We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wonthaggi Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wonthaggi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wonthaggi Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here for 3 nights all in all OK, bed in unit 2 very uncomfortable pity there is no microwave in the rooms especially with families visiting with kids, apart from that just a typical motel, somewhere to sleep

Helpful?
Thank hawk1991
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I have stayed there twice now and have found it very comfortable, clean and great location in the town. Staff were friendly and helpful. If I had to say anything even mildly negative it was that the pillows were too thick for me but in retrospect I realise that I should have asked to swap one (at least on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ppow49
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed recently in a larger room and 'Large' it was, plenty of space, ideal to spend time doing paper-work and that sort of thing. Room was ideal, had a spa [not used] but plenty of work space and power points for charging the Ipad & IPhone. King sized bed and pillows led towards a great sleep, TV ideally placed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hazmatau2015
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Clean, Comfortable and a short walk to the main street. Ice in the freezer, this is always good and not maintained by housekeeping. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are quite large and quiet with comfy bed.

Helpful?
Thank havagoodtime
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit to our Coastal town. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My wife & I are traveling with a small group and let me say that my wife is most particular about where she stays and the facilities in the room allocated to us. So much so that we have paid our account at other properties but left after 30 minutes due to the uneasiness she felt. With this motel she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Radar47
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We enjoyed having your very friendly group stay with us and hope to see you again when you travel through our part of the world again. More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I stayed for one night. The rooms are very clean and functional. Bedding is just right - not too firm and linen good - thick towels etc. Local TV channels are clear viewed on a large flat screen at a good height for watching (Not hanging od ceiling) Rooms are quiet with no road noise The motel is walking distance... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

David, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. More 

Wonthaggi, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I've stayed in the Wonthaggi Motel and found it to be neat and clean, and the staff very professional. Whilst the rooms are neat huge, the amenities in them are very good, and it does not have the typical motel feel. A nice, comfortable feel and stay.

Helpful?
Thank StephenOrmsby
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Stephen, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you again. More 

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Very roomy and clean and in convenient location close to the main street and shops. Room was well equipped the bed comfortable and bathroom spacious. Charming receptionist/manageress who was extremley informative and very polite. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank surfaman
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we value your feedback! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in family suite - 4 adults & 1 baby. The suite was very spacious with very comfy beds, lounge suite & big flat screen tv. Great bathroom with spa bath & again loads of room. Heating worked a treat & everything was clean. Only downside was a few little things that I think is just lack of attention to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
Nadene1, Guest Relations Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property Kerry, we value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
786 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I stayed here in Aptil, unfortunately have been out of action and only just catching up on all my reviews Well this is a family owned and run establishment and from the seem of it the only motel in town. It's "ok" but some rooms are better than others. There was a group of us staying so I got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrisCaz
Nadene1, Guest Relations Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We regret you found a discrepancy in the types of rooms your group stayed in back in April, however we have only recently undertaken refurbishment of all Queen rooms and the feedback has been very positive. (updated pictures and details on our website). We hope if you have reason to... More 

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonthaggi
33.8 km away
Opal Motel
Opal Motel
#1 of 1 in Leongatha
56 reviews
9.7 km away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
375 reviews
11.4 km away
Inverloch Motel
Inverloch Motel
#3 of 4 in Inverloch
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Eugenie's
Eugenie's
#2 of 2 in Inverloch
24 reviews
12.0 km away
Motel on A'Beckett
Motel on A'Beckett
#1 of 4 in Inverloch
81 reviews
11.9 km away
Inverloch Central Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonthaggi Motel has 20 Units including 7 extra large Deluxe units with spa bathrooms. Parking is right outside your room. All units have Flat screen Tv's, A/Cond, King or Queen beds, family units, free Internet to all rooms. We are right in town, walk to shops, clubs, etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wonthaggi Motel

Address: 40 - 44 McKenzie St, Wonthaggi, Victoria 3995, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Wonthaggi
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Wonthaggi Motel Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wonthaggi Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in a room on the LH side as you drive in, traffic noise was not an issue, at all.”
  • Spacious Room
  • Bathroom
  • King Sized Bed
  • Kitchenette
  • Comfy 2 Seater & Table
 of 5 bubbles Hazmatau2015, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 5 but other rooms were equally as pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles Radar47, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very good and clean very central All one level”
 of 5 bubbles catjas0802, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“They have various sized rooms so dependent on the number of people staying. All rooms are of fantastic value.”
 of 5 bubbles 301Jacko, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1 directly behind reception and it was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles T1033JCsuem, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5