We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

TripAdvisorUSD 144*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 157*
USD 144*
USD 157*
USD 157*
USD 144*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 158: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely lunch, nice variety on the menu and a specials board too. We were in early so not too busy but nearly all tables taken by time we were leaving. Looks like a busy place. Friendly staff, good food, plenty of beer choices on tap and sky sports on tv! What more could you want 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardsBach
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I called in here on Sunday for lunch. The beef was cooked to perfection and we were given a good portion. It was served with a Yorkshire pudding and one roast potato and gravy. The vegetables were cabbage, broccoli and carrots and these were served separately in a stainless steel dish. We were also given a gravy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lastnight I went for some drinks in the castle, I felt intimidated by the woman who served me and felt as if she didn't want to be there. Both of the women staff that night were very miserable and made the atmosphere very miserable too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLN123
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were passing and spotted an open door with menu displayed so entered the dining room to be told it didn't open til 18:00 however we were accommodated 20 mins early by a pleasant and friendly waitress . Drinks were provided promptly. I ordered whitebait starter which arrived without the lemon mayonnaise . There wasn't a courtesy check back so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alikavner
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself was perfectly serviceable, although the clean and adequately appointed rooms were functional rather than attractive. Staff were polite and accommodating. The main problem, however, is one of noise. The hotel itself is on the corner of a main road, with heavy noisy traffic rumbling through from early morning until late in the evening. Then, if you have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timmywin
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

I am writing this review because several others noted poor customer service. This was absolutely not the case for my visit. I stayed for one night whilst on business, the staff where kind and helpful. Breakfast was freshly cooked and was excellent. The room was basic and clean, no frills. Just calling a room by a Welsh name does not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamsn1005643
Reviewed 27 February 2017

One night only for our anniversary.....arrived mid morning, coffee and a warm welcome. Excellent light lunch, a pint or two then a trip to sample the other public houses for the rugby. Room on the top floor very clean, slept like a log. Breakfast was tasty and filling....no complaints from us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as we decided to return to Aberaeron for a relaxing break We arrived for a weekend and found our room was ready which was warm and cosy the bar had just been refurbished was very friendly and the drinks were very well priced we had an excellent lunch of gammon served with an excellent salad and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarahblond
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I expected a bit more quality given the price. It is a pub with rooms and first glance is not very charming. The room was dated in an attic next to the breakfast kitchen which started cooking at 06.15 bagging and clashes for two hours and the smell coming into the room was awfull. The bathroom was in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
David J, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we did not live up to your expectations .We do not have any attic bedrooms next to our dinning room as this is situated on the first floor The bedrooms near the dinning room are totally new and were constructed last summer breakfast is served from 0730 onwards so cannot understand how there was a smell as the kitchen...

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The Lunch presentation is lovely, Cottage pie came in a oval bowl, with a colander of vegetables, on a black slate, the only down side was the veg was frozen, If it was fresh it would have been superb, My husband had the gammon, this was a full plate, lovely presentation and he said very nice, The atmosphere was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon o

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 km away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
215 reviews
6.4 km away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
56 reviews
17.5 km away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.2 km away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
0.0 km away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 11 in Aberaeron
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Price Range: $154 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberaeron, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Llanelli, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room at the back if there is one or take ear plugs”
wp12345, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for number 5!”
florir169, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to there web site to get better deals”
janejones2015, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“dont go ... there are no good rooms”
john131142, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I would imagine that there may be larger rooms at the hotel and those towards the back of the hotel would suffer less from traffic noise.”
andyp225, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 144* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 157
Expedia.comUSD 144
Booking.comUSD 157
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates