We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 420: English reviews
Start your review of The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stopped by the Bothy Bar one evening for drinks with a friend and we were lucky enough to meet the owner(s). Mark and his partner were extremely friendly and generous, and we spent a fun evening chatting. The bartender was also very welcoming and made sure we were all set up to watch a football match by a nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came here as a Base for my weekend adventure staying in the small cabins with the 4 bunk beds, 2 of us and a dog, quite basic but having everything you need and fantastic views of a morning really enjoyed myself and will be back here again shortly, trip on a budget absolutely

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the cabins from the Friday to the Sunday had a lovely stay the cabins are spacious and clean. They have a laundry room with a kettle and a sink right next to the cabins, the shower and toilets is only a short walk from the cabins. The pub right next to the cabins has a great atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 583emma
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in one of the cabins for 4 nights, with my dog, each cabin has 4 bunk beds and a heater for colder months. Plenty of room for luggage/rucksacks. There is an indoor cooking/washing up area, outside the cabins. Two showers and toilets, a 2 minute walk. Facilities and cabins were spotless. Dogs are allowed to stay in the cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seaeagle2778
UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on my own for one night before heading further north. It was a very welcoming place with lovely rooms and facilities. Everyone was very friendly and the food both in the evening and breakfast was excellent. It was the first time I've stayed in a hotel on my own but felt completely relaxed and will certainly return when walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VenueSkala
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a two night break here with our 10 year old and 4 month old puppy. The hotel was very warm and welcoming. We had the family room (4) which had plenty of room for the dog crate too. It was clean, well stocked with tea and coffee, soft towels and a hairdryer. It had a tv but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jj1470
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We stayed in one of the cabins to run the Glencoe Half Marathon. These little cabins are amazing, very cozy inside with the heater on. The hotel bar has great beer and the bar food is yummy. Had breakfast each morning, and nothing was too much trouble from the staff. Would highly recommend these cabins. We've booked to go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthyh21
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here twice before on New Year's Eve and twice before at other times of the year and always found it cosy and practical and enjoyed our stay. However this time we were very very disappointed. We stayed with another family in the cabins so 2 cabins with 2 adults and 2 children's in each. We arrived and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dollydoyle
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review

Please let me apologise that you felt the Hogmanay party was disappointing as we know from your previous visits that you have always enjoyed them. Mark and I are upset that you did not feel you could broach any of your complaints at the time of the stay and that this is the first that we have heard about them....

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We had a lovely stay in Kinlochleven. The staff were really nice, food tasted great and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. There are plenty of beautiful sights to see during the day, and in the evening you can enjoy a lovely meal and some drinks while chatting with fellow guests in the bar. Having food allergies, I was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonnemoe
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I stayed here with my dog, he was made as welcome as I was which was good, I had went to go explore the Great Glen, Glen Coe and the Nevis range, for my purpose it was great 20 mins from fort William, I'm a keen photographer so the scenery was spot on, the view from the seating area outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bge92012

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
10.5 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.5 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
293 reviews
13.4 km away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
629 reviews
15.1 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
522 reviews
17.2 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Price Range: $103 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 5 which had a lovely view of the loch and mountains”
 of 5 bubbles VenueSkala, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are the same they all face the same way so doesn't really matter”
  • The view from outside the bar
 of 5 bubbles bge92012, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seem equivalent”
 of 5 bubbles teresat994, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Room facing the river for a quiet night off the road”
 of 5 bubbles LovesAWine, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Personally would wild camp somewhere further along the Way”
 of 5 bubbles PatrickRAwesome, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5