We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Mary's Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. Mary\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of St. Mary's Hotel
 Click to rate
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Arriving at St Mary's hotel I was impressed by the size of the car park, and the hotel looks very quaint from the outside. I had to go to the restaurant to check in. It is not part of the hotel building but a 30 yard walk across an open courtyard which is fine unless it's raining. My room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent stay here at St Marys. We are all disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed to management.

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in order to get to see the Rugby .gTo get to the stadium was a £5 taxi to Pen- coed and a £5 rail journey to Cardiff Central , all very stress free. For the trip back be prepared to walk a couple of miles from Pen-coed station to the remotely located hotel as taxi's are scarce...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wp12345
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at St Mary's. I am pleased to learn that you found getting to and from Cardiff stress free. Our countryside location, not too far from the local village train station, is a great base for visits in and out of the city however International match days in Cardiff do present...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Wow - booked christmas day lunch for 4 at the hotel - a huge amount of food which was gorgeous. 5 courses and even a visit from father christmas himself. Not rushed, with the right amount of time between courses. Was stuffed for hours afterwards. Always had a good meal at St Mary's and christmas day was no different. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath070
stmaryshotel18, General Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and so very pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Day with us. Santa and all the staff at St Marys wish you well for the coming year and hope to see you again soon. David & Tony Management

Reviewed 26 December 2016

We all thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas lunch yesterday, the food was superb and there was a lovely Christmassy atmosphere, and with Santa arriving with presents for the children was the highlight of the afternoon. Staff were lovely, nothing too much trouble. Well done St Mary's

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to comment on your Christmas Day lunch. What a pleasing review. The Staff were thrilled by your generous praise. We look forward to spending Christmas Day 2017 with you and your family. Best wishes for the New Year.

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic Christmas Day lunch here. Could not fault the food, service or atmosphere. A big thank you to all the staff as it can't be much fun working on Christmas Day. Food was excellent, piping hot with generous portions. Nothing was to much trouble and to top it all a visit from Santa for the little ones. Wonderful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. Your comments are very welcome and confirm our endeavours to ensure that we maintain our high standards. We are a warm and friendly team who enjoy meeting guests both new and returning. We really hope to spend 2017 Christmas day with you and your family. Best wishes for the New Year

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived just after 5pm and ordered a drink while we waited for the kitchen to open. The menu has a good selection & we chose a Caesar salad & fries as well as pie of the day which was steak and ale. The salad & fries were nice however the pie was average and disappointing. The pie was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
stmaryshotel18, Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mary for your review regarding your recent visit to our Restaurant. We are delighted to learn that you found that our menus offer a good selection, that you enjoyed the surroundings and our Staff were, as usual, helpful, friendly and accommodating. However we were disappointed to learn that you felt underwhelmed with our "Pie of the Day". Our...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely surroundings.went ere for my partners 60th birthdaymeal we had a table layed out upstairs as there was a wedding there lovely room but itwas very cold in there .my partner had steak and i had the barbecue chicken hardly no sauce with it and it was served with fries which let the meal down my partner ask for is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liamellie
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review after your recent visit to our Restaurant for your partners Birthday. We are sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with the service you received and I wish the points you mentioned were raised directly with me on the evening. The heating was on and had someone mentioned that...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Thank god for GPS...desperately looking for a place to stay and was referred to St Mary's Hotel Golf Club. Stuck in the middle of nowhere but what a pleasant surprise. Our room was lovely. Spacious, lots of character and comfy bed. The restaurant was closed due to a wedding but dinner was still available in the bistro. Went down well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triparound10
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a pleasing review. The staff really appreciate feedback from our guests, especially when, like yours, it is so positive, We really hope that we are able to welcome you back to St Mary's in the future.

Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Played the golf course Sunday and it is dreadful. Worst course I've played all year. Fairways hadnt been mowed for at least a week. Greens were shocking. Unrepaired pitchmarks on nearly every green. Tee conditions were embarrassing. They were not dissimilar to my back garden and that has a dog and 2 kids trampling over it most days. Will never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merfyn81
stmaryshotel18, Owner at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your game of golf with us at St Mary's. It is a shame you did not call into the golf shop on the day to inform us of your complaint but instead you decided to finish your round regardless. We would like to invite you back for a game...

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Thank you so much David & Carolyn for reuniting me with my handbag after a guest mistakenly picked mine up from a wedding venue 20mins away. You really did save the day by using my emergency contact details to get in touch. Thank you so much!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carly A
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Just glad your items were returned safely. Happy to help :-)

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
6:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pencoed
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
6.9 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
375 reviews
9.2 km away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
626 reviews
6.0 km away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hotel

Address: St. Mary's Hill, Pencoed CF35 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pencoed
Price Range: $135 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your St. Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marys Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. Mary's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift , so ground floor if not good with stairs.”
W-Pheby, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“overlooking the golf course as if parties or weddings on, the courtyard can be a bit noisier”
Ness666, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The east and south rooms have a great view”
927karlj, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely No. 8 looks onto the golf course others open onto a sunny court yard . very quiet- bliss.”
LizR892, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms overlook the golf course.”
malcolmm316, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5