We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Booking.comUSD 162*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,045 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,040: English reviews
Start your review of Ruthin Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

a castle is always an exciting place to visit, Ruthin Castle its staff, the food and facilities were excellent. The grounds and the town itself were very interesting. The grounds of the Castle were also home to a about a dozen Peacocks. whilst these birds were nice to see during the day time, they were very annoying during the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianBarb927ql
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely setting, this castle is full of original features and very close to the town square. The grounds are interesting to explore and the gardens well tendered. The staff are really pleasant and helpful, the food and drink consumed over the 24 hours was very good. Bar prices a little more than usual but to be expected. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 775Gilly
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel and grounds are beautiful and peaceful and well maintained. There was plenty of parking however be prepared for a short walk to the hotel entrance if the top car park is full. The reception area was a bit dysfunctional, it could be made to make a grand first impression however it's a couple of desks in the corner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randolph84
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is beautiful and is in a genuine converted castle, which is pretty impressive. It has been decorated well inside - mostly to a good finish - although it needs a bit of attention in places. The positives are a lovely setting, nice room and good breakfast. The negatives: being an old building, the wooden floors are very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArabianMouse1
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ruthin Castle was on my list of places to stay in the U.K, it really didn't disappoint. We enjoyed the Peacocks in and around the building and the beautiful landscapes attached to the Castle. Our classic room was spacious and a sheer delight to stay in, with an ensuite, lounge room and separate bath tub in the room itself and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalsta01
leicester
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perhaps we have been very lucky but this is our second visit to Ruthin Castle and it will not be our last. . Yes, it could do with some cosmetic improvements but any one who lives in an old property (as we do) appreciate that keeping it all pristine is like painting the Forth Bridge. It is true we have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank milkmaidLeicester
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the Ruthin Castle Hotel for one night on 24th April. Overall we thought the hotel was lovely; the grounds and the setting were most impressive, being built on the site of the original 13th century castle. We stayed in room 201 which was a decent size and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It was spotlessly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony G
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The room was dirty and nothing like the ones on the website. Be weary of this when booking - we stayed in a standard room but were told that that the rooms on the website were deluxe rooms and suites (which I could live with if the standard rooms would were clean and slightly more modernised!) The bathroom was dated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member Following your recent stay and complaint, it's unfortunate that you didn't feel that you could bring any issues to our attention whilst you were at the hotel. There is a manager on duty 24 hours a day to assist. The last thing we want is for you to leave the hotel disappointed. We did indeed offer a...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights - 18-20th April. The hotel is in a lovely spot within a short walking distance to Ruthin town and the staff are very polite and helpful. The hotel also provides a very good breakfast. I'm afraid though that is where the positives end. The room we were given was rather disappointing....very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sophie H Thank you for providing feedback following a recent stay at Ruthin Castle. The maintenance and the upkeep of the hotel is our priority. Renovations and repairs are an ongoing project and unfortunately, they do take time. Over the past two years we have replaced the roof, introduced driveway lighting, and invested in the public areas. There is...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whilst clearly old and in need of immediate repair/updates - lack of cleanliness has no excuse!!!! The hotel needs to be shut for business for urgent refurbishment. Filthy, rusty, dangerous, damp, mouldy, fungus, cobwebs, threadbare, random hairs, dust, holes in floor, worn out bed covers......I could go on however these are some words which accurately describe this establishment. Please see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank onf31
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear onf31 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following a recent stay. We were indeed at full occupancy during the time of your stay, and although you had voiced your disappointment, we had no alternative rooms to offer you. It's unfortunate that you fail to mention that we did discount your room by 50%, we also offered...

1,895 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1381)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (440)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (619)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (472)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Lillie Suite (68)
Viewed
Prince of Wales Deluxe Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Castle (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Rear (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.4 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
340 reviews
38.7 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
659 reviews
39.9 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,086 reviews
25.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
32.6 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: $185 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a view with a view. our room overlooked a roof and a rubbish tip”
BrianBarb927ql, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask if you can see your room to make sure you're happy with it first. Remember luxury means just that, this place isn't cheap.”
775Gilly, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away.”
pstephenson17, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Eat elsewhere.”
karl637, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suites are really nice and quiet”
Suzi-Red, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 162* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 162
Orbitz.comUSD 175
PricelineUSD 162
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates