We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Athelstane House

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“open fire”(20 reviews)
“spa bath”(17 reviews)
“eggs benedict”(5 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
122
50
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
122
50
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen firespa batheggs benedictprivate balconyby the glassboutique hotelold housesmall roomcomfortable roomguest housebreakfast was deliciousvery pleasant stayquiet place to staystairs are steepgreat decisionself contained apartmenthobson street
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at Athelstane House on several occasions over many years and this gorgeous accommodation never disappoints. It has such a relaxing atmosphere and the rooms are so comfortably and beautifully furnished. Relaxing on the balcony after a delicious breakfast is a wonderful way...More

Thank petfam
Response from Laurel H, Manager at Athelstane HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi petfam, Thanks for your fantastic 5 star review! We're so glad you enjoyed another stay with us recently and look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Kind regards, Laurel

Reviewed 5 March 2018

Great location in a lovely town with plenty to do in the surrounding area. We were impressed by the cleanliness during our stay in the apartment, and the kind efficient staff. Would definitely love to return

Thank JAD9999
Response from Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane HouseResponded 7 March 2018

Hi JAD9999, Thanks for your great review of Athelstane House, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in our Apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards, Laurel

Reviewed 1 March 2018

We booked this in conjunction with a Blues Train Experience. We stayed for two nights. Athelstane is a big old house with just a limited number of rooms. There are communal spaces, such as the front lounge which is lovely. There are gorgeous outside spaces...More

Thank Groovy_Duvy
Response from Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane HouseResponded 2 March 2018

Hi Groovy_Duvy, Thanks for your outstanding five star review of Athelstane House. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience in Queenscliff. You'll be pleased to know we received an order of bar fridges today (yes, today!) that will be installed into all of our...More

Reviewed 23 February 2018

I think it's the fourth time we've stayed at Athelstane House. This time we stayed overnight with a group of around 6 couples from our golf club, having played at 13th Beach. Athelstane never disappoints. Warmly welcomed and shown to our large modern room and...More

Thank DebRed_10
Response from Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane HouseResponded 25 February 2018

Hi DebRed_10, Thanks for your lovely review of Athelstane House; we're so glad you enjoyed another visit. We are looking forward to seeing you for stay number five! Warm regards, Laurel

Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel by chance it said 10 km from Sorrento it didn’t mention it had a sea in the middle and you have to catch a ferry however, We stayed in this lovely hotel for 1 night it was very nice bedroom...More

Thank lynholmes
Response from Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane HouseResponded 8 February 2018

Hello lynholmes, Thanks for your great review! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Unfortunately, sites such as Expedia don’t recognise in their distance software that a ferry is required between Sorrento and Queenscliff, we hope you enjoyed this relaxing ride none...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 129 - USD 205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 129 - USD 205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Athelstane House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"We had Room #1 at the top of the main stairs overlooking Hobson Street, we did not experience any noise."
Read review
"The ground floor room that was probably an old stable years ago was our pick!"
Read review
"No. 9 was great location being on corner .."
Read review
"Small rooms could be too small for a prolonged stay, but are nevertheless very comfortable. The bathroom was..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing