We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

TripAdvisorUSD 92*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 103*
USD 92*
Great Deal
USD 103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

887 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 887: English reviews
Start your review of The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely weekend...Not lucky to get one of the refurbished bedrooms but did not spoil our weekend.....Food was excellent..served hot and good portions and serving staff were on the ball.....Entertainment was smashing with the resident James Knight and Limited Edition and an Abba Tribute Act on Saturday.....A special word for James Knight who has a brilliant personality and is a tremendous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, beautiful views. Went on a shearings trip and though we didn't get a refurbished room the room was clean and warm. The food was lovely and the staff were brilliant . overall the trip started well. The trips around the island, and to Inverary were beautiful. The trip to Dunoon was disappointing. Even the driver said it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jemma D
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just returned home from a 4 night break with Shearings , the only downfall was the excursions ( grim , boring , scruffy places Dunoon being the worst ) Anyway back to the Glenburn , the hotel is beautiful and in a stunning location with marvellous views ( be sure to pay extra for a sea view room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karn O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although the room we were offered (in the ground floor extension) had been refurbished, it had no shower facility so I asked for a change of room. The staff were accommodating and we were given room 316. Up on the third floor, it had also been refurbished and had lovely views down the coast. Unfortunately it did not have any...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marion J
Management response:

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on our site. We will take look in to the points that you have mentioned and yes we will certainly look at purchasing some net curtains. Lovely comments about the staff and entertainment which I will pass on to the team. Thank you again for your review and hope to...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a 4 day stay at the Glenburn with Shearing's Holiday's We were in the part which needs up dating but the room was clean and comfortable. The food was very good and the dinning staff were really on the ball our waitress Rita was a lovely young lady who looked after us well. All in all we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grenville F
Management response:

Wow fantastic review so thank you for sharing it for other travellers to see. So glad you enjoyed what we had to offer and yes I agree she is s very impressive hotel and with the refurbishment it is really taking shape. Look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Thank you again for your fab review....

New Stevenston, Strathclyde
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room 119 was pure luxury, only had a minor problem with another friends room but was sorted quickly and she was given another room. Glenburn are refurbishing all rooms and what a difference they are lovely, the food was excellent, the staff very friendly, the girls in the restaurant were very competent and got everything right and we got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coachtourer
Management response:

Many thanks for your fantastic review, great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. 119 is indeed a beautiful room and to date one of my favourites. Rothesay has some fabulous walks so hope you enjoyed the scenery. I will pass on to the rest of the team your kind comments and hope you return one day...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very grand hotel which harks back to the busy past the island had. Some of the common areas have been refurbished and are to a very high standard, the areas which have not yet been reached whilst grand are a little jaded at the edges although more than acceptable (I stayed in a non refurbished room). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatdad62
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely posting and kind comments on your stay at the Glenburn. We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others on our site. Hope you do decide to book with us again and many thanks once again for your review. Kind Regards Debbie Deputy Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay with amazing views of the bay Our room was beautifully decorated although the toilet is old it was very clean and the food is lovely and staff friendly ant wait to come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcgheeben
Management response:

What a wonderful review thank you for sharing it on our site. Lovely to see you found your break with us relaxing and you great comments about your time at the Glenburn and just to let you know you can book direct with us should you wish too on 01700 502500. Kind Regards Debbie Deputy Manager

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very impressive, even though some of it was work in progress. the rooms beautifully decorated, food very good, entertainment excellent, and John the entertainment manager really made every one feel very welcome. Service was very good and price for the weekend was quite remarkable. Few interesting places to see around the island.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yolandah925
Management response:

Big thank you from all the team at the Glenburn for your posting. By all accounts you enjoyed the service that you received during your stay and always good to see that guests find our breaks good value for money. Hope you return to explore the Island in the future and remember you can book direct with us at the...

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel in pouring rain , but hey it's Scotland so that wasn't too bad (or good) , the coach pulled up near the entrance and they had decided to paint the handrail black that was in the middle of the steps leading to the front door --- so a good few people got black hands and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johniej2017
Management response:

Can I start by apologising for any paint that you got on your hands but we did have signs up warning guests of this. There is a supplement on the sea view rooms and guests that were allocated these rooms had paid the supplement. When you asked about upgrading as we do with other guests we charge the supplement. Can...

407 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (397)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.9 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
233 reviews
0.5 km away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
83 reviews
1.7 km away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
2,076 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
91 reviews
0.4 km away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: $125 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Burntwood, England, United Kingdom
Leeds Yorkshire England
Preston
26 days ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“request sea view first floor”
G2558HTdavids, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea views r beautiful but other members of our trip got a view of the gardens and got some visitors inc baby deer and rabbits”
422jemmad, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were at back of hotel but still had a great view, sea views have supplements but we were very happy with what we got.”
Coachtourer, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to have a sea view - it'll cost you though . Oh yes and it needs to be a re-furbished one . That might cost you too .”
johniej2017, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have excellent sea views.”
dennydee22, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 92* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 103
Hotels.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates