We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duisdale House Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 243*
View Deal
#2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 250*
USD 243*
USD 250*
USD 250*
USD 243*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Duisdale House Hotel
Duisdale House Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Duisdale House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 505: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Choosing to stay here during my 4-day hillwalking visit to the Isle of Skye was one of the best decisions of my life. Having a full breakfast before heading out on a long day of hiking, then returning to a full, wonderfully prepared dinner is as ideal a day as you can ask for. The staff was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pbuda57
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Duisdale house last week, August , due to the Andrew Harper recommendation. It was very disappointing , we left a day early and paid for the time we were not there . The decoration son of the whole place is very dark and somewhat drab as the decorator saw fit to pick black...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Maria F
Duisdale_Manager, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Maria. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. Had you mentioned any of your concerns during your stay, each could have all been resolved easily however the décor is personal with each and every room displayed on all of our websites. This we are unwilling to change and feel that bland...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Given the glowing reviews this hotel had received I was disappointed with our time at the Duisdale. We had primarily picked this hotel due to the feature of being able to sail on the yacht that is predominately shown on their website. The hotel itself has a lovely location a very short walk from the beach and has large grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alex S
Duisdale_Manager, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear of your disappointment regarding the sailing trip which had to be cancelled. We have no control over the elements and have great respect for the sea. As you remember it was mentioned the night before your sailing trip that the Shipping Forecast was giving out a Warning of Gale Force...

London, UK
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Duisdale House is a small, beautifully appointed hotel on the road between Kyle of Lochalsh and Armadale. The staff were attentive and helpful. The room was on the small side, but stylish and with all mod cons. Apart from the stunning view, the best bit was the food. Dinner was outstanding, and breakfast ranked among our top three hotel breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanorrigby131
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel this summer; the house is beautiful, in a charming property with a lovely garden and trees around. You would need to consider booking the restaurant which serve delicious meal as well, as there are not that many options in the immediate surrounding. A place to visit without any doubt

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were staying locally on Skye for a few days, and went to the Duisdale for a meal. It was stunning. We were with a party of five and chose from the a la carte menu. We arrived and were shown into the sitting room where we had drinks, and our coats were taken. Our meals were, without exception, excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surfer-chic2
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Dulsdale House for 1 night as part of a mini-moon around Scotland after we got married. This was our first time on the Isle of Skye and Dulsdale House was lovely. The hotel is situated on the road across from the water's edge but raised high enough that the setting is beautiful. We had a room in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GDoherty79
Inverness, Scotland
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at Duisdale House. It was extremely comfortable in all respects and the food and service were first class. We also enjoyed a day's sailing with the owners, Ken and Anne, on their 50' yacht. They were wonderful hosts and this was really the icing on the cake to make for a terrific short break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian_lane802
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited the hotel for afternoon tea which was served in the conservatory with views of the gardens. The tea itself consisted of a selection of sandwiches, canapes, cakes and scones, washed down with as much tea or coffee as we could drink. The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JZHendry
midlands
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel is in a nice setting. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were extremely small, absolutely nowhere to put the cases. Couldn't use the suitcase rest as there was no room to walk around once it was folded out. We had to climb over the suitcases to get to the bathroom. Apparently, this was a boutique room, I think that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janetbenton

470 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Alternative Four Poster Garden View (20)
Viewed
Classic Double (21)
Viewed
Classic Double Woodland View (20)
Viewed
Four Poster Garden View (19)
Viewed
Four Poster Seaview (20)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (15)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
1.3 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
58.9 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
36.9 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
342 reviews
53.8 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
143 reviews
36.9 km away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Price Range: $257 - $2,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duisdale House Hotel Sleat, Isle Of Skye, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duisdale House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Duisdale House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms have excellent outlook”
  • View through window
  • Front lawn and view of Sound of Sleat
  • Car park
  • Bed facing window
  • Double bedroom
  • Desk with tea and coffee making facilities
  • Rainshower and bath
Sandyretriever, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best view, over the water.”
Q8921OOsh, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views will be at the front of the hotel - there's a storage unit and office at the rear so that's quite noisy (and there's no view!)”
635GregR, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The four poster bed is worth it :)”
stephenhogan182, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room with a Sea View best but obviously more expensive.”
614iaint, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 243* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 250
Expedia.comUSD 243
TripAdvisorUSD 243
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates