Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

St. Leonards Mansions

7 Park Rd, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065 Australia
facade
Traveller (9)
View of the city from the backyard. It's far away.
Room & Suite (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 2 motels in St Leonards
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in St Leonards? Then look no further than St. Leonards Mansions, a budget friendly motel that brings the best of St Leonards to your doorstep.

The rooms offer a refrigerator, a kitchenette, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as paid internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

St. Leonards Mansions features room service. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the cafes, including Sure Cafe, The Moody Chef, and The Wooden Whisk, all of which are a short distance from St. Leonards Mansions.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at St. Leonards Mansions as you experience everything St Leonards has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

7 Park Rd, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065 Australia
18Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Debaditya Gupta wrote a review May 2021
Mumbai, India2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is very nice and convenient for both business travellers and family stay. Close to St Leonards station and shops. Bus stop is close-by and 15 minutes bus ride to CBD. The owners are also kind and co-operative... Highly recommended...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary-Jay7 wrote a review Feb 2012
London, United Kingdom10 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Mansions in the first week of December and we can't recommend it highly enough. We didn't arrive until 11pm on the Saturday night but there was no hassle checking in or anything. The room was a standard double, it was just what we needed after a long flight and for our 12 days in Sydney.

The room had foxtel and the boys who showed us to our room gave us a quick run through of how it all worked and left us to our own devices. The room itself was a really good size, more than enough space for the two of us and great value.

The location is great, Sydney is quite an accessible city anyway but the Mansions is only a five minute walk from St Leonards station which is roughly 10 mins into the city and all the tourist hot spots.

A nice touch is the bird table to the side of the house which has a range of parrots and other birds throughout the day.

I would definitely stay here again if we come back to Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anukoool wrote a review Apr 2014
New Delhi, India22 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in this Lodge for around two weeks while on a Business Trip. Following were the things which i liked about the place
1) The location was good, St Leonards station is around 400 mts of walking distance from this place. Once can easily reach anywhere in City considering its vicinity to station.
2) Overall room price is quite competitive as compared to rest of the places.
3) Room has all the amenities like Toaster, Tea Kettle, Microwave, Cutlery, Refrigerator etc
4) Owners try to help out as best as they can.

Few areas which can be improved are:-
1) I asked for an ensuite room, however they gave me a double room with shared bathroom
2) There was no Air conditioner in my room, other rooms in their mansion and adjacent property had ACs. At times during the day it used to be hot inside the room increasing the desperation for temperature control
3) They could not provide me another room in spite of multiple requests i made.
4) One two three occasions bathrooms and toilet were not clean. Housekeeping/Room service for weekly stays is available only once in a week
5) The Cutlery provided was not clean, previous guests didn't clean it and housekeeping didn't bother to look at it.
6) Room in which i stayed was not very well ventilated.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rooms towards the front side of mansion which faces the road are good. Additionally, ensuite...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelinPhotographer wrote a review Jan 2008
Zurich, Switzerland61 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfriendly and abrupt treatment by the owner, unwillingness to help and very old dilapidated buildings.

When I arrived at the address, there was no staff available, simply an envelope with my name stuck to the gate - that had a key inside. The impressive mansion seems to be the residence of the owner, and the rooms for rent are in a different building, that has not seen an upgrade in the last 30 years. The same goes for the utilities inside the room, it's extremely old and used, but it is still in functioning order.

The instructions for Internet stated that there is an Internet port on the phone, but there was no cable to connect my laptop to the socket. When I asked the owner for this cable, he told me that he works 7 days a week, and it's now 10pm on a Sunday night, and that he wants to get some sleep - and that I should not bother him, but to try again tomorrow when he has more patience. I urged him that he is providing a service for a price, and that it was his own choice to work 7 days a week - upon which he simply turned around - walked away and closed the door in my face.

Breakfast is a basic set of 2 white bread slices, some butter and jam, as well as a small box of breakfast cereal and a single serving of milk. If they were more friendly and helpful, I might consider to go again, but this was my last stay at this place, and I urge anyone to first seek accommodation elsewhere..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2008
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from themansions1, Owner at St. Leonards Mansions
Responded 14 June 2010
We're sincerely regretful that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Mansions. This is a family-run business, and during February of 2008 our son died and we had a great deal of stress and emotional hardship. This should not have affected your stay, and we apologise for your feelings that our care for you wasn't as warm as it should have been. By the same token, we feel we should point out that you did visit the Office outside of business hours - we are open 7am to 7pm every day, and it is necessary to close the office outside of these hours for anything except emergencies such as a guest being locked out of their room. Once again, we would like to personally apologise for any rudeness towards you. We hope that you do visit again, so we will be able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you soon. Regards, Bob and Helen Wynen.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hasimaq wrote a review Mar 2015
Alexandria, Egypt3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I enjoyed staying at St Leonards. It was close to the station and was clean and tidy for a good price. We spent most of all day in the city and our room was a nice quiet place to come home to in the evening. Ate out at the Indian Restaurant and that was a good handy place as well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew F wrote a review July 2013
London, United Kingdom1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the St Leonards Mansions for almost 2 years, with a couple of breaks of a few months whilst I was back in London. Prior to the St Leonards, I stayed at 4 different places. None of them could match the good value offered by St Leonards Mansions in terms of cost, facilities, and location.
Instead of renting a studio unit, in Sydney (which can be very expensive by global standards), which I did before moving into St Leonards Mansions, I have found it far more convenient and satisfactory. It was much more flexible and all inclusive with the upfront cost and nothing else to be concerned with.
The proprietors are a pleasant, decent hard working couple who have been very accommodating. Having seen and experienced many other places in Sydney and various parts of the world, I would highly recommend St Leonard's Mansions. I am sure there are many who would say the same as I have met a number of others who have stayed there for months at a time. The logic is that if the place is not good, who would stay that long?
I am leaving for London this weekend but will most certainly be back as The Mansions is my preferred choice in Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The ensuite rooms are self-contained with all the facilities you will need for a short of long...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John B wrote a review Jan 2013
tiverton devon uk28 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
St Leonards Mansions comprises unconnected adjacent properties. Our assigned room was dingy, dirty and infested with cockroaches. The premises had no dining room, instead providing a breakfast tray (arriving the day before it's intended consumption), comprising 2 slices of bread, a mini cereal packet, fruit juice, a mini butter pat, mini conserve packs and a small milk carton. This all placed on the only surface in the room that was available to eat from - a small table around 75cm square. Needless to say the cockroaches had a field day!

Crockery and cutlery was provided on dirty open shelves - all had to be washed prior to use and a live cockroach was found in the cutlery container. a small sink was provided and a two burner gas hob, the instructions for which had been worn away so that it was impossible to read. Needless to say this was also dirty. A toaster and kettle were provided, with space to use only one appliance at a time, unless they were placed on the gas hob. A microwave oven was provided and such was the shortage of space and electrical outlets that it was located on a bedside table, with the bedside lamp on top of it. Two carving knives were also located in the chest of drawers.

The furniture was old and shabby, and as dirty as the rest of the room. There were burn marks on the carpet and the curtains were stained and dirty. The ensuite shower room was tiny, but usable. Bed linen, though clean, was all mismatched.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from St_Leonards_Mansions, Manager at St. Leonards Mansions
Responded 8 Feb 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are disappointed that you did not have a pleasant stay at St Leonards Mansions. We do take our housekeeping very seriously and service the rooms regularly. If you had informed us you had an issue with the cleaning we would have gladly shown you another room. We want all our guests to be happy. I know we cannot be perfect to every person and I understand that some people have different expectations of a hotel room. We may not be able to offer the upscale facilities of a 5 star hotel nor do we charge those rates. Our rates are very affordable and great value for Sydney. Kind regards, Mike
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gracielasilvarocha wrote a review Mar 2012
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed 3 months at St Leonards Mansions and I recommend it,
There is a lovely couple that manages the place, they are very friendly and help you whenever you need.
The room was clean and comfortable
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Room nº 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Subha_78 wrote a review Feb 2011
Sydney, Australia1 contribution3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the best budget hotel for average earning people coming to stay in Sydney for couple of weeks or months. Weekly, monthly rates are very affordable. Rooms are okay, has all basic amenities e.g. fridge, TV, Kitchen, AC. The location is great, just 5 mins walk away from Rail Station, Mc Donald’s, Subway, Coles, Indian Groceries shop. The place looked to be very quite and safe.
All together this was more than what I expected in such price range.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mjrag wrote a review Oct 2016
Auckland5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at St Leonards Mansions for 10 months. On arrival into Australia I was pleased to find this place looked like the photos. We had a twin share with seperate lounge area/kitchenette and balcony. Both beds were comfortable (Queen and single). Seperate bathroom. The unit we stayed in was older though we made it our own and it was cosy. The views over the city are stunning. We required an affordable secure place to stay in a central location, close to public transport that did not commit us into any long-term contracts (especially being an international visitor). St Leonards Mansions has been perfect for us. The staff have always been friendly and the cleaners delightful. Nice neighbours too. It has been a truly wonderful stay and I would come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
meenakshi b wrote a tip Jan 2017
Sydney, Australia33 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"take the non shared bathrooms"
Read full review
Anukoool wrote a tip Apr 2014
New Delhi, India22 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms towards the front side of mansion which faces the road are good. Additionally, ensuite rooms in the adjacent property are also good. Avoid choosing the rooms next to common bathroom, you would be disturbed by the sound of door opening and closing during the night."
Read full review
Andrew F wrote a tip July 2013
London, United Kingdom1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The ensuite rooms are self-contained with all the facilities you will need for a short of long stay. The include, multi-channel foxtel TV, kitchenette with microwave, gas stove, pots & pans, crockery, cutlery, etc, down to the little but helpful items like washing liquid and scouring pad! The rooms to the front, at excellent in terms of brightness and privacy."
Read full review
NisithNanda wrote a tip Apr 2013
Bengaluru, India26 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just ask for a room with a nice view of the city. good luck :-)"
Read full review
gracielasilvarocha wrote a tip Mar 2012
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room nº 46"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St Leonards area.
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater SydneyNorth SydneySt Leonards
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST. LEONARDS MANSIONS: Reviews (St Leonards) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about St. Leonards Mansions
Which popular attractions are close to St. Leonards Mansions?
Nearby attractions include Small Bar, Crows Nest (1.0 km), The Stoned Crow (1.0 km), and Climb Fit (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St. Leonards Mansions?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, room service, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at St. Leonards Mansions?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at St. Leonards Mansions?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St. Leonards Mansions?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bahbq, Dhakshin South Indian Restaurant, and Lees Fortuna Court Chinese Restaurant.
Is St. Leonards Mansions located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of St Leonards.
Are there any historical sites close to St. Leonards Mansions?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (5.2 km), Anzac Memorial (5.9 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (5.4 km).
All St Leonards HotelsSt Leonards Hotel DealsHotels near St. Leonards Mansions
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars