We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The King's Head

    8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    Traveller (22)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (1)
    The Angel
    893 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Abergavenny
     
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,235 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Chepstow
     
    Best Western Royal George Hotel
    384 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Tintern
     
    Riverside Hotel
    181 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Monmouth
     
    Overview
    • Excellent20%
    • Very good49%
    • Average19%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (59 reviews)
    “front facing” (5 reviews)
    “car park” (19 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    All hotel details
    Offers from The King's Head
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    The Angel
    893 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Abergavenny
     
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,235 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Chepstow
     
    Best Western Royal George Hotel
    384 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Tintern
     
    Riverside Hotel
    181 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Monmouth
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (259)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 259 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The building is beautiful and you expect better, but it is cold, dirty and uncomfortable. The food is ... well.... food. Nothing to write home about for sure. It arrived cold, had to be changed, and I need a coat and cardigan on to keep...More

    Thank SailingGirly
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 3 days ago

    I'm really sorry it was too cold for you, our air conditioning is on the same setting throughout the pub, so it can be hard to adjust it to everyones liking. It shouldn't have been dirty as the team are constantly cleaning, but we may...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    After a long day in the Malvern area we were glad to find this lovely pub in the centre of Monmouth. As one can only expect the menu and food quality was very good from Wetherspoons group. A good selection of beers was a real...More

    Thank johnamason
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're glad you had a good experience and we hope to see you again!

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    We eat regularly at Wetherspoons, mainly because for the excellent value for money. However, having Eggs Benedict for breakfast that was stone cold was extremely disappointing. Thankfully, they were replaced by some hot food, however, the plates had not been warmed up, so by the...More

    Thank superdad445
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're sorry we were unable to live up to the expected standards on this occasion. Many of our staff our new since our reopening, so we're still working towards getting better and better. We...More

    Reviewed 11 July 2017

    friendly n helpful staff , food was delish, amenities were clean n spacious. good size portions for our meals, tea n coffee was unlimited plus dairy free milk. n gluten free menu , highlight of the visit. . definitely recommend a visit.

    Thank MervK
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're glad you had a good experience and we hope to see you again soon! We aim to cater for people of all dietary requirements, so we're glad we delivered.

    Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

    Visited last Monday lunchtime. Two steak and kidney puddings, chips and peas, fish and chips a pint and two soft drinks for £16!! Asked if they had got the bill correct but yes was assured that it was right. Nice pub food. Good ambience with...More

    Thank Ali264163
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're glad you had a good experience and we hope to see you again soon!

    The Angel
    893 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Abergavenny
     
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,235 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Chepstow
     
    Best Western Royal George Hotel
    384 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Tintern
     
    Riverside Hotel
    181 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Monmouth
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 73 - USD 87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 24
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Wales >
    • Southern Wales >
    • Monmouthshire >
    • Monmouth
    • Also Known As
    • Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth ,
    • The King's Head Monmouth, Wales
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (22)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,235 reviews
    22.35 km away
     
    The Angel
    893 reviews
    20.80 km away
     
    Best Western Royal George Hotel
    384 reviews
    11.63 km away
     
    Riverside Hotel
    181 reviews
    .53 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    AaHaan Thai
    140 reviews
    .15 km away
    The whole earth cafe bistro
    135 reviews
    .14 km away
    #7 Church Street
    390 reviews
    .10 km away
    The Misbah
    402 reviews
    .17 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Monnow Bridge and Gate
    105 reviews
    .21 km away
    Shire Hall Monmouth
    43 reviews
    .04 km away
    Monmouth Museum
    55 reviews
    .15 km away
    Ancre Hill Estates Winery
    16 reviews
    .65 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    BethPB
    15 July 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Paul M | Reviewed this property |
    I don't think there's a back yard but there is a public car park within two minutes walk. There's also free on street parking within a minute too. It's a pretty safe town so you should be ok whichever way.
    0
    Votes
    Grace B
    3 July 2015|
    Answer
    Response from chorltongirl187069 | Reviewed this property |
    I don't have an e mail address. Only suggestion is to keep on phoning. Check the number too. Best wishes.
    0
    Votes
    PGP123
    8 August 2014|
    Answer
    Response from Mylomorris |
    Wifi is accessible from all rooms- at least on floor 1 and 2 which we stayed
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "OK but only for a real budget break or meal"
    Read review
    "We were in room 105 some noise from street but not too bad"
    Read review
    "dont book online and call before to make sure its a real booking"
    Read review
    "Avoid the back of the hotel."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing