We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cleifiog Uchaf

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valley
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cleifiog Uchaf
See the most recent reviews
Showing 22: English reviews
hertfordshire
Reviewed 5 June 2011

what a delightful gem of a b&b, tucked away but just off the main Valley Road. the house had a calm atmosphere, as well as being very well presented. my room was very inviting and the bed so comfortable, with gorgeous linen. breakfast was yummy. i would recommend anyone visiting Anglesey to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gollyHertfordshire
manchester
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were here in May this year for my sister wedding. . The staff are super friendly - bending over backwards to help and advice with a thorough knowledge of the local area. The owners have done a fantastic job of restoring this Welsh long house into a delightful cozy retreat. The food is truly outstanding. I cannot recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sessnon
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We were here in May this year with our young cocker spaniel, Harry and had a wonderful break and actually had a meal served to us in the cottage by their staff on the Saturday evening as the restaurant was full. The food was very impressive I might add. We have just been again for 3 days and cannot speak...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Magsellie
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We went for a meal only - my elderly mother's birthday. What a disappointment! Firstly we waited 45 minutes to be seated and so did all the other diners as we learned that the restaurant does a set meal for all at the same time. We had previously asked if a child (6 years old) would be welcome and they...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank L1215
Management response:

I am sorry for your disappointment and value this opportunity to deal with your concerns. On the night of your mother's birthday we were holding a 5-course Tasting Menu for all tables to start on or around 7.30pm. This was explained to all persons booking for that night including the lady who booked the table on your behalves - Not...

chester
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Arrived to a bemused reception from two ladies skulking in the dining room. Had to explain that we had booked a room for the night as there seemed to be confusion as to why we were there. Shown our room & bathroom & asked about dinner to be told that the dining room was closed from Fri to Monday and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChesterConnoisseur
Management response:

I am very sorry that your dissapointing visit prompted you to write your review. It is certainly not my intention to appear hostile and your comments have been duly noted and used to improve the service we provide. Bedroom one has limited headroom in it's en suite bathroom, this is due to the actual nature of the building and the...

cheshire
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This interesting property offers both guest house accommodation and cottage self catering. Very private and quiet, it makes for a secluded getaway for couples although it is also well situated for exploring the varied coastline, with family attractions such as South Stack lighthouse and Trearddur Bay nearby. It has been imaginatively and skilfully converted and furnishings and equipment are, in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CheshireCharlotte
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review, however there are some points I would like to clarify. The garden furinture has been bought in the 'distressed' look to reflect the Victorian feel of the gardens, that of the iron work tables and chairs left out in all weathers. Due to the fact that you arrived at 1p.m. earlier than expected, the...

North Wales
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I can't believe what the Parry's have created here- it is an absolute haven of relaxation. Every detail has been thought of- from the Brinkhaus pillows and duvets for allergy sufferers, the jug of milk with little lace cover and beads, the Roberts Radio with batteries move it for your own convenience----- I could go on but then there would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rwbbles
UAE
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Stayed here last summer for a family 40th. Enjoyed it so much that we are back this summer, looks like it could become an annual event! All of the rooms are 'individual' in their decor, each with those personal touches that make somewhere that little extra special. Particularly recommend one of the rooms with the free standing baths. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thalweg
Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Pryd Parry and her team looked after my family and I with total care and thoughtfulness as we stayed at Cleifiog Uchaf when attending a funeral. Nothing was too much trouble and, even though we'd not met Prydwen before, it felt as though we were staying with an old friend rather than at a hotel. The surroundings both inside and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sher K
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2010

My boyfriend and I had a meal here to celebrate his birthday. We have lived near the area for quite a while now and I was amazed that this little place was tucked away in Valley! The food is truly outstanding, I enjoyed every single bite. My sea bass was perfectly cooked. The entire evening was wonderful, we were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki524

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
0.6 km away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
108 reviews
32.0 km away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 km away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
588 reviews
16.5 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
29.0 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lovingly restored and discreetly modernised 16th century longhouse with intimate licensed restaurant. The delightfully varied rooms are en-suite, individually styled and decorated, featuring flat screen TVs, DVD player, WI-FI internet access. (2 superior self-catering cottages available). Anglesey Coastal Path, Inland Sea and 2 National Cycle Routes are just outside. Relax at Cleifiog Uchaf - Enjoy 21st century comfort at 16th century pace - whether for business or pleasure - at our 5* Country House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cleifiog Uchaf

Address: Cleifiog Uchaf Off Spencer Road, Valley LL65 3AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Valley
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cleifiog Uchaf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms have a really good shower; enquire if you prefer a bath.”
sunnyandles, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“room 1 looks out over the lawns onto the sea”
gollyHertfordshire, 4 Jun 2011 | Read review
2 of 2