We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Butterfly Gap Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Butterfly Gap Retreat
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Butterfly Gap Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Benton AR
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

I saw an article on BGR in Southern Living Magazine a couple years ago. I thought it seemed like a special place for my wife and I to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. Our time at BGR was beyond special. Tucked away in the mountains this 7 house bed and breakfast was the perfect little get away. We were one of...

Thank Elliesoo
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I've been so busy recommending Butterfly Gap to all of my friends that I forgot to actually post a review on here (whoops). We stayed for a weekend at the end of May for my birthday, and I genuinely did not want to leave when the trip was over. Butterfly Gap is a cut above everyone else, and I have...

Thank HwaetWeGardena
Reviewed 15 June 2015

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend for our anniversary. This place is BEAUTIFUL. The lake is always calm and there's little to no activity during the day, the scenic overlook is spectacular, you can see for miles and can watch the sun set over the valley, and all of this is sheltered in a hidden little valley...

2Thank Eric B
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

Spent a week at this wonderful place! The cabin was everything we hoped for with a babbling brook, songbirds, porch swing and rocking chairs. The cabin had all the amenities of a modern home and super clean. Our cabin #225 had a wood burning stove and big comfy couches. The property is beautiful and well maintained, each cabin is secluded...

Thank Laurie V
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

I attended a wedding here and it was STUNNING. I don't know about the cost or the structure of the event but it looks like there was option for indoor or outdoor ceremony and it was just beautiful. The reception area was a little small I think it was probably perfect for the 150 guests that were at this wedding.

2Thank Andrea R
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 February 2015

For couples who want to reconnect and enjoy peace and quiet....this is a must. Beautiful family owned business. The breakfasts are awesome. You will not be disappointed! Each cabin has its own unique theme. The complimentary ice cream is such a nice treat. We hope to be back soon. (Travel dates Feb 2014)

1Thank Dawn M
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 4 December 2014

My fiance and I stayed for two night in the Tree House (unit 134). We didnt want to leave. The set up was very professional!! We were arriving around 11pm so we were concerned about checking in. No problem at all for the staff. There is a gate code to enter the retreat and the door to the tree house...

2Thank Michael M
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Hateful owner kicked us out of our cabin at 7a.m. Completely rude and uncalled for. Don't give them your money. Stressed the bride out for NO reason. They were absolutely out of line...The bride and groom's family spent too much to be treated in such an atrocious manner.

18Thank Elisharose3071
ButterflyGap, Manager at Butterfly Gap Retreat, responded to this review

Our policies were agreed upon contractually and re-addressed before, during, and after the event. Unfortunately, these policies were not followed. The guests were asked to leave due to the fact that they exceeded our maximum limit of overnight guests.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I almost don't want to write this review - so I could keep this place secret from as many people possible! This place is amazing. Everything is mind-blowing, from the care and attention you see evident in the accommodation, to the beautiful nature you are staying within, to the personalized service you receive from the team at Butterfly Gap. I...

3Thank Robert C
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Just ended our relaxing stay at this superb hideaway outside the Smokies. Chose from 7 unique homes, all with their own distinctive charms and amenities, stashed in a 900 acres enclave lovingly run by Becky and Mike and their family. Don't miss this treat!

1Thank Steve F

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (95)
Room/Suite (27)
Bathroom (6)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Dining (5)
View from Room (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
11.9 km away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
110 reviews
13.1 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
174 reviews
31.4 km away
The Oliver Hotel
The Oliver Hotel
#7 of 87 in Knoxville
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
618 reviews
32.9 km away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
13.8 km away
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Butterfly Gap Retreat

Address: 4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803
Region: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly Gap Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Butterfly Gap Retreat Hotel Maryville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Butterfly Gap Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Butterfly Gap Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check out the overlook near the top of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles 967wadep, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The treehouse cabin and the round glass cabin probably have the best views. We loved 308 with the fireplace in the living room.”
 of 5 bubbles T7680ABlaurenm, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“#320 has a screened in porch which overlooks trees...very peaceful and serene.”
 of 5 bubbles 92suzannea, 7 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Look at the photos to help choose your cabin. If they're not occupied, they will let you look around so you can pick your spot for next time (because you will want a next time).”
 of 5 bubbles CayceCallaway, 5 May 2014 | Read review
“Be sure to tell them what you are looking for (remote, view, nice large bathroom, etc) as there are different cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles JeffHarmon, 28 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5