We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tarpon Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tarpon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
texas
Reviewed 8 May 2016

The historic inn is really a wonderful experience for relaxation and being close to everything. They don't have T.V.s or telephones, but they do have charm! It's kinda like visiting The Gage in Marathon, but you're surrounded by restaurants and a short drive to the beach. Great to rock in the rocking chairs and watch people, too. Definitely going back....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gourmetlover
tarpon1886, General Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review and thanks for loving the Tarpon Inn! Please come back and see us soon!

Kerrville, Texas
Reviewed 20 April 2016

The tarpon Inn has a great location--awesome rooms-easy check-in--very friendly Sitting on the common porch watching the traffic go by was very relaxing. Beautiful landscaping. Only several blocks from the beach. A must stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael H
tarpon1886, General Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, and thanks for loving the Tarpon Inn! Come back and see us again soon!!

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

It is historic hotel, and has lots of character, but there were some issues, and the hotel will not be for everyone. I am pretty forgiving when it comes to older hotels, as they are always a work in progress, and there will always be projects to tackle. That said, Room 23 had terrible furniture. The picture appears to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheryl B
tarpon1886, General Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and letting us know what we need to do better. Like you said this is an old Inn and is a constant work in progress. We are always trying to do better. Hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Centrally located port Arkansas Texas the hotel very centrally located walking distance from everywhere no television in room I like that no telephone in room also like that quiet peaceful just a little bit pricey although spring break is coming

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, it's always nice to hear you our guest have enjoyed the Inn. We hope you enjoy the rest of you stay here this week!

San Marcos, Texas
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We have stayed at the Tarpon Inn Dozens of times over the years with the latest being Valentines Weekend. It is a historical site for sure. The rooms are all decorated differently with vintage photos from the area. The small swimming pool is great to dive into after a day on the beach or fishing. It is also very close...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt J
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We at the Tarpon Inn love it here, and we really appreciate hearing when our guests have enjoyed themselves and get what makes the Tarpon Inn so special! Please come see us again!

millerton, ny
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

The Tarpon Inn has a charming exterior but offers terrible value compared to the competition. Not enough room to open your suitcase and get to the other side of the bed. No TV or phone. I'm fine with that but it shouldn't cost extra. Room for only one bedside table and one bed-no chair, no desk. Then the restaurants that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank critic735
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but in fairness you were allowed to view the room on your own, Before you decided to stay here and after viewing the room and asking if there was anything bigger you were informed that we did in fact have larger rooms but it would be at a...

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We were in town to visit family in Corpus and had never stayed at The Tarpon Inn. My children were with us so we needed enough room for 5 and room 42 was perfect! AND they are pet friendly. Being within walking distance to so many restaurants was a bonus. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Will recommend to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karri K
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

You all were such a joy to have, and it looked like you were really enjoying yourselves down there at the end of the porch! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to visit again! Thanks for the review, and please let us know if there is ever anything we can help you with.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

So wanted to like this place as I've seen it many times while in Port A visiting but was completely let down. Our room was tiny and dirty. I dropped my chapstick under the bed and when I bent down to get it, I almost touched a dead fly, no telling how long he had been there. There was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn W
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read that your stay with us in August was unsatisfactory. We have recently gone through some staffing and management changes, and we have been working very hard to ensure that your stay with us will be a pleasant one. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Port Aransas you would be willing...

Placencia
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Staff was really nice, just a little short staffed. the room, I stayed very small, and don't expect daily cleaning, but trash taken out daily would of been nice, 5 day stay, maybe sheets changed once and floor swept once would of been nice. Rocking chairs on porch awesome, for price, I would think cleaning the rails and sweeping decks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAnne
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking time to write a review, not only to let us know what we are doing right, but also where we can improve. We hope you will visit us again soon. Thanks again, Tarpon Inn Management and Staff

Azle, TX
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

The fish tacos are really good and I had a wonderful BlackBerry mojito. Everything appeared to be very fresh. The service was good but a little unorganized. Overall a good experience....but I just felt the prices were a little much for the area and vibe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christel747
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will be sure to pass it along to the Tarpon Bar and Grill.

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
771 reviews
2.5 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
333 reviews
3.3 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.4 km away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#8 of 19 in Port Aransas
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 200' long porches to relax on since 1886, the longest porches in Texas stretches and relaxes along with you. The salt air and breezes are gently encouraged by old-fashioned ceiling fans.  The sweet creaking of roomy rocking chairs blends with the pages of a novel being turned. Where each room is decorated in period antiques and no two rooms are alike and where there are no televisions nor telephones.      If our place sounds like your kind of place, then please consider this an invitation to make yourself at home. We're waiting to treat you as part of our Tarpon Inn family and encourage you to wonder if it's possible to stay forever,or at least a couple more days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tarpon Inn

Address: 200 E Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5124
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range: $117 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Tarpon Hotel Port Aransas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tarpon Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay upstairs the view is better.”
 of 5 bubbles K7658MQthomasl, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look on line to choose the type you want, since they vary in size. Also, consider if you want to climb stairs for the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles gourmetlover, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“FDR suite is our favorite. Has kitchen, dining room and private porch in back and a king size bed with an awesome living room”
 of 5 bubbles N2213JSmichaelh, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go online and see the different room configurations!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 250mattj, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Just look online, they have photos of each room”
 of 5 bubbles CaptainAnne, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5