Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge

Traveller (51)
Restaurant and bar
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 2 small hotels in Falls Creek
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge is the definition of a true mountain lodge featuring a huge stone open fire place, large leather couches with exceptional food, wine and ambiance. With recently upgraded suites and under new management we invite you to experience the dedicated, friendly service in one of Falls Creek’s finest boutique ski lodges.Our superb position on the highest street in Falls Creek provides true ski in - ski out access, quiet seclusion and spectacular views. Enjoy our exclusive mezzanine suites with a king size bed and amenities over two levels or our deluxe queen suites. Both have full size bathrooms with a bath for that relaxing soak. These suites have been designed for discerning guests who value space, refinement and privacy. Indulge yourself with the amazing flavours and aromas of our restaurant, and explore our wine list with over 200 fine wines. Spend the evening nestled by the roaring log fire with a glass of wine, curl up with a selection from our library or warm up and relax in our sauna or spa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

8 Schuss St, Falls Creek, Victoria 3699 Australia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Melbourne Airport
233.6 km
See all flights
98Reviews3Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 13
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TravellingChonyT wrote a review Dec 2020
Melbourne, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing few days at Falls Creek between Xmas and New Year and Summit Ridge was the perfect base.
Anne and Keith were warm, friendly and always ready to help with a smile.
Our mezzanine room was spacious and comfortable and the shared lounge was well appointed with loads of games and books.
The spa was great, even with the covid booking system and the ski and boot room seemed adequate also but not utilized this trip.
The restaurant had an excellent dinner menu and the food was delicious.
The lodge is well placed in the village with plenty of dining options in all directions.
We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy N wrote a review Jan 2021
Melbourne, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went in summer, so we were able to drive to the door of the Lodge and get settled before we parked at the bottom of the village. The Lodge is lovely with a beautiful room. Very clean and a huge bed. The view from the window was beautiful, full of snow gums and valleys. Breakfast was included and this was very good indeed. Staff were lovely and helpful. This was a great location in the village, close to most walking tracks and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gracey O wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was perfect. It was our first weekend getaway together. I was nervous but the ambiance of the hotel helped a lot with the jitters. The food, the view and the person your with already madr me happy, but us staying here made it feel more special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
daystravels wrote a review July 2014
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked our holiday based on Trip Advisor reviews and it is for that reason that I feel I need to write this review honestly.

This place was, in a word, disappointing. On booking, we were promised so many things for the children, none if which we found or were offered once we arrived.

Firstly - the fire was either not on or burning out. The restaurant was often cold. The waitress at breakfast was really rude to us. It was as if we had interrupted her to order breakfast. And changing my kids order from poached eggs to fried eggs was a huge issue, "alterations to the menu add time". Well, I should've listened to her warning. We waited 1 hour for breakfast! Needless to say, even though we had paid for breakfast every morning, we went elsewhere. That is precious time on the slopes.

The rooms. We had a mezzanine room. It was FREEZING on the top level. No heating up there at all. Not to mention the dangerous ladder to get up to the top floor. With my children it was a worry.

The shower temp was a battle every day. Either freezing cold or boiling hot. So annoying with 6 of us to shower, just took forever.

The TV in the room didn't work properly. The reception kept dropping out.

Anne was lovely. Although our plates were taken while we were still eating on our first night, the food in the restaurant was very good. Just don't make any changes to the menu! God forbid you like your eggs fried rather than poached.

Normally in a lodge, the owners will come and ask how your day was, what runs you did etc. Keith couldn't have been more absent if he wasn't there. And when we did see him we hardly got an acknowledgement. Anne was ever present and a very lovely lady.

There are so many other little things that i don't have time to mention, but it was just overall disappointing. I'm really surprised that it is number 1 on here. Makes me wonder actually.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keith A, Owner at Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Responded 28 July 2014
Hi Daina and I'm disappointed that you didn't voice any concerns or ask for assistance while you were staying here from either Anne or myself ---we are always keen to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us and do whatever we can to rectify any problems. The kids amenities are freely available ( and used by ) all the kids in the lodge. The fire is in our lounge area is a real fire --it dies down and goes out occasionally --guests are welcome to put another log on or give it a poke! Also we get guests from Queensland and Tasmania --some find the lodge too hot and some find it too cold --all you had to do was ask for a heater and extra blankets/doonas which we have plenty of. When the lodge is full and everybody is having a shower or breakfast at the same time there are occasional issues in keeping up with demand but we try hard to get everyone out on the slopes in a timely manner and so I apologise for any inconvenience experienced in what is our busiest week of the season. I hope this poor review was not a result of me refusing a refund when on the second day here your kids were tired and not enjoying the skiing experience and you wanted to go home a day early --- . The weather was fairly poor and I'm sorry your kids did not have a good time on the slopes but I don't have any control over that!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NikNakRoyMac wrote a review May 2012
Meekatharra, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The best thing about this place is the food - world class and consitently brillant!! The rooms however are another story - average at best - no way are the mezzanine rooms 4.5 stars - old and dated and not at all comforatable. However, I can't say enough about the restaurant here - truly sensational - we had a package that included a 2 course dinner every night and as there were 4 of us, we worked our way through the menu during our 6 night stay - not a dud to be found!! Would stay there again for the food alone!!

Falls Creek in general was a nice place, and the skiiing was surprisingly good, however there needs to be a general attitude adjustment with regards to service provision all round as most service was provided with disinterest and surliness (talking oversnow drivers, shop staff etc NOT the staff at Summit Ridge) which really is unacceptable considering the high prices of everything at Australian snow resorts
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
motswari wrote a review Aug 2010
south africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a mez room for 3 nights. Great location with ski in/out. Helpful and friendly staff and the food was sensational. I am a Cordon Bleu trained cook and I could not fault our dinners - truly delicious and a good wine list. The Mez room are smaller than they look on the net and a very steep ladder. Comfortable king size bed but the decor a little dated - some fresh white linen and larger towels could go a long way! Bathroom basic standard motel/hotel style but the bath is not full length for the tall folk like me. We had a white-out, windy day so did not go up the mountain and got an in- house massage which was pricey ( as you would expect ) but very good. TV VERY SMALL and not great reception but you can cope with that. Breakfast was fine and generally a nice warm atmosphere it was a shame you could not relax in front of the fire during the day as the dining room/sitting area is closed after breakfast until the evening. One thing that drove me mad was the Beatles music at every breakfast! There is another small, lounge for guests but not that cosy. I would certainly go again - not 5 * but very comfortable and good on all fronts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rithom wrote a review June 2010
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, after my partner and I booked our holiday ski package we began to read reviews of the Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge and noticed some varying differences with personal accounts of their stays, so we had to wait and see for ourselves so that we may form our own opinion. On our return we were motivated to provide our own review, which, we hope, will appeal to anyone who appreciates a carefree, no-fuss, holiday.

The accommodation: Adequate. This may seem like a dull turn to use, but what I am saying is that if you are looking for a spacious 5 star resort room you may be a little dissappointed. Having never been skiing before I had no idea what to expect, but my partner told me that this far exceeded any ski lodge she had stayed at for a similar price. Adequate was all we needed. We had a lounge to sit on to watch TV. We had a roomy bathroom with a bath; and for those who have returned from a day of skiing will know - a hot, deep bath is possibly the most relaxing and soothing luxury imaginable. Upstairs was a king size bed - again very rewarding at the end of a day on the slopes. Each window in the lodge has beautiful views; whether it be from the restaurant or from our room. There was plenty of space to hang and stack our clothes, a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and pretty much everything that we needed. It was modern, clean, fresh and serviced as often as we wanted.

The restaurant: Possibly the most superb food I have ever tasted. We knew that the restaurant had won many awards, so the expectation was high. The food excelled our expectations. We tried nearly everything on the menu and was surprised at how perfect the flavours came together. They have a huge range of some of the best quality wines available, and were able to match a wine to perfectly compliment each course.

The staff: This is what will make the difference between a wonderful, memorable experience and a holiday easily forgotten. The hosts were superb. Their professionalism and attention to detail ensured that we were looked after and had everything that we needed. Each member of the "team" were exceptional in their helpful service and friendly manner. If we needed to employ staff, we would have stolen them all! Thank you all so much for the above and beyond service and help you provided.

The experience: My partner and I would wake up in the morning, wander dow to the restaurant for a beautiful cooked breakfast, grab our ski gear and head for the slopes. Then at the end of the day we'd return from the slopes, leave our ski gear in the drying room, stagger to our room, have a bath and a glass of wine before dinner. We would spend much of the day deciding what wonderful meal we would have that night. We then would have an after dinner drink on the lounge by the fire, before making our way to our heated room for a cosy night in. Each guest we bumped into during the day made similar raving comments.

The conclusion: We loved it, and will definately return again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dwwa wrote a review Nov 2012
australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here at the beginning of the snow season and had the place to ourselves. Keith and Ann really looked after us. The room was cosy, the spa was hot, but the highlight was the dinner each night - every dish we tried was fantastic. I highly recommend Summit Ridge and can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
thegormet wrote a review June 2010
Adelaide
2.0 of 5 bubbles
They sell it as a 4 and a half star resort.The rooms are 2 to 3 star at best, mezzanine style , VERY SMALL, and very dated. Frankly a shade above backpacker standard in my opinion.
The resturant is the only thing this property has going for it and even that is over hyped by managment.
Service is inconsistant, Wendy is nice however the less said about Simon the better. Given the price vs the standardMy advise would be , stay elswhere and check in to the resturant while your up there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jethre wrote a review July 2013
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What can be said about Summit Ridge that hasn't already been said? We've just had 5 sensational days here with our two eight year old boys and we honestly couldn't fault the place. Keith and Ann were wonderful hosts; they know all their guests' names and because it's such an intimate lodge, everyone gets to know each other and you really do feel part of a big family. There are so many little things that make Summit Ridge special - the food, the staff, the local knowledge; everything just happens without any fuss. One of our boys fell ill towards the end of our stay and Keith drove us to the clinic - it's this sort of service that will keep us coming back to Summit Ridge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GirlNextDoor24 wrote a tip July 2021
Melbourne8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the room layout before booking."
Read full review
peter c wrote a tip Sept 2019
Melbourne, Australia23 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I'd go for the rooms on the lower level - where the drying room, sauna and spa are all located"
Read full review
Eve H wrote a tip July 2019
Torquay14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms lovely"
Read full review
Steve W wrote a tip July 2016
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mezzanine suites have amazing loft views of Spion Kopje"
Read full review
Mattie_J_84 wrote a tip June 2016
Frankfurt, Germany5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you take a moment to enjoy the spa and sauna on the lower floor, very relaxing!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Falls Creek area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$530 - AU$918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
summit falls creek, summit ridge alpine hotel, falls creek summit
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaFalls Creek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUMMIT RIDGE ALPINE LODGE: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Falls Creek) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Falls Creek Alpine Resort (0.2 km) and Falls Creek Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milch Cafe Bar, Bob Sugar at Elk Falls Creek, and Someplace Else Bar and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Falls Creek.
Are any cleaning services offered at Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Falls Creek HotelsFalls Creek Hotel DealsHotels near Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars