We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muthu Royal Hotel

Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (35)
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (12)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, in the middle of the Scottish Goldfields, this hotel has fantastic views and four acres of sheltered gardens. With plenty of space in both the dining room and the entertainment lounge for dining, relaxation and dancing, each capable of accommodating 200 guests. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Oban Airfield43 km
Glasgow Intl Airport65 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
89
86
35
22
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
86
35
22
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland heritage visiting scotland worked very hard biscuits meal times coach tour evening meal soup porridge tea or coffee plenty of hot water single room loch lomond the pub west highland way tours driver
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When we arrived at the hotel there was a couple trying to book in. The receptionist didn't appear to be helpful. He asked who they booked through and when they replied 'Groupon' he started laughing stating that Groupon sold rooms that the hotel didn't have....More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Fraser H
Reviewed 28 October 2018

This hotel i conveniently located for visitors travelling between the highlands and central belt. The hotel is impressive from the outside and has an attractive lobby with large wooden staircase. Upstairs, however, the rooms are basic and seem to have been left without renovation for...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank jmacleantaylor
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over a week ago. Can honestly say from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome. The manager was lovely and friendly as were all the staff we met. We stayed in a family room which was...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank tinyb19804
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Food fine. Staff aught to speak better English. Not sure beds made every day cups not washed no entertainment as was advertised But enjoyed our stay and tour of the area both drivers excellent . Hope to return in the futureMore

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Elizabeth W
Response from Quest814473, General Manager at Muthu Royal HotelResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Elizabeth- thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your Highland Heritage Holiday and look forward to welcoming you once again .Please rest assured that all rooms are cleaned and replenished each day. We do have some staff under training and...More

Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We were very disappointed in this hotel. Pictures of it make it look better than it is. You cannot charge a drink to your room and have to go the bar to get a drink to have with your meal. Food was below average. They...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Joanne K
Response from Quest814473, Guest Relations Manager at Muthu Royal HotelResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Joanne K- I am very sorry we didn't seem to have met your expectations, however I can assure you that we are making a number of changes which will improve service levels. Having said that, guests can order a drink and charge it to...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Monty C
My partener and I were unfortunate enough to be placed in room 57 at the Royal Hotel at Tyndrum, having read the remarks of passed visitors complaints about noisy cielings seem to be regular since 2014 for rooms 55 to 59. The response to me from the hotel was that you cannot be held responsible for the activities of guests who have trouble sleeping. I beg to differ. The actions of the people above our heads were to walk backwards and forwards across their room for an hour after we went to bed and they started again an hour before we would have liked have got up. Even when we intended getting up at 6'o' clock the day of departure. Goodness knows the reason for this activity, but considering the number of complaints you must have recieved I would say it was down to the hotel management to rectify the problem with the floor or close the offending rooms. For the sake of other unaware guests, I do not intend letting this matter drop without a solution, our five day break was ruined by four nights in room 57. I would like to know what you intend doing about the problems with these rooms?
23 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Brenda T | Reviewed this property |
We were in room 24 on the 'half floor' and the noise from above and either side of our room was terrible. The people who were actually in the adjoining rooms also complained of the noise. So this is definatley not restricted... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Get another hotel"
892fraserh
6 Nov. 2018
Read review
"Views from all rooms are great. Eat at the local chip shop. Don't Stay"
tophatjones
22 Aug. 2018
Read review
"Choose a different hotel"
JanD3954
4 Aug. 2018
Read review
"Ask to see it first"
cat560
2 Jul. 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 80 - USD 148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandLoch Lomond and The Trossachs National ParkTyndrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing