We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Was taking back by all the reviews. Didnt know what to expect but when we got there, it was all good. The cabins were clean and very nice. The beds were very comfortable. We had our own porta potty and it was very clean. Got to meet the owners and they were very nice and answered any questions you had....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddiemoney12
Management response:

Thanks for an honest review. Remember everyone is a prepaid registered guest, with an armband, and a cartag for security reasons.

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We came with one car, four people and and two large tents and a dining tent. We paid about 150$ total for the two nights we would stay including electricity and parking. I confirmed that the sites were spacious enough for two "large" tents. I was assured they would fit with plenty of room on a river front spot. We...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 1happycamper82
Management response:

To address your staments first. Each riverfront campsite is basically the same size that typically fits 6-8 people. Although alot of guests put many more. Yes they are ontop of each other, they are riverfront, and limited space on the Guadalupe River. No the grounds are green and lush, but remember riverfront is RIVERFRONT and gets used alot and does...

Greenville
Reviewed 16 July 2011

A large group of us stayed at Billy Goats Gruff July 7,8,9,10. We had an awesome time! The majority of our group consisted of teachers... and we all know teachers have lots of questions and can be "nit-picky".... I spoke with Brooke on the phone several times before our trip, she answered all our questions and concerns in a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieG_11
Management response:

Julie, Thanks and glad you had a great time. And you are correct there are always is a few that think they are entitled. We have had thousands of guests over the years and only 22 reviews. Most of the people who enjoy themselves dont bother to write a review. Its usually the troublemakers, scammers, or ones with bad attitudes...

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Started off to an exciting trip to the river with a group of friends; ended up hating Mangement aka "Brooke" who single handedly made me write this review for our group of 25 who will never go back.  So we showed up with a large group expecting to pay for our 5 extra cars; after forking out an absurd $100...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank RiverRat88
Management response:

We charge for extra cars because we are a small camp and room is very limited! It is $10 per day for extra cars. Yes electricity must be paid for. It is $10 per day also. Yes bring TOILET PAPER AND 100 FT EXT CORDS - remember we are a primitvie camp. No we are not a money pit. Sorry...

Lumberton, Texas
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Upon arriving I found that the grounds were neat and clean and no trash or ltter was scattered around. I found that for a small campsite, everyone there was very friendly and my sister and I found the owners very helpful and curtious. Upon reading the other reviews I could not imagine that they were talking about the same place....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurie5360
Management response:

Thanks for the great review. On a previous review we stated that we would never give trip advisor the time or effort but reading the truth from guests like you is much appreciated. Yes bring toilet paper, yes bring 100 ft extension cords. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to keep everything as clean as possible. Glad...

New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We camped here this weekend. I found it interesting that there are so many mixed reviews about Billy Goats Gruff campground. The same group of friends that camped this weekend came here a couple of years ago and we swore we would never come back. The bathrooms were disgusting! I had mixed feelings about going there again but that is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mtomerlin
Management response:

The reason why we keep the bathrooms/shower shut between 1-7 is because while the whole camp is tubing out on the river we clean them and then lock them. If we do not do this, people who take out of the river or get a concession trash them out. They urinate,defecate, puke, try to have sex, and take free showers....

New Braunfels
Reviewed 27 June 2011

If you don’t genuinely like your customers, chances are they won’t be back. Friendly generates repeat business.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank dmccullough
Management response:

Just because you didnt want to pay just like everyone else does doesnt mean you had to write something negative. Some people think they are entitled.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Before I came to this campsite I read the reviews and was a little scared. But this place is great. Everyone, including the owners, are very friendly and want you to have fun. We had 10 people (3 tents) and we had 2 campsites. We had more than enough room for all of us. There was even enough room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimmiB0980
Management response:

Your music and yelling continued to be loud into the am. Not intoxicated more like tired, exhausted, fustrated, and furious. Turn your music and yelling down and get some sleep like everyone else!!

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed there memorial day weekend and had the worst experience ever... The bathrooms were disgusting they don't clean them when they say they are going too. They close them from 11 to 7 for cleaning, but they don't clean them. They never had toliet paper considering how expensive it was to stay there. The campground is so tiny and they...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank AlwaysTraveling247
billygoatsgruff2011, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Sorry, yes we do clean them but all the drinking people trash them real fast. No we dont supply toilet paper. Its stolen by individual campers as soon as we install it. We are a primitive campsite! Bring toilet paper. Most primitive camps do not have showers or a bathroom only porta pottys. We are a small campsite about 20...

wickes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

a group of us got together for a memorial day vacation to float the river. 1st of all we paid for 2 camp grounds & only got one which we dealt with & made no complaint. 2nd the bathrooms & showers are absolutely disgusting as there was used tampons laying around both.. Yes in the showers too. & there was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jackle842010
billygoatsgruff2011, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

First we want to thank all the Memorial Day campers that had a great weekend. We submitted a rebuttal to trip advisor telling the truth but it was bounced back. Our rebuttal was as long as their review and told the truth and those who were there know. As of this point we at Billy Goats Gruff will never respond...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Braunfels
9.1 km away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
107 reviews
10.2 km away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
26 reviews
4.0 km away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#16 of 30 in New Braunfels
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
6.5 km away
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Hideout on the Horseshoe
#7 of 14 in Canyon Lake
116 reviews
6.9 km away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#2 of 17 in New Braunfels
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Address: 8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Billy Goat`s Gruff Campground Hotel New Braunfels
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground New Braunfels, Texas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Billy Goat's Gruff Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“save yourselves the hassel and stay somewhere else”
J4042OVlisac, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“There is no place there to camp that is good.”
raquelmO4916ZD, 24 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Not as family oriented as I would've liked. More for the drinking croud than single mother with 2 kids.”
clickmyspace, 12 Aug 2012 | Read review
3 of 3