We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 125: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just what we needed after a long drive up from the coast. Early start the next day to Enchanted Rock - needed a place to bunk down for one night. Clean, fresh room. Friendly welcome - they even knew my name as I walked up to check in.

Thank Kate K
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful cozy hotel. Really clean. I stayed one night with my housband and kids and was an excellent night. A simple hotel but with all you can need. Highly recommended. Excellent coffee. Hot water. Comfortable bed.

Thank Natyc
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and the wonderful review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to a return visit. More 

Austin, TX
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice management. Friendly. Hotel is simple and clean. Three quarters of a mile from the main drag in Fredericksburg. Walk it and burn off some of that awesome breakfast you can get next door while you're at it.

Thank musictraveler40
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We really enjoyed having y'all and hope you can return soon. It was a pleasure to meet you and very happy you enjoyed your stay. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on our way to our son's graduation from the Fort Sam Houston Naval Academy in San Antonio and decided to stay in Fredericksburg. The owners of the Sunset Inn were extremely nice and accommodating! The Sunset grill is not affiliated with them, but was an excellent place to eat breakfast as it is in the same parking lot.... More 

1 Thank Navymomsy
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We know you have a choice and we appreciate your business and your feedback. We loved having you and your family stay with us and hope you can return for a longer trip next time. More 

Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fredericksburg's economy is driven by tourism, I guess that is what drives the prices. What we paid for an average room seems a little high, but the economy drives it. I have stayed for less with a much nicer room in downtown Houston & Dallas. The room was clean for the most part. The bed was great, the mattress was... More 

2 Thank MPH200
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I apologize that you were not totally satisfied with your room. I would love to know what room you were in so we may address the problems you pointed out. Our rooms are all non-smoking but unfortunately people do smoke outside and it does occasionally get in through the A/C units. We are... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Check in was smooth and the clerk was very friendly. The property seemed clean. Unfortunately, when we pay close to $150. (With tax) for a tired old room that looks and feels like a Motel Six, we feel over-charged. Our major disappointment considering the price was the extremely weak and bad internet reception. We could get nothing hardly. We just... More 

5 Thank MaltaBound
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I am so sorry you didn't feel your room was up to par. The Single queen bed rooms are the smallest on the property but we try to provide all the amenities and comfort you could need. I want to apologize for the wifi issues you experienced, it is an ongoing... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great value for money, easy to find, friendly, easy to walk to Main Street and other places near by. Clean and we loved the quilts on the beds! Go and drink margaritas at hondos they were delicious and come by the pint :-)

1 Thank jillthorpe
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We loved having you and totally agree with you about the Margarita's @ Hondo's. Maybe we can sit on the patio and enjoy a couple of drinks with you next time you stay. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Gatesville, TX
Level Contributor
388 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Within a quick drive to Fredericksburg's main street this clean, well-maintained older motel offers good value for budget minded folks like us. Our room #126 was clean and offered us good king bed. It had reasonable proximity to downtown tourist area for a good nightly rate compared to other hotels/motels in the area for the Food & Wine Festival weekend.... More 

Thank TexasCatBird
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Kathy, Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We strive to give each customer the best possible experience every time. In regards to the office being closed until 3pm, I am sorry you had logistical issues due to us not being in, I wish you would have called as we always have our number on the door. Being... More 

Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This place was excellent for the price we paid! Rooms were clean and well maintained. It's not the Ritz Carlton, but we weren't coming to Fredericksburg to stay in the room. The owners were very hospitable, and made sure we were happy with our stay. Highly recommend if you don't want to pay the ridiculous prices of most places in... More 

Thank TheCoveredDish
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We try to give all of our guest the best experience all while offering great value. We appreciate your business and hope you come visit again soon. More 

Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Nice budget hotel with microwave and fridge in room, and good A/C, great value. Close to everything. Could do with some bleach use in the bathrooms. Safe and friendly. Park in front of room. Close to supermarket for supplies for day trips.

Thank Alison K
Donna C, General Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Allison, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you don't feel the room was up to par, especially the bathroom. We try very hard to keep and maintain a clean property and will be sure to pay attention to the bathrooms so we don't have the problem again. We hope you will come back and visit again so you... More 

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (36)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (7)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Dining (1)
Other (13)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Double Room (23)
Double Room Pet Friendly (22)
Dining (29)
Single Room (26)
Single Room Pet Friendly (23)
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (18)
Family/Play Areas (3)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.0 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 26 in Fredericksburg
758 reviews
1.4 km away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#13 of 26 in Fredericksburg
417 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 26 in Fredericksburg
227 reviews
1.1 km away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Fredericksburg
615 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
#8 of 26 in Fredericksburg
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the Hill Country, surrounded by wineries, the Sunset Inn & Suites is a true hometown original. The owners take pride in the rich Texas heritage that has long been a part of this small town. Clean, comfy and cozy, our quaintly decorated rooms are just what one needs for a great night's rest. Tim and Donna, our General Managers, take pride and care in operating this property and give great attention to detail. We are a pet friendly facility with a small fee. Our on-site laundry room is clean and convenient. Another plus - you can park right in front of your room! So please, stop in, say hello and take a peek at our rooms and relax in on our patio. You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Inn & Suites

Address: 900 S Adams St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4510
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Price Range: $59 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn Motel And Restaurant Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunset Hotel Fredericksburg
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New Orleans, LA
6 months ago
5 months ago
Austin, Texas

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy to find and within walking distance of local attractions.”
 of 5 bubbles danandjenbarry, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Texan suite is Fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Inspect the room before accepting”
 of 5 bubbles GnKBrazil, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back, avoid room 122 & 123, they are in the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles JeMaSan, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“126 king bed and towards the back..easy parking etc. all good”
 of 5 bubbles chitownrick, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay