We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Outback Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Outback Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staying at the Outback Lodge in Manly was one of our two most appalling travel experiences we have had to endure, the other was over 20 years ago in the Dominican Republic. We checked in at 2 o'clock and had to endure a receptionist complain about the heat even after she admitted she was paid to be polite and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingpaul446
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for work twice in the space of a week (two different rooms), as it was all the travel agent could find available. It was probably better than having nowhere to stay, but could have had a better stay sleeping on a friends couch. With an experience such as this I would generally approach management and discuss areas for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we will take your points on board. Just a few of your points that I wish to clarify, our office hours are 9am to 8pm daily, you must have arrived outside our 8pm office hours, however, if guests arrive outside these office hours and we are advised, as requested on our website, arrangements are...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I stayed at The Outback Lodge for two nights only but I wish I could have stayed more. The Lodge is quiet and it's perfectly located. Staff was lovely and especially an italian lady I talked with for a couple of hours! Will definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tizianacoscia
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Will pass on your comments, happy new year. management

Macquarie Park, Nsw
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My friend and I were greeted by the wonderful receptionist Leesa around 4.00pm on Friday 2 December 2016. She had been most helpful and friendly with my phone enquiries and even guessed who I was before I said my name. The room was clean and bright with everything we needed. Even the clientele were friendly and joined us for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Have a merry Xmas and all the best for 2017. Regards Shez

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Our family celebrated our daughter 's birthday last night at Outback. Steaks were tender and delicious. Shrimp was also great. Always have to have a few coconut shrimp whenever I have dinner there. The waitress was very nice and attentive to our needs. Great evening !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Sounds wonderful and pleased you enjoyed yourselves. All the best for Xmas and the New Year Regards Shez

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Housekeeping really needs to be looked at! Half bottle of Lift in the fridge, sand still in the shower cubicle & dirty linen for a 8yr old child to sleep on! Didnt meet requirements as per conversation with receptionist who said she'll pass on to management.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stelgirl
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - I have spoken to staff member concerned and they advised they re vacuumed the timber floor when it was brought to their attention and all linen supplied was clean, It is unacceptable and I sincerely apologise. Unfortunately being close to the beach guests do bring a lot of sand inside the property, despite vacuuming...

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Visited the place over one night into a week end, with my family (2 adults 2 kids under 3yo). Let's put it this way: it was clean enough (on the visible parts) for us to stay, but really it was on the edge. This was compensated by the location. i would rate the place 2.5 / 5 but as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyril G
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your explicit review - I will certainly look into all matters you have raised and discuss with the housekeeping staff. Sand is one of our biggest problems as it gets into the floorboards and despite vacuuming and mopping participles still sometimes remain We will also look more closely at items requiring replacement or tightening up. Pleased you...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after a recommendation from a friend who had stayed previously. First impressions were not good as the welcome was not very friendly, apartment seemed clean enough at first but on close inspection there was quite a few improvements required. Dirty areas behind the beds and on the windows, slatted blinds which did not cover the whole window, wi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeehDee
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

I wish that you would contact us as it is very difficult for us to work out which apartment or when you stayed - if we had this information we can easily see which staff cleaned apartment and take appropriate steps to rectify. An email with date and booking name can be sent to us to ensure this does not...

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We had the Queen Apartment. Entry was off Smith St. number 3, quite rustic looking from the road. Unfortunately the gate into the apartment was only about a metre from the front door. This gate was used by everyone who had a room with shared facilities, so inevitably there was a bit of clanging of the gate. Otherwise the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ennayd
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Yes it's hard to expect every guest to open and close gates/doors quietly - we apologise for the inconvenience we will see if there is a way we can put something there to quite it. Thank you for your review appreciate it.

Port Stephens, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed one night. Room was better than expected. Shared bathroom with only one other room which was good. Location was good....BUT, trying to find a park on the street was a nightmare. Staff need to be more welcoming and friendly. Would definately stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 4karenanneb

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
535 reviews
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Manly

Neighbourhood Profile
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants as well, especially along the family-oriented areas like Shelly Beach. An excellent way to experience Manly is to rent a bike and explore the dedicated bike paths and off road trails. The North Head National Park is another must-see. Located on the southern tip of Manly, North Head National Park offers great bushwalks and panoramic views of the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Outback Lodge offers a selection of studio, 1-2 bedroom apartments all with modern ensuite bathrooms and mini kitchens. Also selection of bedsits with mini kitchens and shared bathroom. The lovely "Cottage" is a 1 bedroom cottage house will full kitchen, lounge/dining area, polished timber floors and is most suitable for those wanting something quite special. Short or long stays available, close to beach and transport. We cater for families, mature persons, groups, singles, couples wanting more than back packer style accomodation at an affordable price. Free unlimited Wifi use on the common area, laundry facilities with coin operated washer/dryer and tea/coffee in each apartment. Travelling with your PET then contact us direct as some apartments are pet friendly, additional charges apply and is at discretion of the manager. A number of our apartments are now air conditioned. We can also offer backpacker/student/share accommodation in our newly acquired 2 bedroom apartment on Pittwater Rd. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Outback Lodge

Address: 5 Smith St | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Price Range: $95 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Outback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Outback Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not go for anywhere described as 'budget' or 'bedsit' here.”
  • Damage to the door
  • More poor wiring
  • Shoddy maintenance in the bathroom
  • Poor wiring
  • Rogue cotton bud (not ours) in the bedroom
 of 5 bubbles kingpaul446, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles paulsD8570AB, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are very quiet and with own little garden”
 of 5 bubbles tizianacoscia, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Second building you share bathroom with only one other room.”
 of 5 bubbles 4karenanneb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Although I didn't see the rest of the rooms I found the Cottage to be most excellent and would recommend it to anyone.”
 of 5 bubbles Frances6699, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay