We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dancing Bear Lodge

Traveller (304)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (18)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Centered in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains, Dancing Bear Lodge is known as East Tennessee's ultimate vacation basecamp offering charming Southern hospitality. It's picturesque location and luxurious amenities offer guests an opportunity to relax and rejuvenate after trekking mountain trails and exploring surrounding areas. With 36 acres featuring intimate rustic cabins and countless sports and activities, Dancing Bear Lodge creates a comforting retreat tailor-made for the adventurer in all of us. We welcome our guests to experience the best the Smokies have to offer by reserving one of our charming cabins.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Hot Tub
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
HOTEL CLASS
713Reviews
350Photos
15Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 562
  • 107
  • 29
  • 12
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed here for 2 nights in late January at the Jack Pine cabin. It was a nice experience and provided a welcome change from a typical hotel yet provided most of the same accommodations. The cabin was well maintained and the beds comfortable. The setting near the Smokey
Read more
Response from jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Dancing Bear Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Thanks for letting us know that the staff took good care of you. We're sorry if any weekend guests at the restaurant did not respect the signage and made things inconvenient for you. We are glad that this did not affect your enjoyment of the rest of your stay. Thanks for sharing a tip with other TripAdvisor guests.
Read more
Nicely surprised with the Lodge and our cabin. We visited for two nights in December but "had" to spend another night because it was the first week that they closed it on Tuesday. I say "had" because the restaurant issue was a good reason to extend our stay. Breakfast and the
Read more
Response from jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Dancing Bear Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Steven, we're glad we could give you a good reason to extend your stay. Thanks for letting us know that everyone took good care of you. Tell the hot-tub salesperson "you're welcome" for us. ha ha We look forward to seeing you again in a couple of months!
Read more
I'm sure this is a wonderful place to stay during the "season." We stayed in January. It was disappointing. We stayed in one of the "luxurious" villas. It was nice and clean, but so is a room at a Marriott. The setting is quite nice, surrounded as it is by trees. But little is
Read more
Response from jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Dancing Bear Lodge
Responded 10 Jan. 2019
We are sorry that you weren't happier during your visit to Townsend. It is our goal to meet even the most demanding standards and expectations of our guests, and it sounds like we fell short in your case. We can't always control what is open in the community especially in January. We think our restaurant IS wonderful, and we're sorry that you missed out, but we listed the planned closing on our website for weeks in advance. We respectfully must correct a few of the things you stated. We aren't sure what you mean by no breakfast because the breakfast vouchers included in your key package specifically state that breakfast is available at both Apple Valley and the Dancing Bean Coffee House, which offers biscuits, yogurt, granola, muffins, fresh whole fruit, juice, coffee, and tea. We've never served breakfast at any of our locations before 8 am. Also, we do have a front desk, conveniently located in the Coffee House. If we'd known you were disappointed in breakfast when you were here, we could have and would have done something to make you happy. We hear your complaints and are very sorry you left feeling less than completely satisfied.
Read more
Booked a 2 bedroom cabin and brought our lab along for a brief 3 night stay. Smores offered by the fire. Unlimited firewood for the fireplace. Daily house keeping. A quiet place to relax. Took a trip into Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg...nice for a day trip but enjoyed the
Read more
Response from jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Dancing Bear Lodge
Responded 3 Jan. 2019
Thank you for staying with us and trying to Bistro. We regret that there was a wait. Thank you for your patience. And for your review, which has information that other travelers may find useful.
Read more
We had a nice relaxing visit it’s definitely a place you wanna go to get away from the hustle and bustle the setting is absolutely beautiful the staff was amazing the cabins are nice the kitchen is fully equipped with everything that you need the fire place is a nice way to
Read more
Response from jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Dancing Bear Lodge
Responded 3 Jan. 2019
We're so glad you were able to relax and enjoy a getaway. Please come visit us again soon.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
our bed
Little Greenbriar
Little Greenbriar
Little Greenbriar hot tub on the rear balcony
Little Greenbriar bath in the room (there is a shower in the bathroom too)
PreviousNext
12345614
Closest airport to fly into?
McGhee Tyson in Knoxville.
1 vote
Show all answers
We have a Tesla charger yes ! It’s in front of the Evergreen cabin and is only used occasionally. We have never had to “reserve” it so shouldn’t be an issue . To be perfectly safe please let us know if you decide to stay with us — the specifics of the length of time you may need the charger and the dates. Many Thanks !
1 vote
Any 3 bedroom, 3 baths.?
I would definitely call them. They own a massive house overlooking the mountains in a different area there that can be rented. Might be worth looking into depending on your budget and needs.
0 votes
Show all answers
We have stayed in the cabin last New Year’s and enjoyed the stay. It was a two bedroom and had plenty of room for kids so I don’t see any problem. Summertime is great in the area with lots of things to do and see. The restaurant is great for dinner and there are many other places to eat breakfast and lunch.
1 vote
Show all answers
Don't know that I would want to visit a casino when this area has so much else to offer......
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"All rooms look great, offer very nice beds and linens and onsite parking. Hot tubs are available too."
"Off the beaten path, hidden gem!"
"Once they figure out glitches, book the luxury duplex cabins for couples romantic retreat! Back decks are more secluded and private."
"For couples the villas are brand new and more like a rustic hotel room, the cottages are a rustic cozy option for a family."
"Many choices in style of cabins and villas to fit any need."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 133 - USD 313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dancing bear hotel townsend
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeTownsend
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing