We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Wyvis Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ben Wyvis Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Wyvis Hotel
 Click to rate
invergordon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice Hotel in a lovely location. Staff were nice , room was clean and breakfast very nice. No dreaded do it yourself toaster, with toast brought to the table which was great. Only negatives were our "double" bed which was booked 5 weeks ago, was in fact 2 singles pushed together which resulted in me nearly disappearing between them during...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james w
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely Victorian Hotel set in very nice grounds in the Victorian Spa village of Strathpeffer. Nice friendly staff, clean comfortable double room and an excellent breakfast. Very good value for money. Interesting local attractions and good local walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed overall with our stay. Bedroom was in need of modernising and was very, very cold. Bedding seemed too small for the bed. Breakfast continued the cold theme, as only a couple of items only managing to be lukewarm. This hotel really needs to be brought back to its former glory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to the Ben Wyvis hotel for 3 nights towards the end of March having stayed several times before and were given a large second floor room overlooking the village with a lovely view. The hotel is a very impressive building on the hillside overlooking the village. This one time very grand hotel had become a bit run down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brianedinburgh
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning in the near future

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in with no issues to a nice family room for 3 of us (2 adults 1 6yo). Even had WiFi in our room which i wasn't expecting. Kept the wee man happy. Evening meal, which was part of the manager's special deal was very nice, and certainly hit the spot. Looking forward to investigating local area and coming back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George N
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope you return soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stopped in this hotel and was put in room 104 and am not joking you it's the worst hotel room I have ever stopped in would be better to live in a cardboard box behind Aldi it would be bigger. No view what so ever out the window, had to climb onto the bed to open my window. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AndrewSwinglehurst
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations

the highlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Large hotel in lovely grounds dating from the 1870's. Wonderful crystal chandeliers in the lounge/bar and dining room. Carpets in good state throughout the hotel and in the room we had but rooms a little dated in other areas so don't expect everything to be "state of the art". This is a traditional style of hotel that doesn't change much....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MeandSally
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

ireland
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Such a beautiful old majestic building in lovely grounds. However the tired interior let's it down. Yes everything works but Avacodo coloured bathrooms are from the 70s and that was the last refurb. I'm pretty sure the bed hasn't been changed since the 70s either it was awful. We decided not to eat in the hotel but found a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teemoretraveler
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations

Scotland
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Beautiful building, location and views. A little tired! We had a great view, pity the window needed cleaning so we could enjoy it more. We were staying on a DBB deal, cooked breakfast was lovely, apart from the cold eggs. Evening meal was ok but my biggest criticism was the speed at which we were served......I reckon the chef had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank binnzy
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. Please be assured that I will take up the speed of service and the cold eggs with the chef and the restaurant manager.

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

A very majestic hotel looming over you when you drive up their entrance. We got an exceptional deal through EastBreaks for 3 nights DBB for £69. The hotel is very big and grand. Bits may have been a bit tired but overall presentation of all rooms, foyer, bar and dining room were clean, tidy and fairly attractive although old style...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gs287
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here at Ben Wyvis. I am really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I will pass all your nice comments onto the staff. See you soon.

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
38.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
731 reviews
0.2 km away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
745 reviews
9.2 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
123 reviews
6.4 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good views from higher floors at front of hotel.”
  • Strathpeffer from 2nd floor room
brianedinburgh, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the mountains. Views are fantastic”
charlesdF1995BY, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 121 for views, bed and spaciousness.”
dunbius, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 121, great view and huge bed!”
kristoferc2014, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 121 was grand!”
H8423EPmarinam, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5