Yarra Valley Guest House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Yarra Valley Guest House

319 Steels Creek Road Melway Reference 266 K4, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775 Australia
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (13)
Cheese and Wine
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#4 of 4 guest houses in Yarra Glen
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value

If you’re looking for a luxury guest house in Yarra Glen, look no further than Yarra Valley Guest House.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a kitchenette.

The property also features a pool and free breakfast to make your visit even more pleasant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Yarra Valley Grand, which is a pub that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Yarra Valley Gifts is a nice way to spend some time.

The staff at Yarra Valley Guest House looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Table tennis
Spa
BBQ facilities
Parking
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
74Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 18
  • 10
  • 6
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Infinity_11 wrote a review June 2012
Melbourne, Australia40 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely anniversary stay in a king room; clean, warm, and cosy. Very comfy bed, and room well equipped. The Guest House nestles in a beautiful setting, and is situated close to the wineries. Continental breakfast was quit filling and well presented, enjoyed in a lovely, small dining room whilst reading the daily papers. Late check-out was a plus.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt_au2012 wrote a review Aug 2014
5 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights here & found the property to be quite nice. What was odd is that we arrived to an envelope pinned to the door of reception and no one in sight! Luckily the envelope contained info on our booking and the key to our room. As it happens we didn't see one staff member the entire time we were there!
The room was lovely but the only heating was a small wood combustion heater. Plenty of wood was supplied, but when the temperature dropped to 2 degrees below zero overnight it makes for a bad nights sleep having up get up every couple of hours and put wood on the fire.
Breakfast was nice buffet style, but there was no heating in the room. I have never sat in such a freezing cold room to eat breakfast in my life. It was horrible!!
So overall not terrible, but we won't be back. I wouldn't recommend it and it's certainly over priced for what was on offer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phia_H wrote a review Oct 2012
Wahroonga, Australia16 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the guesthouse as part of our honeymoon to Australia. We made a last minute decision to visit Yarra Valley and made a booking 2 days in advance via Booking.com.

We arrived prior to the normal check-in time as we would be picked up for a wine tour but we wanted to check whether the booking was received ok. The gentleman who greeted us couldn't immediately find our booking and then disappeared looking for the booking. He stayed away for what seemed ages (in the meantime the wine tour bus arrived and everybody had to wait for him to return). After about 15min he returned still without finding our booking but he reassured us that all will be ok upon our return in the afternoon.

And it sure was. We could choose which one of the garden rooms we wanted. Both were huge and very nicely decorated! The guesthouse is located in a beautiful area filled with wild (night)life (as we also discover something made its home between the roof and the ceiling of our room). Breakfast was ok - nothing special. Trying to check out also took forever so patience is definitely required when checking in or out of this beautiful guesthouse. It is a great place to stay while exploring the Yarra Valley wine region. Bella the cat (the guesthouse's feline resident) added a nice memory to our stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank H wrote a review Nov 2011
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom1 contribution10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Australia is a great country, with lots to offer the British tourist. This includes some really good guest houses. Sadly Yarra Valley Guest House is not one of them.
Whilst staying there we all went on a tour of some local wineries, driven by a local professional, very helpful guide. We told him of our concerns. He said the guest house had had a good reputation, but was said to have gone downhill since a change of ownership, and he would remove it from his website's list of recommended accomodation.
Look at Tripadvisor's reviews and you will see a bewildering spectrum of reports. Look back to August 2004 and you will find a glowing report mentioning the then owner, Ted.
But the present owner is Anthony De Pasquale. Look at the review of April 25 2011, "Relaxing and Tranquil", and you find a positive eulogy praising the qualities of this establishment. Look more closely and you will see a photograph of Anthony De Pasquale in the start of the report. You will also see the name "Dale" in the seeming e-mail address quoted, along with "Steels Creek". Dale was the name of the only other member of staff we met, and the address of the guest house is Steels Creek Road. Surely Anthony would not have had the temerity to claim to have been a guest in his own guest house, and to make such wild claims about his business. Although, if you look at the quality of his presentation you can see this is typical of his lack of attention to detail, and also of his lack of command of the English language. To me he sounded very much more Italian than Australian. It would be interesting to know when the ownership changed, and when the place started going "downhill".
The four star rating claimed by Anthony is also suspect. Sure he had a four star certificate on display at reception, but closer inspection revealed that this had been issued some four years ago, and was had been invalid for the past two years..
Our "King" room was terrible. There was no wardrobe to hang our clothes, just a rail attached to the wall above the fridge, with insufficient height to hang a full length dress comfortably. The fridge had a very thick layer of ice engulfing the freezer compartment. A notice in the bathroom informed us this was not drinking water, but there was no bottled water in the room. One major light was not working. There was only one chair between two of us. The picture on the small elderly looking T.V. was so poor it was not worth watching. When we eventually met the owner to pay the bill my daughter complained to him about her terribly uncomfortable pull-out bed. As she turned away from him he put his thumbs to his ears, waggled his fingers and pulled faces behind her back, before insulting us and our country. This modern-day Merchant of Venice was adamant that he would receive his pound of flesh, or in this case fistful of dollars. We were charged $500, or about £350, for two uncomfortable nights in an unclean, underfurnished, poorly illuminated "King" room, and two ridiculous breakfasts. He also said he prefers Japanese guests as he can charge them more.
I departed feeling a very strong sense of injustice, and that we had been cheated by this avaricious little man. I don't know why he is allowed to carry on in this way. I don't think he would get away with it for long in the U.K.
So there you have it, Brits. Check the name of the owner before you book here. If it is still Anthony De Pasquale avoid it like the Plague. Under a good owner this could be a great place once again. As it is it tarnishes the good image of Australia and Australian tourism
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PJ_AR2014 wrote a review Apr 2015
Brisbane, Australia14 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiancé and I finally had a chance to get away for the night without our two children, so we decided to head in to the Yarra Valley for the night, we booked the Yarra Valley Guest House as I read the reviews on here and it sounded wonderful. How wrong could I be!!

The problems started before we even arrived, I called to find out if there were any wineries or restaurants in walking distance so that my fiancé and I could both have a few drinks over dinner and not have to worry about driving. I was abruptly rushed off the phone being told yes yes, there are plenty and we will be given a list of them when we get there. I thought no problems, I would prefer to book in advance but if he is certain i wouldn't need a reservation then ok. Besides, we had booked a room with a BBQ so at worst, we could pack a nice dinner for ourselves and have dinner in the room. I put no further thought into it.
When we arrived, there was no one at reception, we pressed the buzzer and waited. The person grunted through the speaker and we told him why we were there. He then took abut 5 minutes to come to the door and greet us. We thought we had been forgotten about. When I asked the man who greeted us about attractions and restaurants in walking distance, he laughed, gave me the once over and said, "let me see your legs". I didn't even know that that is supposed to mean.
We then were informed that the suite we booked (Honeymoon suite) was not available and that we had been upgraded to a villa, how wonderful i thought...... Wrong again..... The room was dusty, freezing cold, dark and uninviting. I opened the fridge to place our days spoils inside however the room was colder than the inside of the fridge, I thought the fridge was faulty but apparently not. I then went to turn the split system heating on to find out that it doesn't work and only blows cold air. Lucky we packed warm I thought. I then asked the man to let us know about restaurants close by so we can go for dinner, again I was grunted at and told to look in the book. I looked around the room for a BBQ and came up empty. I also asked if there were any wineries close that we could walk to, he said yes, just down the road there is one. He mumbled something about breakfast being between 9-11 and left.
We had a glass of wine in the room and decided that we would walk down to the winery down the road, it was only just over a km and a half but when we got there it was closed, something I thought the closest neighbour and local would and probably should know.... As the closest location for dinner was also a good 3.5 kms away and no facilities in this room to cook a meal for ourselves, I called the main guest house phone number to ask if there were any local taxis in the valley and did he have a phone number, he grunted about the book again and was off the phone before I registered what I had been told.
After a lovely dinner in town, we came back to the room to retire for the evening, I wanted to relax in the spa after a long day of walking and wine tasting, turned the water on waited for it to fill only to come back to a spa that was filled with water browner than the Brisbane river. I thought that it might be just the first few litres (happens sometimes, no biggie), so I emptied it and started again. Still murky, still smelly, still unsuitable to bath in. No shower for me that night.....
When I woke up in the morning, I went into the bathroom to brush my teeth and a tiny sign on top of the toilet caught my eye that read there is a combination of bore and tank water used in the room and that it is not safe for drinking and bottles were available in the dining room. That would have been good to know earlier, like on check in! I did find it strange that there were two water glasses next to the sink in the bathroom. Why bother if you can't drink the water??? Why not replace the water glasses with the tiny sign from the top of the toilet to make sure people see that it is not safe for drinking.... ? And why not place bottles of drinking water inside the room???
Check out was no better, we are relatively early risers so we were checking out around 8 am. We packed the car and walked up to the main house to hand in our keys, I was going to address the issues with the guest house on check out however reception was unmanned and no one came to the bell, I pressed the buzzer 3 times and we waited about 1/2 an hour. No sign of life, so we just left the key on the desk and were on our way.

It is such a shame that the service here was so poor, it is a lovely little spot with such incredible potential. Having said that, potential or not, we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valleyguesthouse, Owner at Yarra Valley Guest House
Responded 22 Apr 2015
Whilst it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we do value all of the opinions of our guests. I have since addressed some of your concerns. With Winter approaching, our rooms do get cold, but please rest assured that the gas log heaters in the room are maintained throughout the entire year and are in good working order. Our tanks have been flushed to provide our guests with clean water and we always keep an abundant supply of drinking water in our kitchen area. I have also reviewed the room compendiums to ensure that our guests can enjoy visiting the valley as much as we enjoy living in this beautiful part of Australia.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben W wrote a review July 2013
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This property website mentions an racv rating of 4 stars (http://www.valleyguesthouse.com.au/about.htm) which according to the certificate at reception was issued in 2007. On arrival the place was dark and deserted, we had to phone the owners to come and give us our room key. On arrival we found left over take away food in the fridge. There was no fire wood or instructions on operating the flue provided and the split system heater sounded like a prop aeroplane and intermittently stopped functioning. We did not see anyone to complain or ask about these things and the phone remained unanswered. The breakfast was stale, we discovered on the second morning that the Danishes left over from day one were served up again on day two. They were quite well preserved however, because the room was as cold as a fridge. The temperature also kept under wraps the smell of the cat poo, which featured prominently on the floor next to the water cooler that was empty. Ordinarily this wouldn't have been a big issue for us, except that the water in the room was labeled as unfit for drinking and this was the only other source as no bottles were placed in the rooms. It should also be noted that there was (probably still is) a rodent of some description living underneath the spa. We named him "scratchy".

Had we not pre-paid we would not have stayed the second night, and at $175 per night that is a disgrace.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valleyguesthouse, Owner at Yarra Valley Guest House
Responded 8 Oct 2013
In regards the STAR Rating, this was re-affirmed as Rating 4 by STAR Ratings Australia - Assessment Report on Monday 24 June 2013. The property is inspected annually in accordance with the guidelines AAA Tourism. The remainder of the Review posted on 11 July 2013 is equally inaccurate in its commentary. These guests arrived after 11PM in the evening (in mid winter) and after the lights in the surrounds had been switched off for the convenience of guests who had retired for the evening. This is normal procedure. ----------------------
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicky H wrote a review Oct 2011
Albrighton, England, United Kingdom2 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
At first glance an idyllic setting. The disappointment set in when we discovered that the twin room we had booked consisted of 1 king and 1 pullout bed - and we were being charged extra for this. Then on closer inspection the room was filthy with dead flys, dessicated worms and cobwebs littering the room.
There was no-one available to greet us - just a letter telling us which was our room.
Our first contact with anyone was at the abyssmal breakfast the following morning, after I had had an uncomfortable night on the pull out. In my father's words it was the Marie Celeste. Breakfast was served in another dirty room on cafeteria style tables with not enough fruit to go around,some cereal and some toast - all self service with no clearing away of dirty dishes.
I asked the staff member about internet access(which is advertised as being available) and was directed towards a computer in the corner which again was filthy. The floor was littered with dead flys and moths and the keyboard was an inch thick in dust. I was unable to boot up the computer as it was password protected with no password available. Even the member of staff didn't know the password and there was no wi-fi available for me to use my laptop.
A friend I was travelling with took this opportunty to politely point out that our rooms needed a good clean and the member of staff agreed with this and promised to pass our concerns on to the owner.
We returned after a wonderful day out around the wineries expecting clean rooms and internet access. We were disappointed. A lame attempt had been done to clean the rooms. However even the bins had not been emptied or towels changed as promised in the literature left in the room. I also had no internet access and I was trying to check up on a close friend who had just had major surgery.
The following morning, after a painful night on the pullout, at breakfast (which was a repeat of the previous days and still not ready at 9am) we at last met the owner who told us that we were in the country and should expect dirt, that the dead flies and dust were our own fault for trying to light a fire - we hadn't - and leaving doors open - we hadn't. He then became very personal and implied that we were "dirty backpackers" and gave us even more personal abuse.
All in all this was a horrendous experience at a dirty hotel with an owner who wasn't prepared to listen to our concerns and even became aggressive towards us.
What a shame as it has so much potential in a beautiful part of Australia where accomodation is needed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rainbow M wrote a review Jan 2014
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia9 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent out first anniversary here and arrived a little early, there were two other couples who also had arrived a little early. None of us minded waiting, one of the couples politely called to let them know we were all there. Instead of being polite the manager rudely told her we would all have to wait. When he did arrive he was extremely annoyed and from that point it felt like we got off on the wrong foot straight away. We felt the need to walk on eggshells and to stay out of his way in fear of being scolded again. It felt like being back at catholic school. The room was nothing flash, and a bit overpriced.

Take note: the room will not be cleaned during your stay.

The pluses are:
Location: quite and out of the way.
Garden: the garden is really beautiful and well kept (if only the same effort was made for the rooms)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis G wrote a review Oct 2016
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had made a booking to stay 1 night. It was a present from our children for Christmas. We had not had the opportunity to use the present until October 2016. We arrived 2.00pm to check in as arranged. No one was at reception even after ringing the bell 3 times I had to ring the resort number. A pleasant Lady came and told us "I don't know if anyone told you but we don't have electricity after the storm and expect it back on at 4.00pm?????". We have a generator out the back that supplies some rooms. Our allotted accommodation wasn't available as the generator didn't service that room. No big deal we were the only ones staying so I was shown to a studio room where limited power was available. The room was basic there were power cords all over the floor and the carpet was wet. There was no sign where the water had entered the room but the receptionist said I will give you the Honeymoon suit. That sounded great. Went to the room it smelt very musty, was cold no fire going even though there was a wood fire, it was very uninviting. It appeared no effort had been made for our arrival or stay. I appreciated that the recent storm and loss of power was no ones fault but no effort for our arrival and stay had been made and a simple telephone call had been to much effort by the management to do. We decided not to stay and disappointed returned home. My children of course were very upset about our experience. We have over many years stayed at many places but this one was by far the worst service ever experienced. The Management needs to think ahead and plan for the arrival of their guests they must be made to feel important and welcomed. At no time did I feel welcome. We still have the voucher to use so we will be going back as soon as possible. I trust my next review will be better. On a good note the grounds and surrounds looked very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aaron N wrote a review Apr 2014
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The service was atrocious. We arrived at the reception desk and was greeted by a spider hanging in the doorway. After pushing the buzzer we were rudely told that the owner was busy and would just to wait inside.
After 10 minutes he arrived, and gave us our door key. He was abrupt and rushed and did not make us feel welcome in any way. He pointed us in the general direction of our our room, without even the courtesy of leading us there or telling us about the features of the bed and breakfast.
The room had multiple dead bugs on the floor along with a dead spider in the corner filthy. The water from the spa was brown, and not welcoming. Spider webs everywhere.
The so called 'games room' and 'table tennis' was a shed with a table tennis table in it that had a left over beer bottle and liquid on the table and below it. Filthy.
On leaving he didnt even bother to say goodbye.
NOT RECOMMENDED.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Andrea C wrote a tip Feb 2017
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother. Very rude Italian Manager."
Read full review
Dossa wrote a tip Feb 2017
Edinburgh2 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only book if you are 100% sure you are going as you may get frustrated getting money back even on flexible bookings with cancellation terms."
Read full review
Chris F wrote a tip Jan 2017
Wilmington77 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The photos on the website do not do this place any justice. It's superb!"
Read full review
jan19522015 wrote a tip Oct 2016
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do yourself a favor an go somewhere esle"
Read full review
Brendon R wrote a tip Aug 2016
Melbourne, Australia185 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the Borghese suite"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Yarra Glen area.
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaYarra ValleyYarra Glen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YARRA VALLEY GUEST HOUSE: Reviews (Yarra Glen) - Photos of Guesthouse - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Yarra Valley Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Yarra Valley Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Yarra Valley Chocolaterie & Ice Creamery (3.5 km), Alowyn Gardens (3.2 km), and Yarra Glen Adventure Playground, McKenzie Reserve (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Yarra Valley Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a fitness centre, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Yarra Valley Guest House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Yarra Valley Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Yarra Valley Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yarra Valley Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Immerse Restaurant, De Bortoli Family Winemakers, and Divino Ristorante at Mandala Wines.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yarra Valley Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Yarra Valley Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Yarra Valley Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Maroondah Aqueduct (13.7 km).
All Yarra Glen HotelsYarra Glen Hotel DealsHotels near Yarra Valley Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars