We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Tarbet Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Tarbet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

735 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bay Tarbet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 727: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a shearings 5 day bay break inclusive trip from 10th march. The hotel looks amazing when you drive up and didn't disappoint when entering. This is a beautiful old building with lots of character. Our room 133 had beautiful views of the loch and Ben Lomand, through a beautiful big bay window. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kerry T
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the package to be such good value for money. Bay Hotels and Shearings are running some fantastic offers at the moment that are just unbelievable!!!! The Tarbet Hotel has bags of character and looks...

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Tarbet hotel is a 200 year hotel stood just across the road from Loch Lomond. Surrounded by stunning scenery. I stayed there on a Shearings Monday to Friday break. Brilliant value for money. The hotel reflected the value of the break. Plenty of character including creaking floor boards (anybody or thing would creak at 200 years). This all added to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank delphine646
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I’m glad to read that you found your stay brilliant value for money and enjoyed your 5 day break with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your observations on certain areas of the hotel, we are always looking for ways to improve and your comments are appreciated. Certain areas require a little bit more TLC...

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Another great Shearings five day, four night, break. Food was nice and a good choice to choose from although could have done with another member of staff in the dining room at its busiest time. The twin bedroom (211) was very tired and needed some work on the cracked ceiling, peeling wallpaper and badly fitted window which let a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your “Great” Shearings break and you found the food to be of a good standard. There are some areas, as with any hotel of this age, that require continual TLC and we continue to work on this at all times....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Had a great four night midweek break at The Tarbet. Great value for money and included a three course dinner, bed and breakfast and four drinks in the bar each day. Entertainment every evening in the lounge area for those wishing to partake. A decent choice of good food. Lovely breakfasts. Nice clean and comfortable room, although the bathroom needs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trish P
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your compliments to all the staff involved, they will be very happy to read that you found them to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you back at...

Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014

was superb well worth the money the driver was superb the scenery was out of this world and the hospitality ,food entertainment was great the trips out were also great the bar was a little expensive we had hot water all our stay no creaky floorboards in our room could do with updating tv station a bit we were able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zandyband
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your lovely review I’m so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your great comments to all the departments. We hope to welcome you back to us very soon.

England
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Fourth holiday in Scotland with Shearings and can only say this hotels is average.The food was very good but the nightly specials ran out very quickly and our Cream teas turned out to be tea and a packet of biscuits .Downstairs seems newly updated,the bar and restaurant were very comfortable.The ladies toilets and the front lounge were absolutely rank .Our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MMM52
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and I shall raise the points mentioned regarding the specials with the catering staff. The specials are subject to availability but there is usually a large enough quantity made to ensure all guests get the...

Whitehaven UK
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here in early February. Staff were great especially Diane our waitress. Good entertainment, especially on Gala Night. Food was varied and good for the price paid. Bedroom needed decorated. No hot water after 10,00pm. Creaky floorboards in corridors. Only 4 poor TV channels!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GordonWhitehavenUK
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m glad to read that you found your stay good value for money and I will pass on your comments to the staff, especially Diane who I am sure will be delighted. Unfortunately due to the age of the building it does creek in certain areas but she...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here recently with Shearings in a discrete group from our local church - 47 of us. We had a lovely large room having paid for a loch view and this was both clean and comfortable. The food was excellent with very generous portions - we both had the chef's special of haggis, neeps and tatties - the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarianVaughn
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did, it was a pleasure to look after you. I will pass all your comments on to all the departments mentioned, I am sure they will be very happy to hear that you found them...

teesside
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Arrived via sheerings trip exterior location superb, so close to walks and loch lomond.check in first class , bar area warm comfortable but small if 2 coach trips in however first class ample seating area's on ground floors. Excellant food in well appointed dining room with disabled facilities to aid a few stairs to it.very busy but polite young staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teessidecolonel
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff, especially Gina, who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to your return visit to the Tarbet, hopefully in the near future

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2014

having stayed and worked at tarbet, i can say that its an excellent experience to see loch lomond and ben lomond aswell as the arrochar alps including the cobbler even a visit to luss on loch lomond where they filmed take the high road is a must, the staff are freindly and the hotel is a good craic for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank max m
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post the great review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to all the staff, they will be delighted. Chef will be delighted that his Haggis got a mention!!! We hope you will visit us again in the near future

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
2.0 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
374 reviews
2.2 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,040 reviews
11.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
23.3 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
22.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Price Range: $78 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have to eat at Hotel or drive to get any choice of dining establishments”
 of 5 bubbles jedlots, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lake view room if you wish”
 of 5 bubbles denis89, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“worth upgrading to have beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles JeanLo2, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check Reviews before you decide to stay there, & don't be afraid to ask for quiet room if you require one”
 of 5 bubbles 853margaretc, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the swing doors outside room 137 very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles traceyc795, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5