Crossways Historic Country Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Crossways Historic Country Inn

4 Woods Point Rd, Marysville, Victoria 3779 Australia
Cupboard, fridge and microwave
Traveller (6)
ensuite queen room
Room & Suite (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 ranch in Marysville
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
MARYSVILLE'S TREASURE - this wonderful 1920's CROSSWAYS COUNTRY INN has very comfortable and affordable accommodation for couples and families in self-cont cottage, 2 bedroom ensuite unit, twin unit and standard ensuite motel units. The delightful cottage-style units are all refurbished [2013] and have new split system heating/cooling, new flat screen TVs, new furnishings, very comfortable beds. tea/coffee/toast-making facilities.We are situated on the Steavenson River with the new state of the art childrens play-space across a walking bridge and close to shops; cafes; Lake Mountain for the snow season; outdoor swimming pool; many forest walking tracks; the wisteria walk and lake in Gallipoli Park; all in beautiful garden settings. Dinner for guests can be arranged here for large group bookings, also venue hire of function rooms for your special occasion- events, weddings etc. can be deliously catered for.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming

Location

4 Woods Point Rd, Marysville, Victoria 3779 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Essendon Airport
79.3 km
See all flights
Melbourne Airport
24Reviews0Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 9
  • 1
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SofiFM wrote a review July 2015
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stayed for 2 nights. The place is within walking distance to town and restaurants and a short 20min drive to Lake Mountain. Pam and Greg were welcoming and helpful. The cabin was comfortable, clean and the heating was great. I particularly loved the big bath in cabin 3. We had a lovely weekend and we will certainly be returning soon the the Crossways.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
christine_j643 wrote a review Jan 2013
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed in this beautiful town at Crossways a number of times over the years. I love to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the river, staying in very clean comfortable, cabin accommodation. The owners have a very good knowledge of the area, which is helpful when planning what to do in this picturesque part of Victoria. It is nice to see Marysville coming to life again after the 2009 bushfires. The new playground for children is a wonderful asset to the town, and is nearby, as is the well known Lolly Shop, where I get my fix of dark chocolate bullets.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve W wrote a review Jan 2017
Adelaide, Australia3,270 contributions158 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent the night here in a cabin while riding through the area. The owner was very helpful with the booking, and helped us select a cabin (there were a few spare on this night), and then gave information about the area and where to eat etc, which was all useful. The cabin itself was warm and accommodating, and had all the mod cons. Fantastic place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pamela P, Owner at Crossways Historic Country Inn
Responded 7 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review Steve. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers. Pam&Greg
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peppy K wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The bed was extremely small and uncomfortable and the cabin smelt of mould. The tap in the shower kept dripping. Definitely in need of renovations. The split system worked well. The outdoor area was nice and walking distance to restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernie M wrote a review Jan 2014
Tarneit, Australia5 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My Husband and I travelled to Marysville on Wednesday 1st January 2014. We rang the doorbell at around 2.30 as the door was locked we asked if a room was available for the night after checking the book you told us there was one and you gave us the key to number 2.My Husband filled out the form you gave him you asked us where we were from and proceeded to tell us about your big party the night before you informed us where to park the car and that was the end of conversation when we have checked in to other motels the propriotor has a general conversation of places of interest in the area and places that we might like to dine at,you did not promote the local area at all this surprised me as we have heard how the area needs visitors to help the ecconomy get back on track your promotional skills were non exsistant which was a shame as Marysville is such a quaint little town you did it no justice. communication skills were nil you didnt even tell us that you were not serving meals not even breakfast it is your duty to at least tell people that no meals are available as there was no place open in town we had toast for dinner not what you expect when you pay 125 dollars for the night. I have rated you so low for these reasons bedside lamps did not work and if the cleaner took the time to check the powerboard that they were connected to they would have known it was dead. there was spider webs in the shower, a crack in the shower screen [safeyt issue] the hot water kept re ajusting itself giving me a burn on my chest it changes to boiling hot on its own[safety issue] it was the most basic little room that I have ever spent 125 dollars on in all my travels. The location is wonderful but the the owners have a lot to learn.I know you will try to defend these issues but we stayed there and honestly this is my rating I will return to Marysville but never to Crossways. TRISH M.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret B wrote a review July 2011
Warnbro, Australia105 contributions33 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The advertised place bares little similarity to the reality. There was a restaurant and bar that didn't open. Given Marysville has little facilities for this since the bushfire it was incredible it wasn't open. We never set foot inside reception. We got there a bit early had to ring a mobile number that didn't get answered and left a message that didn't get answered. We returned at 2 to find still no one there. My husband found a cleaner and she told him the boss would be there in a minute. He came around the corner after having walked past the car several times. We didn't realize he was the boss and said "yes" Told him we were checking in. The room was not what I was expecting. Kitchenette consisted of a kettle and toaster a few cups and glasses. No knife to butter toast. Fridge. Cracked tiles on the floor in the bathroom. One very uncomfortable nights sleep, it smelt damp, and we left forfieting our second nights money. If the restaurant and bar had been open we probably would have stayed but we had to travel 14klms to get a meal that cost quite a lot for what it was. The charge for the room was over the top compared to anywhere else I have stayed. Not good value at all. It seemed strange that the town was very busy, school holidays and this place didn't open. There are conflicting reports I have found on the internet advertising the restaurant and others that say it is available for weddings and group bookings. In town at the visitor centre there was a card there advertising the place saying good food good coffee.Verandah cafe. Very confusing. I think guests should be told the place doesn't open. The bakery down the road was great but closed before dinner in the evening. Very good breakfasts. The owner was rude and disinterested. And as I said we never go to set foot inside reception. The bar, restaurant looked great. Shame it wasn't open!!!!! We wanted to support Marysville in its quest to recover fromt he fires. Crossways has the perfect venue that doesn't capitalise on the captive trade. The crossways Inn was very disappointing. We travel extensively and I have stayed in chalets similar but better with owners who are at least helpful. Would not recommend it at all. Especially with teenage kids. The Lake Mountain resort was fabulous and that was our reason for staying in Marysville. Next time we will go elsewhere. I do however wish Marysville well. It is definately worth a visit and the town is being rebuilt. Good luck Marysville.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pamela P, Owner at Crossways Historic Country Inn
Responded 16 Nov 2011
Thank you for your review. We are certainly sorry that you felt disappointment with the 2 bedroom motel unit that you booked as it is a favourite with many of our guests... both families and couples. As discussed when you rang for a reservation, the self-contained ' River Cottage' which perhaps was your preference, was not available as it books out many weeks before the winter snow season. We apologize that your quite early arrival found reception unattended, ....your 'expected arrival time' in our records was 'mid afternoon' and we ourselves were busy servicing units and cottages to be ready for the check-in time of 2pm... we did have contact with your husband inside reception where we filled in the registration forms and conversed pleasantly. Lack of staff in Marysville since Black Saturday has been a major problem in opening the large restaurant in the way it operated pre-fire, so many careful business decisions have had to be made during this recovery time... hopefully we will reopen by winter in 2012, maybe earlier. Thank you for your kind mention of our "perfect venue" .. it really is a wonderful treasure from the 1920's and a miracle that it still stands! We are working here with passion .. there have been many repairs to do since Feb'09 and 2012 will see 3 lovely new B&B units here facing the river and parkland along with further refurbishment of other units. Lake mountain restaurant was doing evening meals until 8pm or later during winter, and from the village here we are happy to arrange, on request from our guests, courtesy buses to nearby eating places. On friday night [your second night booked] another cafe was open in Marysville and we would have been delighted to direct you there. We would like to take this opportunity to thank our many guests who are returning frequently to support Crossways and the businesses in the Marysville region ... we have all had an enormous challenge to work through and the recovery and rebuild is moving positively for the future of the communities of Marysville and the Triangle. Best wishes, Pam and Greg [ owners ]
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I'mThere wrote a review Oct 2013
Melbourne Australia162 contributions50 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here this weekend to attend a conference. The greeting was poor. We were told the room had breakfast facilities . No bowls. Have you ever tried having a weet bix out of a cup? We thought having paid $135 per night that we would have someone clean our room each day. NO. We had taken up Weet bix for breakfast but the unit didnt have bowls. The Inn had no one around and the Inn seemed to be closed all weekend. NO hosts. Very disappointed. Marysville community needs support after 2009 fires. I will return to Marysville but will not be staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Look elsewhere Support Marysville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pamela P, Owner at Crossways Historic Country Inn
Responded 14 Oct 2013
We regret you and your lady friend did not enjoy your stay with us last weekend ... but l must put some facts straight. You were greeted at the front door ... in fact l opened the door and smiled as you approached, asked was your journey pleasant , we had a friendly exchange of conversation. l did say kettle/toaster/frig/some crockery&cutlery and usual motel facilities available in your room. We discussed options in the village for breakfast, or meals that were not catered for in your conference. The Inn is open and busy with accommodation... the restaurant is operating for functions and large group bookings only, most people understand the reason for this in Marysville at the present time. .. we are still living in this restaurant area while our house is being rebuilt, as well as 3 new units to add to tourism and accommodation needs. ... it is a long journey to recovery for us all. Meals at Crossways by arrangement could have been made with the Lions Club group, almost all our guests were part of the Lions Club and we would have been delighted to provide meals by prior arrangement if requested. It seems from your review the weetbix bowl issue was the biggest problem... Cereal bowls are certainly available ... my partner and l were here on site every moment of the weekend.... you only had to ask for anything extra you needed. Your room can certainly be serviced by ticking " service my room" on the registration form when you arrive, you did not do this, so we respected your privacy. Guests have always considered the price of $64.50 per head for this twin room is a very reasonable price for a stand alone, cottage-style and refurbished ensuite motel unit. You were obviously disgruntled as the room was left smelling of cigarette smoke and with choc cake crumbs trodden into the carpet, coffee spilt over bench etc..... We do advise that where ever you stay, a request for cereal bowls or any extra needs would happily be honored by accommodation operators , especially in these small country motels ... these are very small and easy wishes for us to satisfy, once we know these needs.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peterpan200 wrote a review Feb 2013
Frankston, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What do you get by staying at crossways Real Value for time and money spent at this age old establishment Pam &Greg are great hosts who will i see to your needs My friend & I are always sure of a welcome at this Inn that survived the fire. Memorabila within Crossways gives you a step back in time as you relax with freshly made coffee or a pot of tea The smell of clean bed linen as you tuck down for the night to enjoy the comfort of new mattress in a log style refurbished cottage complete with a Frig. Kettle, Toaster . plus cups & saucers & plates & cutlery to enable you to make snack tea or coffee. while you watch the latest installed T.V.etc. The place throughout is kept spotless in the grounds surrounding a safe play enviroment for youngster's Marysville is proud of Crossways and so are those who stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tobivan wrote a review Jan 2013
Sydney, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Crossways was the best Accomodation choice we made on our Victoria tour in 2012.
Pam and Greg are truly dedicated hosts who make you feel like family.
Long walks in the nature, Bruno's Garden and the the blossoming Marysville community promise many more visits to come.
Keep it up!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pamela r wrote a review Jan 2013
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sooo much history!Thank goodness "the Crossways" survived the fires. I have visited Marysville and stayed at Crossways since I was a child. Accommodation is authentic Marysville, quaint, clean + ,comfortable +, convenient, and a great getaway. Hospitality+, food and coffee great. Have taken friends and family and they just love it. So close to Melbourne and snow. Beautiful and relaxing in all seasons.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jess F wrote a tip Aug 2014
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms were very quiet and away from the main road. It was frustrating that there was no microwave though as we had bought dinner with us assuming nothing else would be open at that time of night (8pm). Heater works amazingly as well as the electric blankets!!"
Read full review
I'mThere wrote a tip Oct 2013
Melbourne Australia162 contributions50 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look elsewhere Support Marysville"
Read full review
IcookItravel wrote a tip Jan 2013
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can highly recommend the family unit!"
Read full review
Lee W wrote a tip Dec 2011
Melbourne, Australia70 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some cabins have one queen bed and two single beds, other cabins have two queen beds. Make sure you advise your preference."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marysville area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$173 - AU$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMarysville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROSSWAYS HISTORIC COUNTRY INN (AU$173): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Marysville) - Photos of Ranch - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Crossways Historic Country Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Crossways Historic Country Inn?
Nearby attractions include Gallipoli Park (0.2 km), Marysville Lolly Shop (0.1 km), and Marysville & District Historical Society (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crossways Historic Country Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, meeting rooms, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Crossways Historic Country Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crossways Historic Country Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fraga's Cafe, The Duck Inn Pub, and Elevation 423.
Is Crossways Historic Country Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Marysville.
Does Crossways Historic Country Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Is Crossways Historic Country Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Marysville HotelsMarysville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MarysvilleHotels near Crossways Historic Country Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars