We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Wyvis Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 96*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 99*
USD 96*
USD 99*
USD 99*
USD 96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ben Wyvis Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 474: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Wyvis Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was a lovely hotel, but needs updated, had to use an empty water bottle to wedge open the bedroom window, breakfast was ok bacon could have been hotter and baked beans would have ben nice, the dinners were lovely, and they could have had some kind of entertainment on in the evening,i know there are lots of rooms, but a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Public areas were very nice, but our room was extremely disappointing in its size and decor as well as the furnishings. Badly need of a upgrade. Windows were dirty both inside and out. Food was very good and staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan561
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, as is the town. The hotel was extremely dated inside. The heating did not work in the room i stayed in, and the internet in the room also did not work. Staff advised that it did not work in the rooms, only down in the foyer. The shower takes a bit of working out. Make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really comfortable accommodation located centrally for visiting Strathpeffer, Dingw.all or Inverness. Good food and really friendly staff. Breakfast was a full Scottish and set me up for the rest of the day

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tez165
The Management a, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look fore=ward to you returning in the future.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a recent motorcycle trip around the North West of Scotland (commonly known as the NC500) I booked myself and two friends into the Royal Hotel after the third day of our journey. For ease of getting organised for an early departure we had all agreed on acquiring single occupancy rooms with en-suite facilities. Due to a puncture the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teaser21
The Management a, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return if you do the NC500 again

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife booked this hotel for my birthday and that it was close to golf courses we wanted to play. I say the hotel was disappointing because from the outside you would expect much more. The room was adequate but basic. The very large double bed (2 singles) had a large gap developing over night which was uncomfortable. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom T
The Management a, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. Please let me apologise regarding the water pressure as there was an issue from the mains pressure coming into the building.

invergordon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Hotel in a lovely location. Staff were nice , room was clean and breakfast very nice. No dreaded do it yourself toaster, with toast brought to the table which was great. Only negatives were our "double" bed which was booked 5 weeks ago, was in fact 2 singles pushed together which resulted in me nearly disappearing between them during...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank james w
The Management a, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am sorry that you never got the double bed that you booked and I will speak with the night porter regarding the lack of bar service when you returned at midnight

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely Victorian Hotel set in very nice grounds in the Victorian Spa village of Strathpeffer. Nice friendly staff, clean comfortable double room and an excellent breakfast. Very good value for money. Interesting local attractions and good local walks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew R
The Management a, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed overall with our stay. Bedroom was in need of modernising and was very, very cold. Bedding seemed too small for the bed. Breakfast continued the cold theme, as only a couple of items only managing to be lukewarm. This hotel really needs to be brought back to its former glory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
The Management a, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectaions

edinburgh
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We returned to the Ben Wyvis hotel for 3 nights towards the end of March having stayed several times before and were given a large second floor room overlooking the village with a lovely view. The hotel is a very impressive building on the hillside overlooking the village. This one time very grand hotel had become a bit run down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brianedinburgh
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning in the near future

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
38.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
736 reviews
0.2 km away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
759 reviews
9.2 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
126 reviews
6.4 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range: $119 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A beautiful old hotel, with obvious history.”
694kimb, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Try a lower room (ground floor) as the staff said the water pressure is sometimes better.”
TomT752, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good views from higher floors at front of hotel.”
  • Strathpeffer from 2nd floor room
brianedinburgh, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the mountains. Views are fantastic”
charlesdF1995BY, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 121 for views, bed and spaciousness.”
dunbius, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 96* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 99
Hotels.comUSD 96
TripAdvisorUSD 96
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates