We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove\/Baptist Hospital East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 459: English reviews
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stay in many Hampton Inns but this one wasn't up to par. The staff seemed indifferent to the customers. The rooms weren't as clean as we are used to with a Hampton Inn, and the whole place seemed more than a little tired. After staying there three days, so were we.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were not as satisfied as we hoped you would be. Please let me assure you your voice is heard and I will act on your comments to find out what went wrong and to insure it doesn't happen in the future. Again, thank you. Safe travels to you and your family.

Dallas, United States
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Staff was hit or miss. Room had been cleaned, but clearly done poorly (leaking pipe cleaned but wrapped in towel, trash pushed up against base of the beds, etc.). Breakfast was adequate, but below average for Hampton.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry you were not happy with your overall stay. I am looking into each item you described and assure you your voice is heard loud and clear as well as the items are being addressed. Again, thank you. I do hope you give us that second chance to prove to you we...

Lebanon, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This hotel is nasty the customer service is awful the food is awful just an overall horrible experience for me and my family!! The front desk is also very unhelpful my best advice is to go to a different hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 304brandir
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations during your stay. I will certainly address the areas you described as this is not our practice. I hope you give us a second opportunity to show you we listen and act on what our guests tell us. Again, thank you and safe travels.

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This is a good hotel with good facilities. However I have had an issue with billing, were my pre authorised credit card was actually charged, despite having settled the account with cash. I appreciate mistakes do happen, but I have contacted the hotel twice, and explained the problem to them, and was told that they will investigate and get back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desy-W
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts today. I am so sorry no one has contacted you regarding your credit card authorization. Upon checking in an authorization is placed on the card not an actual charge. I am sure you are aware we do require a credit card on file for potential incidental charges as well as to secure the room for...

Strawberry Plains, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 August 2016

friendly staff, clean rooms, great complimentary breakfast was not just muffins and bagels. my only complaint was not having a room with a refrigerator and microwave which wasn't a big deal for me since my room was near the ice machine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F2148MXjamesn
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the 5 star review. My team works very hard for those 5 STARS. I am sorry about not having a refrigerator in your room however, we do have refrigerators in some rooms we are working to get them in all our rooms as quickly as possible. Once again thank you and we look forward to...

Independence, MO, United States
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The hotel was nice, however the price was high for the quality of accommodations and service we received. It is a good location for going to do things in Memphis even though it is located on the northeast side of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and the 4 star review. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon. Safe travels to you and your family.

Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewed 30 July 2016

They helped me make changes that saved me from paying for an extra nights stay.The rooms are always "Hampton" perfect . There were some awesome bike trails near by for biking and running enthusiasts.Great place to stay !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne J
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 STAR review. I will pass along your kind words to my staff. I am so happy we met your expectations. We hope to see you again very soon. Safe travels to you and your family.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We stayed at the Hampton because it was close to the hospital & medical clinics. The staff was very professional & friendly. The room & bathroom was clean. The breakfast is okay. I did not use the fitness center or pool, but others seem to enjoy them. GREAT location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marisa N
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this 5 STAR review. I am so pleased we met your expectations. We look forward to serving you again very soon. Safe travels to you and your family.

Henderson, Kentucky
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Stay was well place was quiet. Charged for Sunday night when we actually arrived at 3am Monday morning. At least pro rate the time so you dont pay full price and a 1/3 of the day. There were a few fruit flies in the bagels at continental breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rscoe
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I assure you your voice is heard. I will look into the issue you described regarding breakfast. I understand you checked in very late however the room rates are posted for daily use. We are unable to charge based on occupancy by the hour. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Safe travels...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This Hampton Inn is in a peaceful part of Memphis, next to the Baptist Women's Hospital and a Wendy's. That was great because we got in late and were hungry . We checked in with great ease , and the desk clerk was friendly and helpful. We were able to check in online so our room was ready when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon. Safe travels to you and your family.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#20 of 137 in Memphis
612 reviews
2.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East hotel is next to the Memphis business district & has free hot breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. Take the complimentary shuttle service to The Baptist Memorial Hospital or discover great shopping at one of the nearby malls. Explore Shelby Farms or visit Beale Street, Graceland, and Sun Studios just a few miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East

Address: 33 Humphreys Center Dr, Memphis, TN 38120-2335
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: $134 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at another Hampton near by”
 of 5 bubbles peterwitt2016, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There all great!”
 of 5 bubbles bobhU6599XF, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“get off the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles NYSP618, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Use the stairs and side doors for quick entrance/exits. To enter the outside doors you will need a room key.”
 of 5 bubbles 907jeffreyh, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Stay on an upper floor away from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles Marc19002, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay