We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Summer Isles Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Summer Isles Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Summer Isles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 394: English reviews
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Chris and Julia make a stay in this hotel an unforgettable top notch experience. The food was excellent, the staff were glowing and the whisky selection in the bar must be one of the most extensive in the world. The views of the ocean from the hotel are breathtaking and my only regret is that our stay was much too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pridhamd
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed four nights in the Irvine room, in the main hotel with fabulous views. The service throughout was excellent - friendly and attentive. The room was very comfortable, but could possibly do with some updating. The bed was rather squeaky. The large bathroom was lovely, but I agree with other comments on the standard of toiletries. Also the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the recommendation of a local friend. Location is everything for the Summer Isles Hotel. Beautiful drive and breathtaking views from all outlooks once at the hotel. I received a personal welcoming email a few days before arrival asking about dinner reservations and on pulling up in the car park Chris appeared to guide me to my room. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJimBean
Dalmellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2014

From the warm friendly welcome to the heartfelt departure Julia, Chris & team looked after us terrifically. We stayed in the Boat house which was a generous size and had everything you could want. Sea views from the bedroom were great to wake up to. The dining experience was fabulous. The tasting menu was divine, it allows you to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Statikman66
Scotland
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel has always been very highly spoken of and based on the quality of a bar lunch taken previously by our friends, we and the same friends booked for a night with dinner. Having been exceedingly well looked after by the Forss House Hotel our expectations were high. Our first problem was the no choice menu, which, unfortunately, did...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank xenical
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear xenical, thank you very much for your honest feedback, we are very sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. The set 6-course menu is something that made the hotel famous many years ago and still is the reason why so many guests come to stay and dine with us. By getting in touch with you prior to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While the views are certainly lovely and the dinners and wines more than satisfactory, we were disappointed overall with what we got for our very large bill. We expected a level of luxury, comfort and elegance which we did not receive. Our standard sea view room upstairs had the sea views but was fairly modest and the toiletries were unbranded....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan C
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan C Thank you for taking the time to write a review on here, I am however sad that you have not felt the hotel to be value for money. We take all feedback, negative and positive very serious and welcome the opportunity to address it. I am saddened that you have felt unable to express your views to...

Highlands, Scotland
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just come back from a two night stay at the Summer Isles Hotel and what a treat we had. We stayed in the cottage at the back with another family to celebrate a birthday and it took me all of two days to realise that I didn't have to walk over the cattle grid. Epic fail on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank champgagneguzzler
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Champgagneguzzler Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor, it was very king of you. We are so happy we are able to accommodate you in Matthews Cottage and have 7 of you one place without any discomfort It was really nice to laugh and have a nice time talking to you in the restaurant...

Framlingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is wonderful. The food is just delicious and the staff so well trained we were so impressed especially as the present owners had only been there for a few months. Our room had everything in it that you would want and more. It is a long drive from the main road but well worth it as the views...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2dales2016
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 578dale2 It really is very nice to open my computer and read such nice words. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that we have left you such lovely lasting memories. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Chris & Julia Webb

Edinburgh
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is lovely spot and worth the journey, which in our case was in lashing rain after 5 hours from Edinburgh. Just as we arrived the rain stopped and the sun came out! We stayed in the log house as were two couples with 3 dogs and it was great, lovely and cosy with a wood-burning stove and comfy sofas....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HowieEdinburgh
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HowieEdinburgh Thank you very much for writing this review, it really is nice of you to take your time to do so. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and had the opertunity to experience our wonderful taster menu and wines. We do hope you fine your way back up this way again soon. Regards Chris & Julia...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The situation of the summer isles hotel is second to none, with superb views over the summer isles seacliffs and magnificient rugged land. I came to the hotel for a meal at 7pm and we ended up staying until closing with singing dancing and great banter in the bar. The hotel has a great team this year who have a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ron D
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron D We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it really means so much to us to receive such a positive feedback. It is great that you had such a nice time in the Bar with such great banter and singing. We look forward to seeing you again during the...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
16.0 km away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
343 reviews
24.5 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
199 reviews
20.9 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
162 reviews
17.5 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
231 reviews
17.2 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summer Isles Hotel

Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Price Range: $175 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Isles Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Summer Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Summer Isles Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Summer Isles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room at the front - great views”
 of 5 bubbles happybagger, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cabin rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolel294, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lurgain room has a beautiful view out over the sea and the summerisles”
 of 5 bubbles bekibeanbag, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Every view is to die for. After all you are in the Summer Isles...”
 of 5 bubbles SandraM918, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“MacKay (deluxe room upstairs, main building)”
 of 5 bubbles Gbar417, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5