Arlberg Mt Hotham
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arlberg Mt Hotham

1 Great Alpine Rd, Mount Hotham, Victoria 3741 Australia
View from apartment at Arlberg Mount Hotham
Traveller (50)
view from our room
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 motel in Mount Hotham
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Arlberg Mt Hotham, your Mount Hotham “home away from home.” Arlberg Mt Hotham aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. Rooms at Arlberg Mt Hotham have a kitchen, bathroom, drying cupboard. Guests of Arlberg Mt Hotham are also welcome to enjoy a pool and a lounge, located on site. Arlberg Mt Hotham puts the best of Mount Hotham at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Ski rentals
Ski school
Spa
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Heated pool
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Skiing
Darts
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

1 Great Alpine Rd, Mount Hotham, Victoria 3741 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Melbourne Airport
217.6 km
See all flights
110Reviews0Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 37
  • 16
  • 15
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kim B wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite advertising its centrally located, its a 10-15 minute walk to Hotham Central and nearest coffee and or breakfast. Would be Ok if weather is perfect - not always. No service, nightmare stairs - so pack very light
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EmiGurl wrote a review Aug 2010
Adelaide, SA24 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I would never stay at this place or recommend it to anyone.
It is in a good spot, with the village bus on your doorstep but thats about the only good thing about it. The rooms were okay - had nice plasmas, heating was good. The beds and pillows were rock hard - very uncomfortable.

On arrival, we had to carry all our suitcases and luggage up three sets of steps - the first set being in the outside corridor - very slippery!! Then we were greeted by very UNHELPFUL, GRUMPY receptionists. It wouldnt hurt to smile from time to time and should especially make the effort when your surrounded by 'holidayers'. They made it have a very unwelcoming feel whenever walking past them. Also werent much help, or willing to help when asked questions about the area.

The bar on the third floor is pretty average, no atmosphere, dont even think its worth advertising - pretty crappy there. All they serve is pizza - average pizza and they're breakfasts are quite shameful - overcooked bake beans mixed with baloti beans? Seems as though they were trying to rashen on everything?!

As for hiring their equipment - DO NOT GO THERE. Go hire it from hoys, a 1 minute bus ride down the road, they're boards, boots etc are waaay better quality! We got the most shabbiest worn out snow boards and boots - my partners boots smelt of mold and had rips in them - we returned these, only to get a worse pair, we then went to Hoys and got a much better pair. On return of the boots from Arlberg, we explained that they werent clean as they smelt and they were very rude and not understanding. As if they would have liked to put their feet in someone else's sweaty moldy boots - GROSS.

We had a look around at some other places, and realised Arlberg was the worst - definetly not worth the money - if you can, spend a little extra to stay somewhere nicer. We really liked Hotham Central, lovely place, lovely people. Afterall, isnt that what you want when your on holiday?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mariewhite wrote a review Aug 2011
Perth, Australia44 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Arlberg Hotel with 5 friends for 7 nights in July/August 2011. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment. When looking at the website it looked like we were just getting one bathroom/toilet, 1 double bed and 4 bunk beds.
But when we arrived we were surprised and we got 2 bathrooms/toilets, 2 double beds (in 2 bedrooms) and 4 bunk beds on the Mez level. The apartment was very warm and good size drying cupboard.

It was great for 5 people. Small lounge room and kitchen, but was clean and we were all comfortable. The kitchen had a decent size fridge and lots of pots/pans, etc.

We were on level 6. and there is a entry on level 5 which allowed us to ski in and out to the main chair lift. Easy! So only had to walk/or catch lift down one lever every morning to start a day of skiing.

Arlberg was walking distance to everything, and a bus stop is right outside your front door. Great if you have kids and have to carry lots of gear or on cold nights and you want to go to the local bar down the road and/or watch the fireworks/night skiing.

Arlberg also has a supermarket (pretty small, and expensive, but that's expected), Pool, Spa and Sauna. Better than I expected. Pool was pretty big and sauna was toasty warm. and a restaurant. Nice pizza's and meals.

I would stay here again on my next trip to Mt Hotham.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
285alanar wrote a review June 2023
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Black mould around the carpet/ walls which staff came and sterilised once advised. No tea/coffee/ milk, shampoo or face washers provided. Rooms are outdated and don’t get serviced while you stay. Sauna wasn’t working. Grates on windows in rear- facing motel rooms feel very claustrophobic. Bunk Beds so uncomfortable and pillows / linen old. Good things are location, staff at Tirol sports, on-site restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
iyad9 wrote a review July 2021
Manila, Philippines5 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked their biggest accommodation on the 5th of July 2021. After carrying all our luggage on possibly the most challenging flight of stairs in Mt Hotham, we were welcomed to a rather untidy, definitely not covid-cleaned accommodation, with saggy mattresses and old, raggedy linens. The room and hotel itself were not well maintained and no customer service to speak with prior to our stay.

I suggest book elsewhere when in Mt Hotham. Don't make this your last resort even if it's available like we did. Our friends in another accommodation paid less for a much better accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lyndal B wrote a review Aug 2023
Adelaide, Australia25 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a lovely, clean, 1 bed room apartment. Unlike other reviews, apartment 006 had everything we needed and was nicely decorated with modern furnishings. The mattress and pillows were comfortable with different bedding options, and the view amazing! Although we didn’t ski, the apartment has ski storage facilities. Easy walk to Hotham Central or shuttle bus at the door. Very warm and comfortable
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mytravelsaround wrote a review Sept 2013
2 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this room for a late night stay. The room was servicable enough, it did the job i suppose. Besides the fact that we had to re-wash all of the dishes as they had food scum on most of them. The 'queen sized' bed was only 2 singles pushed together. The bar fridge was antiquated and noisey. Did i mention the silverfish (bug) i found in the cutlery drawer?
There are signs all over the hotel telling people to keep any noise down after 9pm. This rule does not apply to the hotel itself, as the bar saw fit to have parties on 2 nights until 1:30am. That meant we had to listen to the throb, throb, throb of bass until that time. So much for getting up at a decent time to enjoy the snow.
Any complaints were deflected off or received a weak 'sorry about that'.
Finally, if you required more than the one tiny hotel sized soap or 2 rolls of toilet paper (over our 4 night stay), you had to pay for it.
Please be wary of the elevators they have in service, you are taking your life into your own hands every time you enter it.

For me, it is an overpriced 'lesson learned' experience. I would rather sleep in my car than this place...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie T wrote a review Nov 2016
2 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Arlberg in Sep 2016. It was dirty, had broken furniture, understaffed, overflowing rubbish bins. In addition, my credit card was skimmed and used fraudulently while i was staying there. i believe someone working there might have been involved but of course i have no definite proof of that. I contacted management and posted a negative review for the Alrberg on TripAdvisor soon after my stay. My TripAdvisor review has been removed. Their 'marketing manager' has since sent unpleasant and intimidating emails and phonecalls in response. this is easily the worst hotel experience I've ever had. I shall continue to re-post this review so others can be warned.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ArlbergManagement, Marketing Manager at Arlberg Mt Hotham
Responded 24 Nov 2016
Hi Julie, I can certainly understand your frustration, however your previous review was removed by Trip Advisor due to the accusations of credit card fraud towards Arlberg staff without any proof or even an enquiry. As soon as we were made aware of your situation, through your previous review, we made multiple attempts to contact you to offer our support. We have continually expressed our willingness to help you & your bank investigate this issue. You are welcome to call us anytime (03) 5759 3618 Regarding the other negative aspects of your stay, we are sorry they affected your time with us and your snow experience. These are issues we would have rectified immediately if you were to make us aware at them time of your stay. This is certainly not indicative of our normally high standards of service at the Arlberg. If you have any other questions or want to discuss anything else further please contact us directly as we are happy to assist (03) 5759 3618 Chris Adcock Marketing Manager Arlberg Hotham marketing@arlberghotham.com.au (03) 5759 3618
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jacaranda9927 wrote a review July 2012
Brisbane, Australia158 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Arlberg apartments are situated in a convenient spot five minutes’ walk from Hotham Central and with a bus stop right outside so you can hop on and off the free Snow buses to all the areas within the mountain resort. Arlberg is not luxurious but it is clean and functional and had everything we needed for a week’s skiing holiday. We stayed in a one-bedroomed apartment which was compact but well laid-out. There was a small, modern kitchen area with full-sized cooker and the usual vacation-sized fridge. The kitchen was well-equipped with a microwave, toaster and sandwich-toaster, along with enough crockery, cutlery and utensils for our week’s holiday. The kitchen, dining and lounge areas were all-in-one room, all the furniture was fairly new. There was a balcony with great views across the mountains. The bedroom area was in the walk-through area between the entrance door and the lounge area. The beds consisted of two sets of bunks: one double with a single above plus a set of single bunks, so it could sleep five people but they are very close together so you need to be a family or very good friends! There were three of us so it was just right; we used one of the spare bunks for suitcase storage etc. However the mattresses weren’t very comfortable; they had big dips in them. There were two TVs, the main one with a DVD player in the lounge and a smaller one in the bedroom area. The shower room was modern, clean and nice and warm, as was the whole apartment. We had a small drying wardrobe to hang up all our ski stuff in overnight and there was a handy tray in the gap between the wardrobes where skis could be stored. I think that most of the apartments are privately owned so the furniture and fittings would be different in each one. Skiing in Australia is never cheap but compared to other places, Arlberg offers good value for money.

We paid for some of our dinners in advance when we made our accommodation reservation and these were taken in the Avalanche Bistro within Arlberg. There were three meal choices including a vegetarian option each evening (the menu changed daily) and it was good, tasty food such as chicken parmigiana, roast beef etc. A selection of home-made pizzas were also available and were excellent. The Bistro was rather uninspiring in appearance, but the staff were very friendly and accommodating and the food always arrived promptly.
There is a supermarket stocking all the basics within Arlberg, it is expensive but so are the other supermarkets on the mountain. The supermarket also has a small bottle-shop section and has a limited range of DVDs to hire. Other Arlberg facilities include a swimming pool and laundry room but we didn’t use either of those.

Another reviewer mentions the steep stairs up from the road into Arlberg and the unloading arrangements. We weren’t aware of these until we got there either but to be fair, it was mentioned on our booking confirmation amongst a lot of small print but I missed it. It would be helpful if that info was written in bold or something. What you need to know is: because Arlberg is set into the side of the mountain you need to unload everything from your car in the parking bays outside and climb a set of metal stairs (it’s all enclosed), then walk along a short concrete corridor before some more stairs up to the reception area. There are then lifts from reception to the rooms. You can’t leave your car outside Arlberg during your stay (the same is true of many of the other accommodation places), you have approx. 30 minutes to unload and then you then drive your car down to the overnight parking area about 7 minutes away (our car stayed there for the whole week) and get one of the free Snow buses back. The buses run very frequently until 3am so it wasn’t really a problem.

Another thing we missed in the small print was the fact that all vehicles entering Mt Hotham must have a Mt Hotham Resort Entry Permit, the details and prices are on the Mt Hotham website. Our week’s permit for the car was $276. The cost was a bit of a surprise but I can understand that the resort needs it to keep everything running smoothly. You can book the permit online in advance but we were using a hire car so didn’t know the car rego until the day we arrived. To register and pay for the permit on your arrival day you can either use your smart phone or there are a number of places that have dedicated iPads for the purpose; Arlberg has one, we used the one at Hoy Ski Hire in Dinner Plain on our way in. Speaking of Hoy’s, we hired all our boots, skis, helmets and poles etc. from them at their place near Hotham Central and everything was very clean and in excellent condition.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
freerider85 wrote a review Sept 2010
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and i stayed at Mt Hotham last week for the first time and had a great time!
The weather around the resort was awesome, had some nice sunny days!

There was only four of us so we stayed in a front facing room at the Arlberg and had a fantastic view of the valley and all the ski runs. The Hotel was right in the centre of everything and had easy access to the free bus (right outside the door!)

Our room was really cosy and included everything we wanted like a good TV and DVD player. The beds were clean and comfy and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook up some big meals. Got plenty of food and drinks from their supermarket!
The pool and spa was great way to relax after a hard day of skiing with my family.

We had dinner at the restaurant Avalanche and their pizzas were pretty amazing, good variety and friendly service as well.

It was so easy to pick up decent ski hire right next to reception, the guys in there were really helpful and experienced.

There was a friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel which made our holiday very enjoyable.
We will definately be back to the Arlberg next year, hopefully even later this season!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
iyad9 wrote a tip July 2021
Manila, Philippines5 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
Jet817737 wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"book mid-week"
Read full review
realock74 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Greater Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bedrooms are better then the studios"
Read full review
sullivangang wrote a tip July 2018
Sydney, Australia44 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a room on the front of the building and enjoy the view every morning and evening"
Read full review
Peta D wrote a tip Aug 2017
Melbourne, Australia12 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"front facing rooms have awesome views"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mount Hotham area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$457 - AU$680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMount Hotham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARLBERG MT HOTHAM - 2024 Prices & Reviews (Mount Hotham) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arlberg Mt Hotham
Which popular attractions are close to Arlberg Mt Hotham?
Nearby attractions include Mount Hotham Alpine Resort (0.2 km), Great Alpine Road (6.3 km), and Tirol Sports (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arlberg Mt Hotham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Arlberg Mt Hotham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Arlberg Mt Hotham?
Conveniently located restaurants include The General, The Bird Cafe, and Hoff Hut.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arlberg Mt Hotham?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Arlberg Mt Hotham located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Mount Hotham.
Does Arlberg Mt Hotham have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Mount Hotham HotelsMount Hotham Hotel DealsHotels near Arlberg Mt Hotham
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars