We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hughenden Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
14 Queen St, Sydney, New South Wales 2025 Australia
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Lol.travel
Agoda.com
USD 111
View Deal
Free cancellation until 16/06/21
Expedia.comUSD 140
Booking.comUSD 126
eDreamsUSD 126
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (42)
360
Panoramas (10)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Updated 19/05/20

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Woollahra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The award winning Hughenden (circa 1870) is a gracious historic hotel at the heart of Woollahra, in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs. Associated with Australia's first philosopher, The Hughenden experienced many changes from grand residence to Masonic Hall to Ladies College. In 1993, The Hughenden commenced a programme of extensive restoration, redeveloping it into a beautiful boutique hotel. The last refurbishment in 2017 refreshed the hotel whilst preserving its old-world grandeur and character. The historic features such as the marble fireplaces, the original grand staircase, and servant bells are still prevalent today. Visitors are welcome to experience the warmth, charm and personal service offered by our hotel. With 32 Heritage Rooms, Pet Friendly Accommodation, Cafe, Lounge Bar and Event spaces, The Hughenden has unique offerings for all to experience and enjoy.
Read more
Room & Suite (227)227
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Nepali and 1 more
98Reviews1Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 30
  • 15
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LindiLou1960 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand48 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We booked purely for location near Centennial Park for a music festival. Desk staff were lovely. Carried luggage - the hotel is old and a maze of stairs, if you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room. Lovely room, small but had everything needed. Small gripe about shower - fixed head and way above me so quite weak by time it hit my body! Also window opened onto public thoroughfare so had to be aware of not baring all to other residents. Basic breakfast included - toast, cereals, juice, coffee - everything needed to set you up for the day. Cooked available at extra cost. Nice Eggs Benedict! Perfectly located for shopping at top of Paddington & not far from Bondi Junction. Would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Responded 21 Dec. 2019
Hello LindiLou We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience overall and that you enjoyed the very convenient location of our hotel and our friendly service. The Hughenden Hotel is a charming hotel built in 1878 with no two rooms the same, among 9 different room types there is plenty of options to choose from. When staying it is best to discuss the options with our always friendly and helpful staff. That way you can ensure we allocate you into a room that best suit your needs so you can stay in the best comfort. Looking forward to welcome you to The Hughenden again.
Read more
Des S wrote a review Dec. 2019
Sydney, Australia44 contributions7 helpful votes
Spent a very pleasant weekend at the Hughenden in November. Loved the old world charm of the place, very clean room, comfortable bed, great continental breakfast included, very friendly service from all the staff, excellent coffee from coffee cart out front and easy walk to the Moore Park Entertainment precinct to see Cirque du Soleil. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 Dec. 2019
We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel and We much appreciate that you took the time to write us this lovely review. Looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home again :)
Read more
Mav wrote a review Nov. 2019
Singapore, Singapore77 contributions42 helpful votes
Staying is a slice of historic grandeur is the best way describe a stay at The Hughenden. I had room 23, which was huge with a massive king bed super comfy with a soaring high ceiling, old ornate fireplace and comfy lounge. The location in Superb being a short walk to the village atmosphere of Woollahra with it's cafes, pubs and restaurants. Queen street is home to many creative boutiques and this residential tree lined street make ones stay delightful. The Hotel also has a big car-park if driving and there is a great cafe at at the front facing Queen Street. A super inner city location within an exceptional residential area, only minutes to Sydney's CBD, The Eastern Suburbs & beaches and Airport.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 Dec. 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed the very convenient location of our hotel and the charm of the building. Looking forward to welcoming you to the Hughenden again.
Read more
James N wrote a review Nov. 2019
London, United Kingdom39 contributions45 helpful votes
Firstly, the staff were excellent - nice balance of relaxed and respectful. The breakfast was slightly limited, but excellent if you like croissants, English muffins, ham, cheese, muesli and fresh juice with bits. The hotel is a lovely grand old building, and the lounge a fine place to sit with tea / coffee. There is a sun terrace upstairs with tables and chairs again for chilling with tea/coffee. Our room was 29, upstairs and through the rabbit warren of corridors. The bed was very comfortable, and it was stylish, but traffic noise was a slight issue in the morning. The main problem was the en-suite bathroom. It was just too small. The shower pressure was poor, and the sink minuscule - you couldn’t help but make a mess. I have no idea if this was unique to our room, or the
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 Dec. 2019
Hello James, We really appreciate that you took the time to write us this detailed review. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience overall, that our team made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. The Hughenden Hotel is a charming hotel built in 1878 with no two rooms the same, the double and queen size rooms do have a small bathroom but we have other king size room types that would probably accommodate you better. When staying with us it is best to discuss the options with our always friendly and helpful staff so they can recommend the room that best suit your needs. That way you can stay in comfort and do not leave the hotel unhappy with your stay. The hot water has never been an issue in our hotel and we didn't get any other complaints since you left but we will definitely investigate the issue in the room that you have stayed in. Looking forward to welcoming you to the Hughenden again.
Read more
butterflygirl54 wrote a review Nov. 2019
Australia224 contributions154 helpful votes
This hotel is pretty good but the parking issue we had didn't make me give it a high rating. OK, so we booked thru HotelsCombined.com and it wasn't direct on your website but we have the choice to do so right? When I checked in I said I need to park my car only to be told that we couldn't as the carpark is full and we had to book it in advance. Well we weren't aware of this and was told that it is on your website. Well if I booked my accommodation thru an external website why would I need to go onto yours as well. It is not necessary. I was told to park outside where its 2 hr limit and move it every 2 hrs. I couldn't believe I was told that and how pathetic that was to suggest this as its not something we could do. This advise was so poor I couldn't believe it. I asked her
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheHughendenHotel, General Manager at The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 Dec. 2019
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am deeply sorry to hear about your overall dissatisfaction. Unfortunately, we only have 12 spots on site and we do require a booking otherwise we cannot guarantee guests a spot. I really appreciate that you have brought this to our attention because HotelsCombined is an Expedia Partner meaning that we don't have a listing with them but they simply copy our Expedia listing. We are contacting Expedia right now so they can fix the information because on Expedia it is clearly stated that we require a booking at $33 per night while on HotelsCombined it only says "parking available" which is an issue, I agree. We apologize for all the inconvenience that this might have caused you, we will ensure that it does not happen again.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
USD 89 - USD 140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel hughenden boutique, hughenden boutique sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyWoollahra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing