We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Golden Fleece Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Golden Fleece Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Golden Fleece Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016

after climbing mount snowdon we drove to Tremadog for a relaxing night before driving back to london. we were really pleased, room was clean and modern, lovely location. staff were friendly and helpful. biscuits in the room (always good!) and a nicely decorated room with no faults.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review it's much appreciated and your comments will be passed on to our hard working team who will appreciate your praise. We look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team

Ashbourne
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We were staying in nearby Penmorfa and was recommended to try this place for an evening meal. Reasonable quality but slightly overpriced, however, food certainly hit the spot. There was only one member of staff manning both bar and restaurant but as it was a quiet evening he managed this well and made time to cater for our every need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebekahAbbi
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. Your comments will be passed on to our team who will appreciate your praise as well as your feedback. We will look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team

Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I took my Dad here as it was so good a few years ago when on holiday. It was busy so we had to sit upstairs, which lacked original character, but I can live with that. Menu okay, chose welsh lamb stew with mashed potatoes. The lamb was lovely and tender, but the potato was unseasoned and tasteless (the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DSharon69
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your review. Your comments will be passed on to our team who will appreciate your feedback even though its not all positive. I'm sorry you felt the mashed potato needed more seasoning, I have fed this back to the kitchen. We don't normally sell bottled ales although on this occasion we did have some on offer...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Found this hidden gem mid way through our holiday, food, staff and surroundings were excellent. We enjoyed it so much we ate there twice ! Couldn't fault the meals on both visits, if a high standard and the quality was excellent. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. I'm glad you found us! Your comments will be passed on to our team who will appreciate your praise. We will look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at The Golden Fleece Inn on a Buy a Gift deal. Checked in after having climbed Snowdon and it was so nice to chill out in front of the lovely fire with a well deserved beer! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was really nice with all the facilities you'd need including plenty of teas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evg85
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your climb up Snowdon. Your comments will be passed on to our team who will appreciate your praise. We will look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We were a party of 9, 4 adults, 5 kids. We all really enjoyed our meals. My choice was pate and the chicken jalfrezi......too full for pudding. Really enjoyed the meal. Love the chilled wine/beer glasses. The waitress staff were fabulous, really friendly and helpful. Our friends kids are veggies and although the menu didn't have many kiddy veggie options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. I'm glad you all enjoyed your meals. I'm pleased to say that after receiving your feedback we added 2 veggie options on the kids menu. Your compliments will be passed on to our team who will appreciate your praise. We will look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards...

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and looked on line for a nearby restaurant. The Golden Fleece as a lovely looking place. The welcome could have been better. The bar man asked a girl to find us a table but she disappeared upstairs leaving us stranded. Hannah in the restaurant helped us and was very nice and friendly. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. I'm sorry your welcome didn't start off as it should have however I'm glad you enjoyed the food and the rest of your evening. Your comments will be passed on to our team who will appreciate your praise and feed back. We will look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future....

Maidenhead
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Thank you Golden Fleece for rescuing us after our original hotel had gone bankcrupt! We enjoyed our 3 night stay with you, our room was very clean and comfortable, with tea/coffee making facilities, water and biscuits. Iron/ironing board, hairdryer and en suite. We ate every night in the bar restaurant, the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue and John B
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your very positive review. We are glad we were able to rescue you, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Your comments will be passed on to our team who will appreciate your praise. We will look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Just got back from this gem of a place and felt I had to write a review. I'm not really one for trip advisor but felt that some of the previous reviews for this country pub and accommodation were harsh and in my opinion incorrect. We arrived early on Thursday afternoon and even though check in isn't until 5pm we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justine C
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Nasir suite. Your comments will be passed on to our team including Liam who will appreciate your praise. We will look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Was so looking forward to spending 3 nights here for Easter the hotel looked perfect on the website...... After a long 6 hour drive parking is a lottery finding a space in the village square. Check in is in the Golden Fleece snug bar area which can only be described as tatty scruffy and dirty. My room was apparently one...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank N C
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us... Funny enough we didn't enjoy having you here! You were unbelievably obnoxious for some one who allegedly works within hospitality. Parking in the square at peak dinner time on a bank holiday would be a bit of a lottery but given that there are roads running off the square within...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
1.4 km away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
633 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,313 reviews
1.0 km away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
268 reviews
8.5 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
1.4 km away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Porthmadog
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Price Range: $94 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family room with plenty of room.”
 of 5 bubbles Bethan255, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get the suite”
 of 5 bubbles just2collect, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not book this hotel if you have a disability unless you can have a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles travelingann45, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room to the rear as the square can be noisy. Book direct to get an included breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles hewhotravels, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The 2 bed cottage is great for a family of 4, 2 double rooms with double beds, TV and Bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ShropshireHelly, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay