We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park

Hotels.comUSD 76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 328: English reviews
Start your review of Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park
 Click to rate
Melbourne
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We asked for a lakeside site on the phone but were told that it was too wet. There had been no rain and we were given a site in a crowded part of the park and looked straight into a neighbouring caravan. We were not offered a choice of site and rather briskly ushered into a small and quite difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A glorious location on Lake side - but disappointing accommodation - sites SO squashed together - some of the smallest we've experienced - and no pads or ground covers so everything very gritty and muddy underfoot. Amenities block was very clean and well equipped but sites where you couldn't move spoilt the whole experience. We stayed 1 night of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris43bh3
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not stay for your 3 nights. We are disappointed that you did not come and talk to us about this. We would have happily moved you to an alternative site. We have sites with concrete slabs as well as grassy sites. We have over 50 powered sites, so I am sure we...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at your park last week in one of your cabins and paid extra for a lake view only to have a caravan parked right in front of the lake a day later, taking away our lake view. We were very disappointed and said so to your receptionist who seemed to not care. I think if you pay extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laine452
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

We are sorry for your disappointment. We feel that the park is well laid out for everyone to enjoy the view of the lake, both cabins and caravan sites. The sites are a long way from the cabins, so we don't feel that they 'block' the view in any way. You spoke to me at reception and I took certainly...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Lake Cabin #2 and while it is right on the tnry road to get to the main office, our fears of it being noisy were unfounded. In fact a rowdy group of teens marauding with spotlights on our second night was the worst example of noise we encountered. Certainly after ten it's quiet and easy to sleep....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bckpckrau
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The standard cabins are very basic with a tiny closet style shower and small TV. No Wi-Fi. Very strange and inconvenient parking arrangements - You park outside and directly facing your neighbour's cabin rather than outside your own cabin. Makes it look like someone is already in your cabin when you arrive. It also means your neighbour's look directly into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justgivemeanumber
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Our standard cabins provide basic facilities but are spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Vehicle car parks are located at the rear of each cabin. We have WIFI - we provide a complimentary hour of WIFI to every cabin / site on a daily basis, you just need to collect...

Blaxland, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last year and it is as lovely as it was before. Every caravan that comes in is escorted to their site and helped park the van. The service is friendly and helpful. The park is very well maintained and the facilities are great. You can also have a fire pit and wood delivered to your site for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our park. We are glad you enjoy our personalised service by escorting every caravan to their site and helping to park the van. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback.

Mandurah, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice park, set next to a lake and amongst the most beautiful deciduous trees. This was a very very surprisingly beautiful park in autumn with all the leaves falling. Management were very friendly including giving instruction at the site on parking our caravan. Ablutions were clean and well-maintained, with even some funny posts behind the doors to keep you entertained....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryLoverWA
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lake Sambell caravan park is a lovely park to stay at, within walking distance of Beechworth. It is very central for exploring the area. Peter and Sue, who manage the park were lovely. The facilities are very good with a good sized camp kitchen and clean bathrooms. There is a lovely walk along the lake, made even more magical because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cailin_Dearg28
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are Roger and Sue and we have owned the park for 11 years next month. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, you were here at a good time as the autumn leaves are always beautiful to see.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lake Sambell Caravan Park is set on a lovely little lake just a short walk from the centre of Beechworth. The sites are spacious and clean. The proprietors are helpful, friendly and help instruct you with the reversing of your van onto the site. The amenities are clean and spacious. The showers were wonderful. It is a wonderful caravan park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

You have summed up everything we offer at our park within your review. So thankyou, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your very kind review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here twice now. The first time I was overnight passing through to my destination. This time, Beechworth WAS my destination. We had a powered caravan site with a view of the lake over the March long-weekend. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who assisted us to our site. Once setup we were able to light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jurassic4wd
SueHBeechworth, Owner at Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again. People love to have a camp fire at their site, and we can supply the wood and drum, or some choose to bring their own. Either way, there is nothing better than a warm fire to sit and watch on a lovely evening overlooking Lake Sambell. We...

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.4 km away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
335 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
1.3 km away
Beechworth Holiday Park
Beechworth Holiday Park
#9 of 15 in Beechworth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
351 reviews
1.6 km away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#11 of 14 in Beechworth
67 reviews
1.5 km away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park is within walking distance to the centre of historic Beechworth. The park offers clean amenities, BBQs, campers kitchen, playground, mini-golf, over 100 powered and unpowered sites, 16 fully self contained en-suite cabins and 3 on-site caravans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park

Address: 20 Peach Drive, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay extra for lake views”
laine452, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“variety of sites, under trees, isolated, near the lake”
karenf333, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It's not a hotel.”
johnoT4079NA, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sites along the creek are fantastic....”
LauraJLo, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are a variety of cabins, our son had the Lakeview Villa - 2 bedroom ; while we had a powered caravan site.”
  • Oldest family member site - seen from cabin area.
  • View from our son's cabin on our site.
596StephenW, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 76* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 76
Ctrip.comUSD 79
Expedia.comUSD 76
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates