We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Poolewe Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Poolewe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Poolewe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Sheffield
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch while touring Scotland. Didn't look much from the outside but was modern and nice inside, and appeared to have been recently renovated. A good selection on the menu and we both decided to have a prawn and smoked Salmon salad. It was amazing and one of the best meals all week. It was a generous portion...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire999
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests particularly when it is so positive. It is our aim to provide a varied menu using locally sourced food wherever possible and value for money. I do hope that you will visit us again when you are next in the vicinity.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Good place to stop in an amazing scenario. Nice and clean room, very quiet. The service seems not so experienced, the food at the bar nothing special. Quite expensive in high season. Incredible route to achieve the place. Very close to the hotel there is also a playground for children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ziofrenky
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, found it to be quiet and clean. You mention that you thought the price quite high. We are very competitively priced for the area and have received many comments to this effect. As you point out the hotel is situated...

Morayshire
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Having spent the previous weekend in Falkirk with my brother and his family (on holiday from Australia) we then travelled to Poolewe to make a family pilgrimage to Inverewe gardens where ,as children, we had numerous holidays. We stayed at the campsite for 2 nights and it rained in biblical proportions throughout. We had to eat, obviously, and on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colinthefalkirkbairn
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meals in the hotel and found the service, quality of food and prices to be of such a high standard. We do aim to provide fresh, locally sourced (as much as possible) food in a friendly atmosphere. I am sorry...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Only stayed one night and it was wet but location of hotel fantastic. Food at cafe hotel and breakfast cannot be faulted .. Near Inverewe gardens pool just around the corner easy access to north and south with stunning views and no midges

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seniorparty5
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Poolewe Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and particularly appreciated the meals at the Hotel. As you rightly say, the Hotel is in a fantastic location; just 90 minutes drive from Inverness Airport and ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner...

ENGLISHMAN ABROAD
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I've read the previous reviews - some good some bad. We needed a dog friendly hotel near Inverewe Gardens - decision made! Not the cheapest but their management bent over backwards to help us when we had to pull forward our visit. Family room, clean, comfortable bed and, other than the escapees from a clog dancing college who were our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAPTAINCOOK10
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to accommodate your change of date. Although we are a small hotel we do our upmost to ensure we provide good quality food, comfortable and clean accommodation at a reasonable price. We are a dog friendly hotel and fully appreciate that many of our...

Wirral
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We were in the area for four weeks and ate in the pub quite a few times. The regular menu items are tasty and well cooked but keep an eye on the Specials Board because the ones we tried were particularly good and of a very good standard. Great to see the pub so busy. Gary and staff as welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kaybee210
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Poolewe Hotel again; I know you have visited us on many occasions. I am delighted to hear that you found the food tasty and well cooked and as you say, our specials board is well worth a look. Gary and the staff look forward to your...

Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Currently staying in Poolewe with 3 dogs. As soon as we walked in here a bowl of fresh drinking water was put down to the dogs. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food was really good. Really nice to visit with the dogs and be warmly welcomed without a hefty price tag.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kulacaz
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you and your dogs received such a warm welcome. We are a dog friendly hotel because we appreciate that many guests wish to bring their dogs with them as the hotel is in an ideal location for walking. It is important to us that we are able...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed here for one night as part of our North Coast 500 tour. We booked at fairly short notice. Our room was in the annex to the hotel, accessed through the bar or from the carpark. The room was fairly small and the decor and furniture dated, however it was adequate for what we needed. We ate dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle L
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and found the service friendly and attentive. As you pointed out the Hotel is right next to the loch and less than a mile from the world famous Inverewe Gardens. I am sorry however that you thought the room décor/furniture...

Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

This was to be the best night of our North Coast 500 (the most expensive overnight accommodation) but it was a disapointment. The room was cramped, and although the towels etc were clean the furnishings and fixtures and fittings were not. The shower hose was broken, the floor boards creaked dreadfully, the lino in the bathroom was curling at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linda r
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. I have spoken with the Manager and he has checked the room in question and cannot find any problem with the shower hose or lino. Some floorboards in the main Hotel building do creek a little due to the age of the Hotel, however we have never...

Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

My friend and I booked to eat in this hotel. It was quite busy the evening we went. The food was 'pub grub' style. But a little later after eating our meal a couple came in with their dog and sat down in the restaurant, much to our amazement. We were not happy at all to be eating our meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindatrimblett
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I have discussed your comments with the Manager who informs me that you ate in the conservatory not the restaurant and the dog was in the bar area, after you had finished your meal. We are very much a family and dog friendly hotel and appreciate that many guests wish to bring their dogs with...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
6.7 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
216 reviews
9.7 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
128 reviews
7.7 km away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
543 reviews
8.2 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
210 reviews
25.5 km away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional highland hotel and restaurant, on the shores of Loch Ewe in sight of Inverewe Gardens. Poolewe Hotel is a 16th-Century coaching inn in the picturesque village of Poolewe on the shore of Loch Ewe near Gairloch on the NW Coast of Scotland. Just 90 minutes of beautiful easy driving from Inverness Airport. Set amidst dramatic Highland scenery, Poolewe Hotel is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner of Scotland. Guests can choose from twelve en-suite bedrooms and suites, most enjoying spectacular views most of the sea or mountains. In addition, Poolewe Hotel boasts a reputation for excellent food with a restaurant, a conservatory dining area, and a bar. Log fires in all the public rooms contribute to the friendly atmosphere of this historic inn. The hotel welcomes dogs; there is ample parking and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Visit Poolewe whether to relax or to enjoy an active holiday, or a combination of both. • Visit the world-famous National Trust for Scotland Inverewe Gardens situated less than a mile from the hotel, clearly visible from the hotel dining room. • Enjoy hill walking. There are maps available in the hotel outlining the various routes, catering for a wide range of abilities. • Trout and salmon fishing, whale watching, deer stalking, canoeing, climbing, mountain biking, pony trekking, golf are all on offer in the area. • Take in the beautiful and inspiring scenery. • Visit a traditional small highland distillery. • Witness the amazing wildlife of Western Europe's last true wilderness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poolewe Hotel

Address: Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Price Range: $161 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poolewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poolewe Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Poolewe Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Poolewe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the annexe”
  • More early morning
  • Early morning from room
, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with sea view. It's worth every penny.”
9552095, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms above the breakfast room may hear the morning radio playing downstairs.”
BobC159, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You can book a room with sea view or an annexe with family accomodation”
441brendal, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good to dogs”
115angusf, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5