We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Brighton, UK
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Almost at the end of the 2016 season we flew in to the hotel's airfield to spend a night here after a gap of seven years since our last visit. The approach to the airfield was slightly challenged by geese on the grass runway but we managed not to hit any otherwise I suspect there would have been an additional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauldean78
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Excellent base to explore the island and for trips to Iona. Friendly staff and excellent food and wine. Well stocked bar with a great selection of wine. Airfield attached to hotel - were amused when we heard over the radio that a Boeing was requesting permission to land, turned out to be a 1930's biplane not a 747!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank6449
Liverpool
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed for 4 September days at Glenforsa hotel, too many good things to say about it. The location and views are stunning looking back over the Sound of Mull to the mainland. If you're cycling it's an ideal base for the north and south of the island. Friendly staff, spotlessly clean, we had one of the log style cabins,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
Brighton, Colorado
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The hotel is built of logs in the European style. Beautiful view of the ocean and lovely grounds. Well-stocked bar, friendly staff, and good bar food. The rooms, especially the bathrooms need updating but if you are looking for rustic this is the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The Glenforsa is an excellent base to explore the island from. Nothing fancy but very comfortable & clean. Alison & Brendan are very welcoming & helpful. Food was extremely good. We will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iso52
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

My son and I have been to Mull almost every year since 1984. We passed the Hotel and often viewed the menu, but it seemed over nice to our meagre requirements. But one year recently we visited and were made to feel welcome, as I had flown fom the airsttip. But I feel i would have been welcome anyway. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kem036
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

So I really want to be fair. The Glenforsa looked good. "Good Food and Good hospitality". So we booked it for one night. £98.00 + :Aviation wise: Runway good condition, well maintained. X-wind from the south, curl over, windsheer, several Aircraft landing downwind to avoid the windsheer. Hotel and Accom: Overpriced. No where near a reasonable standard. No not clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bob_S_York
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Firstly we would like to apologise for the wind at Glenforsa, we assume that it was the trauma of wrestling with the controls to overcome the curl over and windsheer that led you to abandon your large plastic aircraft in the middle of the parking area and go for a stroll across the runway causing the aircraft on...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We appreciate this hotel is on an island and that comes with extra expense, however £98 for B&B was overpriced. The room which is log cabin style was basic with few homely touches and needs updating with more powerful lighting. We have never stayed in a hotel or B&B that does not have a TV in the room, maybe the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mfb4138
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Glenforsa Hotel. The reason we do not have TV's in the room is because feedback from our guests indicates that the majority prefer it that way, we do however have free wi-fi throughout the hotel and TV's in our lounge and family rooms. We apologise if you did...

Glasgow
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Food was piping hot, fish not as good as other places on the island, texture was of frozen quality. Steak pie was decent and massive portion. The Pinot Grigio was over priced at £20 a bottle, the wine does not live up to that price it's tasteless and bitter

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenmor11
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, we do not use frozen produce in our restaurant as all of our produce is sourced locally. I do recall our conversation regarding the wine which was chosen compliment our menu by our wine merchant, who has been voted Scottish Wine Merchant of the year for the 5th...

Kiltarlity, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Had a beautiful meal with some family members. The food was simply delicious. Most had seafood but one had duck and all were so enjoyable. We also tried the mini Creme Brulee to finish and that just finished it off beautifully along with some very nice coffees. The view from our table looked down the wonderful Sound of Mull and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ospreychick2013

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salen
14.7 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
13.8 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
357 reviews
13.8 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
30.5 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,623 reviews
16.8 km away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Address: Salen | Aros, Salen PA72 6JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Salen
Price Range: $217 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenforsa Hotel Mull 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenforsa Hotel Mull staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Camberley
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenforsa Hotel Mull staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we used was excellent. Worth having a room overlooking the sea?”
 of 5 bubbles Frank6449, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our cabin was superb”
 of 5 bubbles JulianC34, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a clean & Light room.”
 of 5 bubbles Bob_S_York, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to overlook the airfield as the view is stunning.”
 of 5 bubbles Steveivell, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“On shores of a Loch. We had a forest room and rooms were log cabins. Very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 1234Col, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5