Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant

394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381 Australia
Traveller (648)
Bed Bugs YUCK
Room & Suite (250)
Dining (51)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 4 motels in Halls Gap
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Grampians Motel is located less than 5 kilometres away from the buzzing Halls Gap precinct. Nestled in a peaceful valley, our 30 room property provides uninterrupted views of our beautiful mountain range in a serene atmosphere where you can sit back, relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer! Providing an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar, unwind on the deck after a day of adventures and enjoy watching the wildlife freely roam the property whilst enjoying a local wine. To keep the kiddies entertained, we also provide an inground swimming pool and playground. Two large BBQ's, an outdoor fire pit and a Guest laundry are also available to compliment your stay. Our clean and recently renovated rooms are generous in size and are equipped with toaster, kettle and microwave. Welcome to The Grampians Motel where you will want to extend your stay and return over and over again! Enter as strangers, leave as Friends!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
1,300Review7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 696
  • 362
  • 125
  • 52
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
molliieemoo wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia57 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere is everything, and this place has it in abundance! From driving up the long, wild kangaroo and emu lined driveway, to the friendly, funny and buoyant greeting from the man checking us in. We really felt welcome.
The rooms are basic motel rooms. They are not 5 star, but they do not claim to be. They are clean and comfortable. Great showers, great free wifi, great climate control with quiet with reverse cycle split systems, parking at the door. We paid for 2 basic rooms, but were put in the deluxe rooms, with large sliding doors, with wild cockies right outside. It was wonderful walking around the huge property, spotting wildlife and taking photos.
We had dinner in the restaurant. If you do nothing else in the Grampians, eat in this restaurant! The food was incredible, great prices, great service. The epitome of great country food and hospitality. I would return to Halls Gap, just to eat at this restaurant!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Since 02 February 2023, The Grampians Motel is under new management. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Regina G wrote a review Feb 2020
Taylors Lakes, Australia49 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I really had to think about this review because I had mixed feelings about our stay. The grounds are truly stunning and it's obvious allot of work goes into the up keep of the place. It was really wonderful to see so many animals wandering around and to my delight at got to hand feed some very cheeky cockys. The rooms are rather small which surprised me as the photos made them look much larger, however that is naught to complain over. Some thought had gone into the rooms with things such as tea and coffee, biscuits and free bottled water. The decor in our room was red and black and at first glance the room looked cosy and clean. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean. Old. But really well maintained. The spa was wonderful and almost worth the cost of the entire the room. (so good to soak after a day out hiking) the bed looked good but unfortunately was extremely hard. I have a chronic pain condition so this made it very difficult to get a good night's rest. There were some maintainance issues, the curtain were terribly stained and moldy and the room was quite dusty. As I grew up in the country I know how difficult it can be to keep control of dust so that wasn't a big bother to me. Also the smoke alarm was missing. I spoke with Brad who was courteous and quite obviously proud of the beauty of the place and rightly so. He explained they were still renovating when I mentioned the curtains and he seemed surprised by the missing smoke alarm. I would really love to stay at this motel again, unfortunately with the mattress situation I just couldn't. If the ripped and moldy curtains are replaced and the beds given new mattresses you wouldn't keep me away from this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Since 02 February 2023, The Grampians Motel is under new management. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly M wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean bedroom and bathroom with everything you need for a camping style get away; surrounded by nature, kangaroos, emus, wild life and mountains. Excellent outdoor area for a family BBQ and a pool with a view. Friendly customer service, attentive to any needs or requests that we had. Would highly recommend, for atmosphere and relaxation in a quiet and safe place this is a 10/10. Easy to locate. Location is half way in between Mt. Stugeon (for a day trip) and in between Mt Zero Picnic area (another day trip) and located at a close, stones throw away, from the iconic Pinnacle Lookout at Halls Gap. The Motel Host also has a great local knowledge of the area, who recommended some great trails and hikes for us, as we had never visited the area before. (But we will certainly come back).Thank you !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Excellent location for the Grampians National Park exploration
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brad Q, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Thank you, we do believe we are hard to beat with our 12 acres of wildlife and Bar and Restaurant on site. Look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bethany H wrote a review Jan 2021
10 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No wifi.
No tv channels work.
Bath is full of pathetic repairs and did not match photos, it also completely flooded the bathroom somehow and not through the broken off shower door, through the broken tiles.
Tiles around bath are coming off.
Bedside drawers don't work and are broken.
Heater doesn't work.
AC requires three separate power points, one is oddly labelled and not obvious to turn on, and even then no fan setting above 1 works, and the filter hasn't been cleaned in a long time.
Advertised breakfast but when we went they were closed and nobody told us it wasn't running (if you have it written in 4 separate place that you have breakfast, it's on you to tell customer's)
Sheets not washed and rinsed thoroughly because it's caused a reaction on skin, which doesn't happen so long as clothes are actually rinsed.
The fridge froze all of our foods and the milk causing us to throw a lot out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brad Quigan, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 8 Jan 2021
have checked, wifi works, no one else has said tv doesn't work perhaps it was not on proper signal, not sure what pathetic repairs? sorry we don't have shower doors, curtains you mean. our sheets are all hired as all of our linen not sure why rash. The fridge was probably set to high if it froze your meals it may have been a previous guests. will follow up with housekeeping to check.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aussie03 wrote a review Mar 2020
Mount Ommaney, Australia63 contributions83 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff member at reception was friendly but the motel room needs updating. The bed and the size of the room were ok, but the carpet and the bathroom were filthy. When there are old cobwebs that have not been removed you wonder when the room had its last thorough clean. It would be helpful if a bath mat could be provided so that when stepping out of the shower there aren‘t puddles left. The breakfast was overpriced. The food was good but the coffees shockingly bad. I would not choose to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Since 02 February 2023, The Grampians Motel is under new management. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GC Lou wrote a review Jan 2021
27 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I should have seen the warning signs when we arrived on meeting the extremely rude manager at reception. I struggled to get any form of normal communication from him without prompting. No people skills whatsoever. My first impression on entering the room was that we had the wrong room as it was nothing like what is advertised in the images online. The pictures of the standard rooms are not actual and highly deceptive. The smell was stifling. The room smelled like an old musty op shop. The windows were very hard to open due to the dirt in the tracks, the screens were black with grime and dirt. The carpet was old and looked dirty. The linen was thin, old and stained and did not smell clean, the beds were not made properly and we could feel the springs coming through the mattress. Furniture was dirty and dusty, fridge was frozen over and not working properly and also had old food caked on the top of it. Benches were sticky and wouldn't clean off. Toiletries are cheap liquid soap in dirty, mouldy dispensers on the wall. Mugs were all chipped around the edges and no cutlery. Our room was not cleaned during our whole stay, when I asked about it I was informed that the reason was that this is a covid policy. It was clearly evident that the rooms are not being cleaned to a satisfactory standard between visits, if at all except the beds being made and there is definitely a hygiene issue there where standards and procedures are not being followed. The TV remote was broken. The air conditioner was about 30 years old and high up above the door. Couldn't reach it if I wanted to turn it on. The room next door ran their air conditioner through the night that sounded like there was a car running right outside the window all night. The pool furniture was broken and mouldy and the tiles are chipped or broken and coming loose around the edge of the pool which is a safety issue. Halls gap is such a beautiful place and every experience we had was awesome except where we stayed. The views and surrounds were stunning, BUT, this establishments' standard accommodation is over rated to the extreme and needs to be investigated, I honestly can't believe that they are trading like this. This Motel is definitely a stain on Halls Gaps reputation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and book accommodation elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Since 02 February 2023, The Grampians Motel is under new management. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventurer605097 wrote a review July 2021
Box Hill, Australia5 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This property was a disgrace. As soon as we walked in the door it was evident that the owners had made no effort - the chairs themselves at the dining table were clearly damaged: all of them had big chunks of material ripped out of the top and on the seat. There were cobwebs. The tv did not work from the remote and required my husband to use his iphone as a torch to try and access buttons on the side to turn it on. There was a bloodstain on the pillow, mould in the shower and windows, bootprint with a squashed bug on the wall, blown light in the fridge, millipeds under the bed. There was an expectation that we would wash, dry and put away dishes without a teatowel being supplied. The whole place was filthy.
I didn’t even bother to contact the manager as the issues were so evident that there was clearly a conscious decision to have the room in this way.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Never stay in this room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brad Quigan, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 10 July 2021
sorry you felt not contacting us when you visited but when you got home you sent us a email threatening this was happening on tripadvisor. have to perhaps disagree with a lot of your accusations but we are disappointed you didn't contact whilst staying with us when we may have been able to rectify any or some problems..
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SueB4558 wrote a review Oct 2020
Melbourne, Australia11 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have never stayed in a motel before so perhaps our expectations were unrealistic. We thought we would not be spending much time in the room and it was reasonably priced but unfortunately we had terrible weather for our stay and as the only indoor attraction in the area, the Cultural Centre, was closed we ended up spending more time in the room. than planned. We paid extra for a mountain view but the reality was that we were looking at a tattered net curtain which you have to keep drawn if you want any privacy. The decor was outdated and tatty. I know it has been a very difficult year for the hospitality industry but considering the motel had been closed for a couple of months I would have expected it to be thoroughly cleaned and basic maintenance carried out. Instead our room had two blown lightbulbs, the windows were smeary with fingerprints, the soap dish had been broken off in the bathroom and the bathroom windowsill was covered in cobwebs and dead insects. The towels we were given were threadbare, in fact one had a large hole in it - I have thrown out better towels for my husband to use in the garage! We asked about breakfast in the Views Restaurant but were told it was closed due to COVID. However when we checked out two days later it had apparently reopened although no attempt to was made to advise the guests of this. However after having had a very ordinary meal in the restaurant the previous evening we were more than happy to go to the Flame Brothers in town for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brad Quigan, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 14 Nov 2020
will speak to laundry supplier about towels. you nay be perhaps best at a Hotel with room service and as you have not stayed at a Motel before this may have not helped with all you complaints but Halls Gap doesn't have any what you are obviously used of. thanks for taking time to write a review and I can assure you I have noted all you comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paula M wrote a review Oct 2020
Mont Albert, Australia29 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay. A little way out from the actual township and set back from the road with magnificent views. Wildlife abounds with there are beautiful walks around the property and beyond. The host was very engaging and the food at The Views Restaurant was delicious, with great wines at very reasonable prices. The only downside was that our room was dated and shabby and the bathroom needed some TLC. The price of our accommodation was very reasonable - we chose the budget option as we only stayed one night. We plan to come back to spend more time exploring the Grampians and will stay here again for longer and in an upgrade room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Since 02 February 2023, The Grampians Motel is under new management. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loki_crazycat wrote a review Oct 2020
Ballarat, Australia10,116 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night here and it was excellent value for money. Bed was comfortable. Decor is outdated, and unfortunately the power points in one half of the room were not working. Kettle could only be used in the bathroom because we had the heater on. Appreciated the toaster. Wi-fi was weak. The worst part was the lady from next door sitting and smoking in front of our room, with the door seals being completely inadequate to keep the smoke out, but what can you do?

Having spent only one night, and a cold and wet night at that, sadly we didn't get to enjoy the views or the roos (although we did see some lazing around nearby). We ate at the restaurant which was good and very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Since 02 February 2023, The Grampians Motel is under new management. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helmatt2312 asked a question June 2019
South Wales, United Kingdom26 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi - we are visiting from the UK in October- is it better to book with you directly. Thank you
Answer from Frogchick73
Melbourne288 contributions142 helpful votes
I’m not the hotel, so I would book via a booking website or the hotel website.
Answer from Tania Davey
Halls Gap, Australia3 contributions
Hi, Yes, Booking with me direct will give you a better option & possibly a better Price for your stay
Answer from Nathan A
14 contributions
Not sure what you mean, have travelled around a lot and this was a great spot. Being my first review on TripAdvisor, not sure what the relevance that is, still was very happy with this place.👍
Answer from Tania Davey
Halls Gap, Australia3 contributions
Our Bellfield Studio would be very suitable for the 3 of you. it is a 2 bedroom apartment with its own cooking facilities, small lounge area, bathroom and lovely decking out the front to enjoy the kangaroos. The price does not include Breakfast however if you book directly with us we are happy to do a better price for you.
Answer from Tania Davey
Halls Gap, Australia3 contributions
Yes there are appliances in each room. Tea / Coffee facilities, toaster, microwaves etc.
stuart c wrote a tip Jan 2024
15 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat early to avoid the wait but the area and wildlife are lovely"
Read full review
TravelerTrev wrote a tip Oct 2023
Southern Highlands, Australia152 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very accommodation country style management, a pleasant place to stay"
Read full review
edwin p wrote a tip Oct 2023
14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth finding this wonderful place."
Read full review
Rijntje H wrote a tip Mar 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in Advance if at all possible"
Read full review
Chillybilly wrote a tip Dec 2022
Ballarat, Australia298 contributions186 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check bed first Also take a delux room as best mountain view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Halls Gap area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$104 - AU$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grampians hotel halls gap
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGrampiansHalls Gap
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAMPIANS MOTEL & VIEWS RESTAURANT (AU$104): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Halls Gap) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include The Pinnacle (1.5 km), Boroka Lookout (5.3 km), and Grampians National Park (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coolas Ice Creamery, Livefast Lifestyle Cafe, and Paper Scissors Rock.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Halls Gap HotelsHalls Gap Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Halls GapHotels near The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars