We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 471: English reviews
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

3 is a little harsh and I would give 3.5 if trip advisor's system of scoring allowed. The food was fine-we got what we paid for. The young Polish lady worked really hard and was very pleasant, certainly an asset to the hotel. Would I go back, yes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were very friendly and attentive, but the hotel was cold, menu was short, no puddings, and inedible poor quantity burger and cold fish and chips completely pointlessly served on a breadboard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Stanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

hotel very clean staff 100% food good and hot room 59 clean if a little tired traveled itress shearings staff in dinning room very helpful we had a girl called zsuzsi she was fantastic reception staff great fix the tv straight away bar food great the sharing platter well worth the money cant praise this hotel enough will stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank brahamrussell
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

What a lovely place Braemar, we went here for a weekend and booked into the Invercauld Arms Hotel, it has a great position and looks so old and grand from the outside, as I’m sure it must have been in its day. Sadly there is so much that needs updating and replacing especially in the room we were given. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank helenmoore2015
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Comfortable and very warm rooms. Helpful and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food was good and plenty of it. A delicious steak on one evening and yummy desserts. This was our third stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed. Will surely visit again. Braemar is so lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jac L
Preesall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Our third visit to Braemar with Shearings, staying at the Invercauld Arms Hotel. Despite outside temperatures of -10C the hotel was warm, and the staff are efficient and pleasant as always. But, and sorry for the but, the hotel is now also accommodating some workmen from the new hotel construction site in the village centre, and some of the language...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GeoffAdams
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We were 15 mins late for dinner due to a breakdown on route. Called hotel to let them know. On arrival only thing on offer was a sandwich or fish and chips. No other courses offered even when we asked. Fish chips and a slice of lemon only. Told breakfast was at 7:30 but when came down it didnt open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seaimp
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, i have looked into this, and can apologies for the mix up of the Breakfast times this should not have happened, the staff got you a hot meal and dessert which your party seemed happy with at the time. Regards Jane

glasgow
Reviewed 2 November 2016

When we arrived we checked with Receipton where we could get an evening meal and we were directed to a small Bar where we could get just a drink or a meal. The surroundings were very Scottish orientated and very comfortable with a small bar on the left as we entered. You order your food at the bar and there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank robert g
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a 5* review, so nice to read you enjoyed your evening meal with us , will pass on your comments to my team, thanks again, hope to see you soon. Regards Jane

sussex
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Booked through Shearings for a 5 day break on October 17th, stayed in room 36 which was lovely and clean, large bedroom, tea tray replenished daily, hairdryer and flat screen tv in room, clean towels as and when required, never saw the housekeeping staff but the room was always clean and tidy when we returned to it. Large bathroom with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marinersd
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Booked thru Shearings . No complaints hotel provided a good all round service. Rooms agree bit dated but this adds to the charm. Decent food choice only complaint was the hot items at breakfast barely warm Staff very good. Enjoyable week end

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, glad you enjoyed the food and had a enjoyable weekend, will look at the breakfast buffet as the breakfast items should be served hot. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Jane

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.1 km away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Braemar
175 reviews
16.3 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
349 reviews
38.8 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
543 reviews
31.5 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
339 reviews
21.5 km away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: $128 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
tonbridge
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
11 months ago
tonbridge
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles brahamrussell, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“View towards Braemar Castle is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles jacl93, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms very widely in facilities and there's no lift.. But hotel management will do their best to make you comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAdams, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had only an evening bar meal there but will go again.”
 of 5 bubbles 572robertg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 36 is set more to the side of the hotel as opposed to the front.”
 of 5 bubbles marinersd, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5