WindWater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 213: English reviews
San Benito
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Good place to be ,good community. Breakfast was excellent with good room service. The front desk clerk was very helpful, keep up the good job well done.will come back I like it there good people good services

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cepeda_jlw
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay,our staff works very hard to make sure our guests are taken care of. Come see us again soon,have a nice day!

Houston
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This was our 1st stay at this hotel. Very conveniently located, easy access to the beach. Very friendly staff. The room was clean. The price was very reasonable compared to the other hotels. The parking was a little tight but considering, it was fine. I have no complaints and will definitely stay here again and recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 430nicole
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay,thank you for staying with us!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I think the rooms were kept well. The only problem was the small breakfast room. Breakfast should be listed as mini-continental, I was disappointed in the selection. Also book in advance because the price of the room was not worth the money we paid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gippson3
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and will look into the issue you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us and bringing it up to our attention.

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel online for a function we had at South Padre Island. It looks fine online, but when we arrived at 11 pm on a Thursday night it was a different story. We couldn't even get into rhe parking lot. Finally someone came out and told us to park in the handicap spot. It was very dark. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lennysue
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I understand the issues you encountered and they have been addressed. It is never our intention to have a guest dissatisfied with their stay. Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback.

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

This place is advertised as a hotel and Resort. The only thing resort about it is the hot tub. The parking spaces were for compact cars and were so tight we had to pull out in order for everyone to get in. Breakfast is a joke, the only thing hot was the fresh waffles. Toast was pretoasted. The lone was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

I have addressed with housekeeping the issues you encountered, I do apologize that you had to endure such a problem with the floors and bedding. It is always our strive to assure all aspects of our guests stay are welcoming and pleasant. Thank you for you feedback and staying with us.

Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed in the villa but the room was not clean enough, the phone didnt work, the bathroom door didnt work. The service was not good enough also when we needed something, we have to ask for it twice or more. It has a good location eventhough we have to walk to go to the beach but it's near. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were not happy-we'll work hard to correct the issues you experienced. Thank you for taking the time to bring them up to our attention. have a nice day.

Woodsboro, Texas
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Rooms updated, so nice, the service was the best you could ask for!!!! Clean, and I would give this hotel and service a big huge 10!!! Thank you guys for making our stay so wonderful . I would stay again for sure!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank offthewallabstract0
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business and feedback. Come see us again soon,have a nice day!

Mcallen, Texas
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We paid extra for the balcony which I highly recommend. The view was great! But the rooms were dirty. Sheets didn't look fresh and there was I saw a couple bugs. If this place was cleaner it would be great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marianalinaldi
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us,we are happy to hear you enjoyed the balcony with a bay view. Thank you for bringing up the issues you had during your stay to our attention-we'll work hard to correct them. Have a nice day.

Mission
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Definitely coming back here. It was very private. The lake view was beautiful. & the room was much better than expected. We weren't bothered whatsoever, our stay was great. Would've wanted the ac to be on before our arrival and for it to be a bit more potent. But all in all, great place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kassieroxursox
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay we appreciate your feedback. Come see us again soon,have a great day!

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 23 July 2016

it was ok to stay there...rooms were clean and beds were spacious. At night there was too much noise from other guests and nothing was dome to quiet the place down. Parking was ok and pool was dirty. The dryer in the laundry room was down, took my money and I did not get a refund.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JESUS_0215
windwaterspi, General Manager at WindWater Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had issues during your stay,we'll work hard to correct them. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
430 reviews
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,174 reviews
5.2 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,320 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
13 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The WindWater Hotel offers moderately priced, family and student friendly hotel accommodations in the heart of South Padre Island, Texas. With spacious and comfortable hotel rooms, king suites and condos facing the bay-side marina, and a variety of fabulous hotel features and lodging extras. WindWater Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for family vacations and spring break trips in South Padre Island. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the bay-side marina. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. Situated on the bayside marina and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including; Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (tickets sold at frontdesk) South Padre Island Convention Center Isla Blanca Park Horseback Riding Snorkeling Scuba Diving Dolphin Watch Tours Lighthouse Square Sea Turtle Inc. Mexico South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center Gladys Porter Zoo Island Equestrian Center Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge Laguna Madre Nature Trail Historic Brownsville ... more   less 

Additional Information about WindWater Hotel

Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7633
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Price Range: $47 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — WindWater Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your WindWater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Padre Island
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from WindWater Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from WindWater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The ONLY downfall is that the beds are on an aluminum type of frame which was a wee bit noisy from time to time. Other than that it was perfect! ”
 of 5 bubbles FOGwalkerBirdie, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room was very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles ilmartinez555, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Change the sofas immediately and Unclog bathroom Sink ”
 of 5 bubbles denise_montelongo, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“None everything was good ”
 of 5 bubbles cepeda_jlw, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book well in advance or it is not worth the cost. It doubled over the weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles gippson3, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay