Kings Bay Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kings Bay Apartments

18 Mahia Terrace, Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551 Australia
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (7)
Heated pool
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#11 of 14 apartments in Kings Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Wine / champagne
Airport transportation
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Washing machine
Room features
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Family rooms

Location

18 Mahia Terrace, Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Brisbane Intl Airport
66.4 km
See all flights
Sunshine Coast Airport
22.6 km
See all flights
14Reviews3Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paula S wrote a review Sept 2012
Sunshine Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The liveing area was quite small but adequate. With three children in a small space, we rely on a decent TV.. We can live without Foxtel (for a short while) but the biggest problem was the reception. It was virtually impossible to watch TV at any time of the day. The best viewing was the analogue TV in the bedroom.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Date of stay: September 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
giantboy wrote a review July 2011
Yeppoon, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This complex is only a 5 minute walk to everything you want: patrolled beach, restaurants, cafes, and the most amazing public park network on the beach front. The apartments are elevated on the hill but the walk accress of hills is easy. From our unit there are glimpses of the sea - but we came here to get out and about so it matters less. There is a fantastic heated pool which is great for all year holidaying. We got a union discout and 4 nights for the price of three. Very nice! There are stairs (our unit on a 'ground floor'). Just ask before you book if you have a pram or physical issue with stairs. We dined at the local surf life saving club that runs a courtesy bus to your door! Overall this is 5 stars for me!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alikatemm wrote a review Jan 2018
Figtree, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The units here are spotlessly clean, the gardens and pool area are immaculate. The units are quiet and so very well run. Close to everything park the car and walk.
We enjoyed a bbq and swim in the outside area, it’s very family friendly.
Yes there are stairs and no lifts but the views and breeze are worth the effort.
All in all a great place to stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackson B wrote a review Aug 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unhygienic, dust build up and fire hazard galore. NO HOT WATER! The manager mark told me that the owner can’t be bothered to replace the thermostats. My daughters had to go without showers for 3 days, we informed them about it and they still haven’t done anything about it. Payed over $400, to expect a clean, precise apartment with hot water and that’s too difficult to ask for as I’ve received none. Expecting a full refund. Do not recommend staying here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kings Bay Apartments, Owner at Kings Bay Apartments
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Hello, Apologies for the dust you found on the back of the wall mounted TV in the main bedroom; we have had the cleaners dust it off. As far as the rest of your review comments, my recollection of the communications and interactions we had over the weekend are as follows: You checked in on Friday afternoon 11th August and the first we heard from you was a phone call at 07:46 on Saturday 12th August reporting you had no hot water. I asked if we could have access to your apartment to test the hot water system to establish if it was an electrical or plumbing fault. You denied us this access and insisted you were to be present for the tests, and agreed to meet with us 10 minutes later. 10 Minutes came and went and at 08:23 I called to ask when you expected to be back - there was no reply so I left a voicemail. Just under an hour later at 09:16 you arrived at reception and advised me of the dust you had found behind the TV and showed me a photo. You also advised me the hot water was working fine and not to worry so we mutually agreed to call off the tests. The next communication was on Sunday morning at 08:21 when you came to reception to report some contradictory information that the hot water system was not working and that you had been without hot water for the entire stay, despite advising us on Saturday the Hot water was working. As a result you asked for a refund which I denied. After some discussion, as much as you were angry, you did agree to check-out by 10:00am and you returned to the apartment. At 09:20 you approached the automatic garage door to depart from the secure parking and I offered to assist you by opening the garage door for you with a remote and suggested you could hand me the keys to save you coming to reception to drop them off. You refused to hand me the keys and after a heated discussion you drove out of the carpark and threw the keys into our garden. On entry to the apartment we tested the Hot Water System and found it was functioning perfectly. We have great video evidence of the test, lots of hot steaming water was available. We also found "the sticky stuff" (Coke) all over the Kitchen benches, stove, cupboards, drawers and floor along with the almost empty Coke bottle that had been spilled making all the "sticky mess", We also found piles of rubbish and not least of all many soiled nappies tucked into a doona cover. We have photo evidence of the rubbish and mess as well as the upturned beds in the bedrooms and bent ceiling fan in the main bedroom. We fully support your choice not to come back to our establishment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
linda H wrote a review Apr 2011
Brisbane, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked my accomodation online for Kings Bay Apartment for the 24th December (one night) as 20-30 people from my family will be celebrating christmas at my brothers who lives in the region. We see each other only once a year!!

The booking went through without a hitch and was confirmed. A follow up email confirming the booking was soon received. The next day - the manager of the apartments took it upon herself to cancel this booking because it was only for one night even though the Kings Bay Apartment website did not stipulate the 3 night minimum and the booking was accepted. No courtesy call or email was received. I sent through a email to the apartments asking them why they would not honour this booking and how disgusted i was with the treatment i received. Not until then did the manager send a pathetic generic email advising me that the booking was cancelled, and that it was a computer hitch and they apologised for any convenience.

Well an apology doesnt help when myself and my four children will be missing out on seeing our family for christmas this year. An apology wont help when the five of us will be spending christmas alone.

So i would like to send a big bah humbug to the managers of Kings Bay Apartments when they are spending such a lovely time with THEIR family on xmas eve.... I hope you enjoy your xmas...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2010Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PJ J wrote a review Jan 2015
Brisbane, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't do it save yourself the hassle. Stunning ocean views my foot, should read "Ocean glimpses obscured by the buildings in front" No air conditioning, the only cooling comes from some aged fans that barely seem to do anything. This is going to be a long, long week. In hindsight i would rather have spent my holiday at home.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearoh wrote a review Dec 2015
Queensland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a family holiday staying at these apartments. The location is perfect, just a few streets back from Kings Beach. The kids managed the walk easily. The apartments were extremely clean and mine contained everything we needed. The pool was clean and inviting and the bbq area was also great. These are low rise apartments so if you want modern and everything new they are not for you. But if you want friendly service the entire time from the managers, great location book now! There is no aircon but the rooms had ceiling fans, we had very hot weather and the fans were fine. We also got a lovely breeze as apartment was fully security screened so we could leave windows open. Carpark was a bit tight to get in and out of but certainly didnt create a huge issue.
Love this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eve F wrote a review Jan 2017
Queensland, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay here. close walk to the shops and the beach. Loved that our room had its own path to the swimming pool. We really loved our holiday here. Just a short drive to the Caloundra RSL which was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gaelian w wrote a review Oct 2016
Dunedin, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 9 days, in a lovely 2 bedroom apartment, Resident Managers Laurie and Margaret, were very helpful and great hosts in all aspects. The apartments were very clean and tidy with all amenities supplied. Short walk to beach, eating outlets, surf club etc, Pickup shuttles provided by various clubs (Bowling, Surf, RSL) These apartments also very affordable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter N wrote a review Oct 2016
Brisbane, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week at Kings Bay apartments - great nightly rate during the school holidays. Booked a 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor. Apartments are older but are large and self contained, 5 minute walk to Kings Beach and local bars, restaurants, surf club etc, The complex is tidy and well maintained with the on-site managers helpful. The only downside in my mind is the lack of air-conditioning - not a problem in September but in the heights of summer could be uncomfortable. Great thing about being on the first floor is that the front offers great views to the ocean whilst at the rear is direct access to the swimming pool, barbecue area etc. All in all a well priced, well located property where we would certainly book again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from ozone2015
Rye, Australia16 contributions7 helpful votes
Have stay at the apartments for the last two winters- 7 weeks first then 10 weeks. Portable heater in lounge - work well went needed, which was infrequent. Great heated pool. Love the place going back for 6 weeks this winter
ozone2015 wrote a tip Sept 2016
Rye, Australia16 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"First floor apartments have front balcony and rear courtyard. Great natural air flow for sea breezes."
Read full review
RosemaryLT wrote a tip July 2015
Narooma, Australia159 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing east are better as you do not get the afternoon sun."
Read full review
Blondielikes2travel wrote a tip Dec 2014
Brisbane, Australia121 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no lifts."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kings Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$192 - AU$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastCaloundraKings Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KINGS BAY APARTMENTS (AU$192): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Kings Beach) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kings Bay Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Kings Bay Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Kings Beach (0.3 km), Bulcock Beach (0.8 km), and Escape Room Oz - Caloundra (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kings Bay Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kings Bay Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kings Bay Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kings Bay Apartments?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kings Bay Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Three Restaurant Bar and Grill, Amici Restaurant Pizzeria, and Tides Waterfront Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kings Bay Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kings Bay Apartments have airport transportation?
Yes, Kings Bay Apartments offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Kings Bay Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Kings Beach.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars