We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast

22 Kellett St, Nelson, Victoria 3292 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Nelson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nelson Cottage is an historic Bed & Breakfast that has been recently renovated whilst retaining it’s heritage charm. The tranquil setting allows guests a chance to relax and rejuvenate. Each of the six guest rooms have been refurbished to provide modern comfort with hints of a bygone era. Guests can enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast including freshly brewed coffee, tea, juice, yoghurt, cereal and toast in the Dining Room with views to the Glenelg River and abundant local wildlife. Cooked breakfast and dinner options are available. Nelson Cottage also provides: • Shared guest living area and sunroom • Guest Beverage area with filtered water, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities • Easy walk to Hotel, Kiosk, Service Station & River Perfect for hikers wanting a base whilst undertaking the Great South West Walk or Aussie Camino with comfortable accommodation, hot showers, meal options and transfers to each section available. It is also the ideal stop for a night or two to recharge during your hike. Nelson Cottage is the perfect stopover if you are road tripping between Melbourne and Adelaide. Looking to explore? Then look no further than Discovery Bay Coastal Park or Lower Glenelg River and National Park which are conveniently located a short distance from the bed and breakfast. Nelson also offers a tranquil base for holidaymakers exploring the various activities in South West Victoria and Limestone Coast Regions which include kayaking, hiking, fishing, birdwatching, swimming and sightseeing. Accommodating up to 15 guests, group bookings are welcome. Enjoy your stay in Nelson!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Beach
Boating
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

22 Kellett St, Nelson, Victoria 3292 Australia
Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
34Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Michaela D wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Beautifully renovated to complement the history of the building. A peaceful and relaxing environment has been created which we loved. The hosts Jo & Paul were lovely and the breakfast fantastic. We will definitely be returning!! David & Michaela
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi David & Michaela We are so glad that you enjoyed the relaxing and unique atmosphere of Nelson Cottage! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and get to know you over the course of your visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future as we love it when our guests return :) Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rollingstone57 wrote a review Dec 2023
Perth, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
You couldn't get more homey and friendly than this! Old style with clean and cosy comfort and oozing with character, this place offers everything from friendly helpful host, self help cuppas, breakfast and dinners with a view, and a lounge complete with jigsaw and a hearty warm log fire.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review our unique and historic bed and breakfast! We are always working hard to enhance our guest experience, so we are glad that you enjoyed it :) It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future. Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nancy G wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
Stayed here after 7 days hiking on the GSWW. Great welcome, hospitality, breakfast, location, and facilities. Very relaxing. The hosts are lovely and have made the cottage a home away from home. We are already planning our next stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 9 Dec 2023
Thank you Nancy for taking the time to review our unique Bed & Breakfast! It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the comforts of Nelson Cottage. Looking forward to see you again :) Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
denishenry wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
The cottage was a welcome relief after 6 days on the GSWW trail however it turned out to be a disappointment. The host told us there was no guest laundry provision and the nearest was a 4km return walk to a caravan park. We subsequently found out that neither seemed to be true. Arrangements can be made with the host albeit expensive. Furthermore there is a laundry at the caravan park across the road but apparently some neighbourly dispute rules that out for Cottage guests. We ordered the packed lunch, it proved to be poor value. My advice, use the Nelson Kiosk
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Hikers are always welcome at Nelson Cottage – we just can’t wash their clothes… We trialled it, it didn’t work, and we thought we had deleted it from our online booking system… another guest had booked and paid for it online so we honoured their booking. It is definitely not available now. We are active members of the Nelson Tourist Association and we always promote local members and encourage our guests to utilise their services. The profits from the Caravan Park located 1 km away from Nelson Cottage are reinvested back into projects to benefit Nelson residents and tourists. Picnic Lunch? Is an optional extra which is made to order… if you don’t see anything you like on the menu we are always happy for you to source it elsewhere. The choice is always yours! Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast is a small family owned and operated business located in a beautiful but remote location. Failure to plan and book accommodation and any extras in advance may result in disappointment. It is a shame that you didn’t convey your disappointment to us during the multiple conversations we had during your 2 night stay. Nelson Cottage provides hikers with comfy beds, hot hot showers, complimentary continental breakfast in the Dining Room from 7am to 9am daily, all linen supplied, complimentary toiletries, beverage area stocked with tea, coffee, biscuits and filtered water, spacious guest lounge with jigsaws, books, board games, TV and comfy seating, food parcel pick up from the Post Office, local knowledge, central location near kiosk, pub, service station, river, and beach. Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth C wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
The most thoughtfully renovated and comfortable traditional B&B experience - we stayed in the constables king room complete with comfortable bed and sitting area. The shared common room is so cosy with fire and couches and the bathrooms are very practical and all you need (hot hot showers!) Jo was a generous and welcoming host. Small touches throughout like we a bathroom kit, tea and biscuits and amazing breakfast. We ordered the cooked breakfast and packed lunch - highly recommend for picnicking and exploring. Will definitely be back with friends or family to this delightful spot in quiet and beautiful Nelson.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 5 Oct 2023
Hi Elizabeth It was a pleasure to welcome you to Nelson Cottage and share our unique Bed & Breakfast experience with you. Loved the chats over breakfast and being able to get to know you better. Nelson Cottage is the perfect base to experience the various activities nearby - hiking, canoeing, fishing, birdwatching, diving/snorkelling and sightseeing. Thank you for taking the time to review our piece of history and we are looking forward to seeing you again so you can either explore the area further or just relax and rejuvenate. Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
laurene v wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
I had a lovely time with Jo and Paul at Nelson Cottage. It was off season, so things were quiet but the hospitality was warm and inclusive. I bought a package which included support for walks, including a packed lunch, and that was great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Hi Laurene It was a pleasure to meet you and we enjoyed your stay with us. We love having hikers stay with us to use Nelson Cottage as a base for some of the best sections of the Great South West Walk. Thank you for taking the time to review our unique and historic bed & breakfast, and we hope to see you again. Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Helen H wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
These historic cottages are an excellent place to stay. Jo was a very welcoming host and had warmed our room before we arrived. The shared, cosy lounge area was a lovely place to relax after a day's driving. The shared amenities were clean, well appointed and had a heater for the colder weather. Our bed was very comfortable and we were given a delicious continental breakfast. The local hotel was a couple of doors down the road and we had a lovely dinner there. I would recommend the cottages to couples and family groups, both in summer and winter.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plan to stay more than one night!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 20 June 2023
Hi Helen It was delightful having you both stay with us. I really enjoyed our chat over breakfast in the Dining Room by the fire. Thank you for taking the time to review our historic Bed & Breakfast, and we hope that you return so you can take time to explore our beautiful town including the beach, river and national parks further. Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim wrote a review May 2023
Lenswood, Australia1 contribution
Me and 2 mates just had a fabulous weekend in Nelson. We stayed 2 nights at the cottage and had 2 queens and a king room in the original police station and stone addition. The rooms were clean, extremely comfortable and heated for the autumn chill. We really appreciated Paul and Jo’s hospitality. The combustion stove in the lounge was laid each evening and burning in no time for us to enjoy over a whiskey or 3. The bathroom facilities are shared and basic but again very clean. The showers are hot and powerful. We had continental breakfasts but cooked is available. Nice to watch the birds come in to the feeder by the window as we ate. The location is 2 mins walking distance to the pub, general store and river. I’ve stayed here twice before and would recommend for a comfortable and homely stay while exploring this gorgeous part of the world.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The Nelson pub was full of character. Good for a drink but wouldn’t eat there. Check out the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 May 2023
Hi Tim Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Nelson Cottage. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with some friends as our unique B&B is perfect for groups of families and/or friends wanting to catch up in an unhurried, serene and peaceful setting. It was so lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again. Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nonameyouaccept wrote a review Apr 2023
-17 contributions7 helpful votes
Lovely old building with comfy rooms, with a large bed, and great hosts. Excellent dinners and breakfasts! We stayed while doing parts of the Great South West Walk and Jo and Paul looked after us very well.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 30 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review our unique bed and breakfast. We love having hikers stay with us to use Nelson Cottage as a base for some of the best sections of the Great South West Walk.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MarthaLukes wrote a review Apr 2023
Adelaide, Australia57 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
We enjoyed a lovely stay at Nelson Cottage, with a big highlight being able to meet other people, while also being able to keep to yourself if you wished. Love the history and the bird life and friendly owners. The dining room is great and has views to the bird feeder where galahs and superb wrens feed and you can watch them at length. The whole place is a blend of eras with quirkiness and charm and feels very welcoming. Many photo-worthy decorative elements. Comfy beds and everything you need. It does have shared bathroom and shared tea and coffee making facilities, so be prepared for that. All cleaned daily and lovely hot showers. The kitchenette allows you to store some food and drinks in the fridge and you can also use plates, cups, glasses, and knives and forks, microwave so you can do some basic self-catering. Really close to the lake and boat launching, the pub, kiosk, info centre, river cruise, and walks along the river. A great place to feel right at home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The lounge has games and books and local history. Fireplace lit at night. Open 24/7 to use anytime.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelson Cottage, Owner at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Responded 15 Apr 2023
Hi MarthaLukes We are glad that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay at Nelson Cottage located in the heart of Nelson. Thank you for taking the time to review our unique B&B and sharing your photos. We hope to see you again. Jo & Paul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nelson area.
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaNelson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NELSON COTTAGE BED & BREAKFAST: 2024 Reviews - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast
What are some of the property amenities at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Nelson Cottage Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.