We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Show Prices
#17 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 374: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Average hotel in a fairly poor location!!!! Nothing within walking distance and no bar in the hotel!!!! The lady who sorted the breakfasts was quite a character and brightened up the mornings, that's about the only good thing I can say about it! P.s. If you need a taxi I can thoroughly recommend asking for George at reception whe you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn H
Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was my first time in Memphis for a business trip with my dad and we wanted to stay near our meeting place which was by the airport but that area didn't look very appealing, so I decided to stay in a mid point between downtown and the airport. That's exactly where I found this great hotel. The area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alberto G
Belinda S, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review

Hello Reluctant traveler we are very pleased to read that your were more than happy with your choice to stay at the Bestwestern Gen X , Our goal is to provide exceptional hotel rooms at an exceptional price while delivering exceptional service I can assume we scored high on all levels with you. Thanks for allowing us this opportunity to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

If your looking for somewhere clean and cheap staffed by cheerful normal people then this is the place for you. It seems further out than is as is on a main road but just over the bridge are Sun Studios. Receptionist Lynda is very helpful and a constant source of information. She is fast and efficient at juggling many tasks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisa A
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town to attend events on Beale Street and found this hotel to be very convenient and reasonably priced. The hospitality was great! Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. I rated it a 5 for this class of hotel. (i.e. its not the Peabody and it's not Motel 6). I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fuss56
belinda912, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Bestwestern Gen X family member: we truly appreciate the amazing review, Its guest like you that keep us smiling when providing exceptional customer service each and every time. Thank you! Thank you for taking the time to brighten our day with such kind words. Happy Trails.

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Best Western Plus Gen X Inn was an absolutely fantastic hotel to stay thanks to Linda and Diana. Linda is a mind of information and this hotel would not be the same without her and she works under a lot of pressure from certain other unreasonable guests. Diana the cook starts your day with a smile and is always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TreccoTaff
belinda912, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review

Hello wonderful traveler we would like you to know that we are humbled by the gracious review you gave us our goal as a Bestwestern hotel is to constantly deliver a quality product with a high level of exceptional service. We can't thank you enough for allowing us an opportunity to serve you and your family. see you soon!

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great stay at the Gen X. We arrived late and were warmly greeted by Linda and night staff. Friendly helpful staff for entire stay! Clean spacious room, very comfortable beds. Adequate complementary breakfast. Appreciated coffee available all day. Good location. 1/2 hr walk to Beale St or Trolley stop close by.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S and P F
Godfrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to Memphis to visit some family, and was not happy with the reviews or Google street views of cheaper choices of accommodation available. This was one of the most expensive places in Memphis, but it was worth it. Clean, comfortable, secure. A little hard to find at night, perhaps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
belinda912, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post this great review thank you for making the chiice to stay with us at the Bestwrstern Gen X Memohis tn

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We used to live in Memphis. Now, when we visit, we only stay here. Clean, reliable and relaxed. Great location -In Midtown and close to Downtown. There is a gym, business center and a breakfast buffet. The woman in charge of the buffet is so so sweet. She really takes care of you - making sure you have what you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nurse_rockett
belinda912, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review

Thanks frequent flyer, we love!! our return guest, we are happy to read service levels and product continues to flourish. Keep us posted on your next visit, we will have the fresh hot Coffee waiting.

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a $30 ride from the airport. We were very warmly welcomed by receptionist Linda who gave us lots of local information and hooked us up with the local taxi driver Tim who was also really informative and helpful. Also the lady providing the unexepected free breakfast (welcome ADDED BONUS) was really nice and offered as much as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
belinda912, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review

Thanks happy traveler you comfort, and enjoyment is one of our goals, we truly appreciate the super warm and heartfelt review Look forward to next years visit your amazing!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend bday trip and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Of course, we would have loved to stay at the Peabody but this hotel met and exceeded all of our needs! Located only 2 miles from Beale, it was a quick 6 dollar Uber ride to the downtown area so that was very convenient! Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
belinda912, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review

Helli Shawn H. We value our guest and take pride in providing exceptional service and an exceptional product we truly appreciate the awesome review and look forward to your next visit Thanks again.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
Standard King Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#11 of 136 in Memphis
852 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
2.9 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,638 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
2.7 km away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: $124 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Burnley, United Kingdom
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Lakeland, Florida
16 days ago
Burlington, Vermont
5 months ago
Dover, De
7 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't think about it just book it”
 of 5 bubbles TreccoTaff, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“West rooms overlook expressway- towards downtown, try N or E for a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Sirenaadvise, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“corner room had a nice city view.”
 of 5 bubbles rong455, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Away from the elevators. St Jude race runners get special preference.”
 of 5 bubbles Bunjloos, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms facing the street but there wasn't that much noise to worry about.”
 of 5 bubbles stefansM6583CF, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5