We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hughenden Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hughenden Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked a 'Standard' room because the 'Cosy' ones sounded rather small. But the room we were given was tiny anyway, hardly any space around the double bed. If you'd opened your suitcase on the stand, for example, it would have blocked your way to the bathroom. There was an ironing board on small legs in the cupboard - but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I spent a week at The Hughenden with another couple from NZ and our sons while watching the Ashes Cricket Test. The staff were helpful, charming and professional. Unfortunately our Terrace Room overlooked the main intersection which meant going outside with our friends for a drink in the evening was impossible due to the loud traffic noise....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HotPeanut65
Lancashire
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel wasn't for us. If you like shabby chic, quirky bohemian style then I can see the attraction of the main part of the hotel. But the bedroom accommodation is dire. We had been told that the 'cosy' bedrooms were very small so we opted for a Terrace apartment (T7). This was in a separate building across the road....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDMLancashire
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned after a night at the Hughenden. This was a special night away to celebrate my husbands birthday. We chose Room 23 , one of the larger rooms that had been renovated. We have had lunch and dinner there once before, and had sent my son and his partner there for a package once before, so we were really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen m
Jered M, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karen M Thanks for taking to time to review The Hughenden, we always appreciate feedback from guests, and it is especially rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We are glad that your husband enjoyed his birthday, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of some of the quieter nooks of the...

Houston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was a huge disappointment, my wife and I had been really looking forward to staying in this hotel for some time. We had booked a standard room, as we were out sightseeing most of the day. The first room they gave us was tiny, the shower room was just a small cupboard. In fairness they gave us a larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewen A
Jered M, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ewen A Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. As you are aware from your recent stay, the hotel is in the midst of a significant refurbishment program. At the time that you booked, you were offered to stay in one of our fully refurbished rooms or suites. You chose to benefit from a discounted rate and...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A great place to stay in Sydney is the Hughenden Hotel (http://thehughenden.com.au). It was a family residence built in the 1870’s which renowned children’s author Susanne Gervay and family has turned into a boutique hotel. It feels more like a home away from home than a hotel. Each room is different and breakfast is included. The hotel is filled with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaynezak
Jered M, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jaynezak Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is always very rewarding to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hughenden next time you travel to Sydney. As with all of our guests, if there is ever any way that we can make your stay more enjoyable, please let us...

Reviewed 7 December 2013

My twin sister and I stayed here as it was pretty close to the Allianz stadium as we were seeing Taylor Swift. I love buildings that are rich in history and so this seemed like the perfect place. The outside of the hotel is very beautiful and I like how the restaurant has an outdoor seating option. The inside did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cayce21
Jered M, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cayce21 Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We try our best to ensure that every guest has a great stay, and it is always very rewarding to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hughenden next time you travel to Sydney. As with all of our guests, if there is...

Sydney
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Super little gem very much a home away from home and so close to everything the Eastern Suburbs has to offer. If you are sick of the same old sterile kind of hotels check this place out and you will love it. Price included breakfast, free newspapers, lovely outdoor setting to enjoy breakfast. It's different, but that's exactly why you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gohugo
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I loved this hotel experience. The hotel is quirky, full of hidden gems, rich with history and a perfect place for writers! A literary boutique experience. The ambiance transported you back to long ago. The artwork and decor I found most inspiring. Along with that, there is a French restaurant attached, which was booked out on a Tuesday night! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne K
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband booked a room here for us for 1 night. Having read the reviews here the day before checking in, I was a bit concerned, but is needn't have worried! The hotel itself is lovely, and we received excellent service on check-in. Our room was lovely - clean, comfortable and with a nice deep bath in the ensuite. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank F0xf0rce5

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollahra
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#94 of 179 in Sydney
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Bay
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award winning Hughenden (circa 1870) is a gracious historic hotel at the gateway to the antiques and art galleries of Woollahra, in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs. Associated with Australia's first philosopher, The Hughenden experienced many changes from grand residence to Masonic Hall to Ladies College. In 1993, The Hughenden commenced a programme of extensive restoration, redeveloping it into a beautiful boutique hotel.Today, The Hughenden, known as Sydney's premier Art and Literary Hotel, features marble fireplaces, the original grand staircase, Victorian dining rooms, art exhibitions and literary events.Visitors are welcome to experience the warmth, charm and personal service offered by The Hughenden. With 36 Heritage Rooms, 8 self contained Terrace Suites, Pet Friendly Accommodation, Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Meeting, Event and Wedding facilities, The Hughenden has unique offerings for all to experience and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hughenden Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Queen St, Woollahra, New South Wales 2025, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra
Price Range: $159 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hughenden Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hughenden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hughenden Boutique
Hughenden Boutique Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hughenden Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hughenden Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 30, which was a "cozy room" but it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Quack_quack_quackl, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take the standard room only. Enjoy this beautiful hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 949jennyr, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cosy rooms are small but ... Well - cosy !!”
 of 5 bubbles C1910SCkims, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 11, 12, and 19 are all great”
 of 5 bubbles BrianO437, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't get landed with room 14 - the fountain outside goes all night”
 of 5 bubbles HGDaily, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5