We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Tarbet Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Tarbet Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

735 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bay Tarbet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 727: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This dream of a hotel in tarbet scotland is one of the best stays i and my wife have taken, the hotel itself has all the charm of old scotland kept extremely clean, the choice of food offered is unbeatable and very well presented by excellent staff who look after you second to none,it is one of the hotels throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joe w
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Wow!! thank you so much for this very positive and lovely review. I am glad to here that you enjoyed your stay and found all parts of your break with us to be to your enjoyment. I will pass on your comments to all the staff, who I am sure will be overjoyed to hear how much you...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I think our bedroom was the furthest from reception and facilities - one could feel the corridor becoming colder the further one went - our room whilst clean on the surface had long been in need of a deep clean (behind wardrobe, radiator under bed). The food generally was good but how the waitresses had to work to get the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E K
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, I will look into your concerns to establish what, if anything, had gone wrong. Unfortunately as these issues were not reported at the time it is difficult to resolve them now, If they had been reported at the time I am sure our staff would have been more than happy...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a weekend away at the Tarbet Hotel, Loch Lomond. The Hotel is ideally situated but unfortunately the weather was not very kind to us. The food was very good and the waitress service was excellent. The entertainment has a lot to be desired not to everyone's taste. This is the second time I have been to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed, for the large part, your stay with us. I will pass your lovely comments on to our catering and service staff who will be very happy to hear that they looked after you well. I will pass on your comments regarding the entertainment to the...

Whitstable
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have nothing but praise for the value for money that Shearings offer on their weekend deals. On this occasion we were up for the Commonwealth Games and noticed that this hotel was just outside Glasgow. In hindsight I wished we had stayed here and not been ripped off by the prices Glasgow charged! The Target is in a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 8Bubble
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review I am glad to read that you find our company and the hotel offers their customers excellent value for money, I could not agree more!!! I will pass on your lovely comments to all our staff especially Jan, who will be very grateful. Bay hotels continues to...

Lancashire
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Came here with our mother to celebrate her 84th birthday. She loved it. The food was lovely, with some excellent choices. My mother did have a fall due to the unevenness of the flooring on the second floor corridor - however, the manager provided us with a wheelchair for us to use all weekend and all was well. We found...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maryann73
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and found it such excellent value for money. I hope your mother is feeling better now and I was only to happy to assist in ensuring the comfort of you and your family during your break. Unfortunately there must have...

Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed Friday to Monday on a self drive. We arrived early so couldn't book in and as the weather was good wandered down to the Loch to look around. We came back at 3pm and were booked in to room 142, which overlooked the car park at the back of the hotel, but also had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mother51
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to read that found most aspects of your stay to be enjoyable, I will look into your comments regarding the bathroom issues you had. As always, we look to improve on our standards and value your business and your constructive criticism. So thank you for...

Glasgow
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have to say finding this hotel was a god send. It is ideally located next to the lochs, and a short boat trip from the West Highland Way trail. Knowing this fact might come in handy to beginners or ,like me, unprepared walkers of the WHW. It was August last year and a surprisingly hot day. I had travelled...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LindieLaw
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review I am glad to read that you found all of the facilities to your liking, even if the details are a wee bit too much!!! lol We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Haste ye back!!!

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Today we were travelling home from a brilliant holiday in Ardnamurchan. We left at 6am and had rung to check the hotel served breakfast to non-residents. We were told it was available between 8am and 9am. We arrived at 8.30am, looking forward to our cooked breakfasts. We were finally shown a seat after being kept waiting for about 5 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LitSmith
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting your review. I am disappointed to read that you had some issues with the service during your dining experience with us. I apologise if you did not receive our usual excellent standard of service and I have discussed this with the staff involved to ensure there is action taken where necessary. I am aware...

Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I have just spent a long weekend at this hotel and were very disappointed with our room - it was very small in fact you could not open the showeroom door fully as it hit the bed, the shower was broken when we checked in and the wash hand basin and the shower tray were filthy, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BOB G
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. Your very kind comments about the staff and the food will be passed on to the relevant departments, they will be very happy to hear that they impressed. I am disappointed to read that you did not find the accommodation to your satisfaction, had you have let us know about your concerns at the...

Larbert, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

All round good service and food was good, no complaints here. Well worth a visit if you are in the area, only complaint did not serve to 18:00 on a Saturday. Food was of a good standard for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fawkirk1
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your eating experience with us, we certainly feel that we provide a good and tasty selection of food here at the Tarbet. We open from 12pm – 5pm for lunches and 6.30pm for 8pm for evening meals. We hope to see you again at the Tarbet.

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
2.0 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
375 reviews
2.2 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,041 reviews
11.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
23.3 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
22.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Price Range: $83 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have to eat at Hotel or drive to get any choice of dining establishments”
 of 5 bubbles jedlots, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lake view room if you wish”
 of 5 bubbles denis89, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“worth upgrading to have beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles JeanLo2, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check Reviews before you decide to stay there, & don't be afraid to ask for quiet room if you require one”
 of 5 bubbles 853margaretc, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the swing doors outside room 137 very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles traceyc795, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5