We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

TravelodgeUSD 55*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
 Click to rate
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here the night before a charity event, nice place clean and warm and pretty quiet considering its next to a motorway, only 10 mins from cardiff and 5 mins from st fagans museum of welsh life....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank koji447188
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was basic, pillows were hard and lumpy, stairways and corridors dirty and unhoovered. The room service was poor towels where not changed on a daily basis.But on the plus side it was good value for our 3night stay.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F866SNgarys
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us so it is disappointing for us to hear that on this occasion we did not offer you the best service possible our guests deserve. We will make the most of your comments to continue improving the service...

Reviewed 1 week ago

well, I've stayed in better travelodges if I am honest, the guy at the desk was super helpful and polite but the place smelled of farts and chemicals, sometimes chemically farts and sometimes farty chemicals, for £78 earth pounds you get a very basic room with a very disappointing shower, albeit the room was quite large the fixtures and fitting,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris Nearly B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received, although we would like to apologise for the wear and tear and smell issues you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may be looked...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

First time staying at a service station. It was what I thought it would be like. For the price I was happy it was 10 min out of Cardiff and easy to get in and out of the city. I would stay agian for the price I paid

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dextermcewen
Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night on way to west Wales. Easy to find. Nice welcome at reception. Room adequate for the great price. £32 per room! Decent tea and coffee. Slept well. Choice of breakfast to buy in services food court. All as expected!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlieboy_13
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Ok, but cleanliness to be improved, interms of room cleanliness. Location was good, easy access to Cardiff, motorway links good also. Car parking arrangements fine, was reminded to book registration of my car in by reception.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnfV2506OW
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Mould in the bedroom, it needs a good clean. Probably better to stay at the Premier Inn and forget Lenny's advertising. Customer services not very helpful, perhaps they thought I should clean it for them? Wonder if Lenny gets a room with mould?

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J1675BFmarkk
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for your...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

the hotel is ok, in need of a spruce up in some areas, a lot of wind noise which kept me awake all night from the railing outside the windows and from other people in the corridor int he mornings, staff all very pleasant, i think the room was over priced for what it was £40 a night ,

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trinculouk
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

We're concerned to hear of your recent experience at our Cardiff M4 Travelodge and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Other hotel guests very noise after midnight kept other guest awake people kept us awake throughout the night constant chattering in the early hours others going around inside trying to see who it was up to three in the morning laughing and giggling probably would have slept better In my car rather than in the hotel complex

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherdY4374KW
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sincerely sorry for the disturbance you experienced during your stay. Whilst we do ensure that a member of staff patrols the corridors in the later hours and we do request that guests observe reasonable noise levels, we do apologise that these measures were not enough to make your stay more comfortable. Please...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

3rd time staying. staff are helpful however the room we stayed in this time was the size of box. barley could walk round the room for what limited time we was there. Will stay in town text time and pay for u a quality room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HanLex111
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We're sincerely sorry to learn that you were not positively impressed with the standard of your accommodation. We will be sure to raise your feedback with our hotel management team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back and continue improving your views on Travelodge.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
3.8 km away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
7.4 km away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
18.9 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
351 reviews
7.4 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Price Range: $68 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel Pontyclun
Travelodge Pontyclun
Travel Lodge Pontyclun
Pontyclun Travelodge
Pontyclun Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Waterford, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“basic,dont expect too much”
chrisnearlyb, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Unfortunately as this hotel is so close to the motorway and you need a good sleep i wouldnt chose this hotel.”
craigharris, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the car park if noise is an issue.”
AikaterineXXVI, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel!”
100Jeanjeannie, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid anything on the M4 side ( we were 118)”
Teddybug84, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelodge
USD 55* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates