We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dornoch Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Dornoch Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dornoch Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 665: English reviews
Northwood, UK
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent one night here with a group of golfers. Nice room, simply furnished, but very comfortable. All the staff we met were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful. Dinner was a real treat. All nine of us thought the food outstanding, complemented by a very good wine list. If you are playing golf at Royal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnG12a
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was our second stay at Dornoch Castle. We stayed here to celebrate a milestone birthday and we were made to feel like long lost friends on our return! Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff and it maid the occasion most memorable. The food,service, atmosphere and hospitality were excellent.Its a long way to go but well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelExecutiveGM
Batley
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We can safely say that this is the best hotel we have stayed in and certainly the one where we have had the best night's sleep. Really great advice on a huge range of whiskys and the staff are all local and very knowledgeable about the area as well. This was our first stay in Dornoch, and it is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SharpeWords
Colorado
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The lobby/whiskey bar area was great - unique and a solid place to congregate in the evenings. The room (we had a 2 bedroom/1 bath) was excellent. Spacious enough, updated bath, very clean. Simon was very helpful with Scotch selections. The breakfast was wonderful (the gals in the breakfast room offered top-notch service and were pleasant to talk with in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DENColorado
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel during a trip in Scottland with our English Cars. There was a great choice of food and I just loved the English Breakfast which has been served there. If you are a Whisky Lover meet with the sons of the Hotel onwers - they are great whisky freak's and give you some great tips...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick G
redhill
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Recently had the pleasure of staying two nights at Dornoch Castle on a trip to view antiques in Wick. I found every aspect of the hotel superb. The room was comfortable, clean and well kitted out, had a view over the walled garden behind the castle too. Dinner was truly sublime, whilst I enjoyed the Pigeon starter immensely, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jonnymcm
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've stayed here a few times now on business and it's been a joy every time. The bar and restaurant provide and excellent atmosphere for unwinding after a long day on the road and, if like me you enjoy whisky, there is a great selection of it on the bar, really unusual bottles I've not seen anywhere else and fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus M
Milltimber, Aberdeen
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Awful, awful, awful!!!!!! Don't know where to start really. My husband & I booked a champagne deal weekend away for our wedding anniversary(£229 DB&B per night) we hadn't been away alone together for 7 years since our kids were born so it was a special break. The moment we walked in we were disappointed, to check-in there was a tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
20Thank Munkyprim
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Munkyprim, Thank you for the comments you have posted on Trip Advisor. We are happy to accept criticism of service where it is due, and do our utmost to respond to any adverse comments positively. I would just like to clarify the comments you have made, firstly with regards to dining times it does clearly state on the bottom...

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the first point of contact on this visit to the moment we booked out the next morning the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The service could not be faulted, nor could the cuisine, and as an unexpected bonus was the knowledge the bartender had of the vast array of malt whiskies on offer, which he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
Scotland
Reviewed 3 April 2014

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left this proved a most enjoyable experience. Pleasant, friendly staff on arrival and delighted with the room in the castle part itself. We had room 2 appropriately called 'Royal Dornoch' given that we were to play this magnificent golf course during our time there. Back to the room. Adequately sized but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunnybeeFifeScotland

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 km away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
205 reviews
8.2 km away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
38.5 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
166 reviews
21.4 km away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
295 reviews
7.4 km away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Price Range: $212 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dornoch Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dornoch Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the rear overlooking the garden are by far the better”
 of 5 bubbles davidtuffley, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the back - view non-existent but very quiet so suited us.”
 of 5 bubbles Tuppenny42, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“the Tower Room was worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles LynnoP, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All seem to have a view.”
 of 5 bubbles BEMJR, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lots of stairs, and our WC had a low threshold and ceiling, so check on that.”
  • The
  • Fireplace with wood stove, champagne on ice in the Tower Room
 of 5 bubbles ChrisNK, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay