We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rodeway Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 6 August 2016

First of all - NO BREAKFAST even thought that was advertised. The grounds were covered with trash. The room was dirty with stains on the carpet and walls. The room smelled bad and the person who checked me in was NOT friendly or welcoming at all. TV had poor reception. Pool was very tiny and a little slimy feeling. Air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neepax
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Reviewed 23 July 2016

It was outdated and the hotel stunk. We didn't stay because the room looked gross and we hated the way it smelled. don't waste your time stopping by this hotel, pay the little extra for something nicer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie c
Thailand
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Booked my reservation for a Queen room and cleanliness is the only thing I demand. I arrived and was greeted indifferently by a clearly unhappy gentleman at the front desk. He quickly took payment and provided a room key. I parked in front of the room amid trash in the parking lot, then entered the room to an overpowering smell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie W
holbb, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Katie, I am sorry for your experience with us. We will refund your money as requested. If there is anything else you need, please do not hesitate to call us and we will resolve all the problems. Thank you.

Rockdale, Texas
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We had no problems with this hotel. We came in late one night and left out next morning, but had a rather pleasant stay. The room/ bed/bathroom were all clean. Flat screen TV screen was larger than most hotels. There was a iron, room safe, charging station by the bed-free wifi-, large hairdryer,micro, and refrigerator. The breakfast was hot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

the room was suppose to have an alarm clock an iron and a blow dryer, had none of these, it looked like someone stole them. spiders on the towels, carpets and ceiling black with dirt and mold and not just in one spot- they were caked with dirt and mold, the electrical outlet covers broken, electrical outlets didnt work, air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tj889889
Reviewed 18 May 2015

It was a horrible experience. Definitely the worst place I have ever stayed. I was so tired and that was the only reason I stayed. Carpet has stains, sofa with stains. Bed horrible. I even had to put my own clothes over the pillow in order to sleep. I wish I knew what I was getting into before I paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lupe M
Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Looks like the owners are putting in some updates. Nice flat screen tv and fridge in room. For the price i was very happy with my stay. Breakfast had some choice and not just cereals and toast. Also had waffles and eggs. Small out doors pool that looked clean but i did not use. Walgreens, Churches Chicken and WhataBurger across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roswellcop
Colorado
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We arrived very late to Lubbock and this is the place we found to stay. We were super tired but could not sleep, this is located in a very busy/noise and loud area. One of the comforters was stained, carpet was not vacuumed very well, and then our toilet was leaking. The room was a non-smoking but it smelled like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabval7
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 10 March 2015

The room smelled smoky, I missed Saturday night live because the cable in the room didn't have nbc, no coffee pot in room, wifi was unreliable, business center computer did not work, and breakfast was a waffle ( no other options) and yucky coffee ( no orange juice). All other hotels were sold out so I was stuck here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas K
Abilene, Texas
Reviewed 12 December 2014

I should have checked the reviews! This place is HORRIBLE. I had reserved a double, non-smoking thru my Choice Privileges; when we arrived we had a single bed (small) in a smoking room. Even though there were obviously several vacancies, the front desk called the "manager" and they would not change our room. The only positive is that we told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FredAckelbee

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn-Lubbock East
1.2 km away
Econo Lodge I-27
Econo Lodge I-27
#38 of 63 in Lubbock
86 reviews
2.2 km away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#45 of 63 in Lubbock
155 reviews
2.3 km away
WoodSpring Suites Lubbock South
5.6 km away
Studio 6 Lubbock
Studio 6 Lubbock
#44 of 63 in Lubbock
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 4801 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79412-2209 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Price Range: $58 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Lubbock
Lubbock Howard Johnson
Rodeway Inn Lubbock, Texas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rodeway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on south side ARE quieter! ;)”
 of 5 bubbles PattiS767, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi that did not work”
 of 5 bubbles thomaskY500ST, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We only saw one room, and it was terrible!”
 of 5 bubbles FredAckelbee, 12 Dec 2014 | Read review
“avoid this motel at all cost. A night in your vehicle is preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles SantaFeOyibo, 3 May 2014 | Read review
“smoking had a lingering smell doesnt get freshened often so get a non-smoking room and just walk out side if you dont your clothes to smell”
 of 5 bubbles TimothyH934, 24 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay