We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

979 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
See the most recent reviews
Showing 923: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2014

My husband & I stayed here for a family wedding. The staff was the friendliest I've ever experienced at a hotel! So down to earth! I just felt like I'd known them for years. Always went out of their way to speak to us, wheteher it was to ask If we needed something or just to cut a quick joke....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lnoneatfreak79
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

We are so grateful that you took the time to share your experience at our hotel with us and with others. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel, and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you at our location in the future. Thank you for staying with us, and have...

Reviewed 15 December 2014

Close to Beale St. and next door to rendezvous's barbecue, which is a must in Memphis. And if your in a Memphis, you have to eat BBQ. Very close to Sun Studio. (Elvis Record Studio). Holiday inn staff was friendly and very helpful. Awesome!!!!weekend for sure. Can't wait to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TNhailchaser
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel with us and with others. It sounds like you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, and I am delighted that you were able to visit Charlie Vergos' Rendezvous Restaurant next door. Their barbecue is world-famous, and I am glad you were able to see for yourself. Thank you so much...

Iowa
Reviewed 12 December 2014

This hotel is directly across from the Peabody and a short distance from Beale Street. This hotel needs some improvement - some folks on our bus trip did not have hot water. Our room was very warm and it was difficult controlling the temperature. The rooms were clean and seemed to have updated furniture, except for the double beds. Most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WDMTraveler
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your comments and opinions with us. It sounds like you enjoyed our ideal downtown location and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. I apologize for any inconveniences your group experienced regarding hot water issues, and I thank you for bringing these matters tour attention. Thank you for sharing your compliments...

Jacksonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We stayed here for the St.Jude Marathon weekend. This is a older hotel that's been somewhat updated. The bedding and furniture are fairly new and very comfy. TV was at least a 40"! I'm a light sleeper and I did find the noise level a bit too much. The heater/ac condensing unit in the wall made a leaking water noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedneckTraveler420
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It sounds like you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant check in experience. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding noise and your experience in our restaurant. I thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. You...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2014

This hotel is only a couple of blocks from Beale St. Also easily walked to the Civil War Museum. Was only in Memphis for a couple of days. The bus tour was really good and Michelle our driver was absolutely wonderful and very knowledgeable. We were able to use the same bus company for a return ride to Graceland (without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 303Julia
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our wonderful downtown location and the restaurants and attractions located within convenient walking distance of our hotel doors. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and professional. I apologize if the milk in your room had gone sour, causing...

Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at this location. Friday night was nice and quiet however tonight has been awful. There is a party on the 15th floor and being we are on the 14th floor it is so loud our bathroom mirror is shaking. We've stayed here 2 years in a row and I don't understand why you can't group runners...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SWMommy
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. First, I want to thank you for your patronage to our hotel. However, I apologize that your stay was disrupted by noise from the party on the floor above you. More so, I regret that your concerns were not handled to your satisfaction when you voiced your disappointment to our staff. It...

Abingdon, Virginia
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Great location for walking to Beale St. and taking the Trolley to Civil Rights Museum or Sun Records Museum. Across street from Peabody so you can see the ducks. Another plus, is you can walk to the Rock & Soul Museum where you can take free bus to Graceland (Runs every hour). Hotel needs updating, but in process while we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan K
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, and I am glad you were able to visit some of the local museums and tourism hot spots while you were a guest of our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered due to our renovation process, and I thank...

Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

The overly friendly staff have no doubt been conditioned by the manager Wayne to act surprised about the mid-day, multi-year water temperature issue to guests. Id recommend attending the Managers Reception to see the manager completely look surprised about the issue. Hey, free cheese cubes should warm you up. Brrrrr.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bbechtel
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and cheerful. However, I regret any inconvenience you may have encountered due to hot water issues in your room. It did take us by surprise and we have taken all necessary steps to correct this issue. It is...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 December 2014

This Holiday Inn has a great location for Memphis' night life. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had problems with heating unit, so we called the front desk. They sent Maintenance to our room and they had to go into the bathroom ceiling to turn the switch on the hvac unit. The room could use some updating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeSquire
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and pleased that you were able to take advantage of our convenient downtown location. I regret that you had issues concerning the heating unit in your room, and I thank...

Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful. Great location in downtown Memphis. Close to all the downtown sites and a short walk to Beale Street. The hotel did appear to need a little work though. Only one elevator was operational at the time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy J
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered regarding our current elevator renovation process, and I thank you for your patience with us as we make improvements to our hotel. I hope we are able to welcome you back to...

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Double Beds (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 137 in Memphis
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: $162 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
swansea
2 months ago
Albany, New York
over a year ago
2 months ago
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors seem quieter. Ice machines are on every other floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JTscarb, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the ice makers.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms located away from the elevator are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles pianoman88, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on street side opposite The Peabody”
 of 5 bubbles 862helenv, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the street side not bordering on 2nd Street, especially if your stay is over a Wednesday night ("Bike Night" in Memphis).”
 of 5 bubbles ChuckW413, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay